We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend”
Review of The Kilberry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kilberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilberry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend in Argyll made even better by the fine weather and stunning scenery. The trees are beginning to change into the autumn colours and we even managed to see a couple of seals on our travels.

The major highlight of the weekend was our stay at the Kilberry inn. The accommodation is first class and the food of an extremely high quality with generous portions - Claire is a fantastic chef and David a wonderful host, nothing was too much bother to him.

We would certainly recommend the Kilberry Inn and cannot wait to go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Texa has a hot tub which we enjoyed at the end of the day and the Arran suite has a nice lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned home for a great week away touring the West coast. We arranged a one night at the Kilberry Inn (wanted to try it out ever since seeing it featured on Hairy Bikers program) and had the most wonderful stay.

On arrival we were met by David, who immediatly made us feel very welcome. Our room for the night was top class, so clean and comfortable.

The food for dinner was everything and more we expected, The queenie scallops for starters were wonderful, and veal for main delicious. Excellent menu and wine list.

Breakfast in the morning kept up the high standard, the porridge with soft brown sugar and the granola, followed by the most wonderful smoked salmon with scrambled eggs...amazing.

The inn is everything and more thats been said on here and is well worth the trip (amazing countryside)

Thanks David and his team for a great visit and we will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grendel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were so happy to be back at The Kilberry Inn .............
The welcome we have come to expect was there along with some
new dishes on the menu to explore as well as old some favourites , the hake was so fresh and cooked to perfection , with fresh pickled vegetable relish , a truly memorable meal . The treacle tart has to be tasted , and oh yes , homemade ice cream and so much more .
The room comfortable as ever and the shortbread with our tea in the afternoon just hit the spot .
On our way along the Kilberry road the seals were out on the rocks to welcome us , we suspect David has a word with them , so that they put on a show , the same with the red squirrels .
You have to go to truly experience the magic that is Kilberry ..... we will be back for Clare's amazing food and David's wit and wisdom .

Room Tip: We like Texa because we often see the squirrels feeding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great two night stay at Kilberry, David was the host with the most as always and gave us a warm return welcome on our arrival on Tuesday afternoon, showing us to our room "Arran". Meals on both nights were fantastic and as normal we were spoilt for choice, the Queen scallops for starters and Barnsley chop for main were superb and being originally from Barnsley and having had the original Barnsley chop I should know :-), the meal finished off with a fine red wine. Breakfast on both days fantastic a full breakfast on Wednesday and the salmon and scrambled eggs on Thursday, the best fresh smoked salmon we've ever had!
It's a true reflection of a place and its reputation when mid week in the middle of September, with the nearest population 12 miles away on a single track road that it is full with locals having a meal. The atmosphere is welcoming and David is obliging as ever and will try and satisfy your every need if he can as long as you are prepared to suffer his dry humour.

So to those few critics below, clearly the Kilberry is not the place for you and you're probably more used to the local large chain pub with the cheap beer and microwave food where I'm sure you'll be more at home and let us that appreciate quality, good food, good accommodation and genuine friendly service continue to enjoy this gem. And it really doesn't matter whether you've got an Audi or a Focus you'll get the same friendly welcome and hospitality regardless

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBoxergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We are thinking of returning to this wonderful place after an absence of 4 years! We often went to Islay and stopped at Kilberry on our way hame to Edinburgh. Needing a break and thought of a sunshine break or Islay and then.... light bulb moment - ahhhh Kilberry no need for flights or sailings - all we need is time away in a place with warm hospitality and marvelous food... and of course the wit of David and his wonderful makings of bloody mary to accompany the luscious breakfast - believe us breakfast on holiday needs a bloody mary and David makes one of the best!! Hope to see you soon...
The Crawfords - Edinburgh

Room Tip: We take our wee dug - and Kilberry have a great room that accommodates her..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon at the Kilberry in, (where we had booked for 1 night) . It's also a restaurant with rooms, and indeed the room is comfortable but not to big and also a small bathroom, but certainly good enough for a night and seen it's a bit far away from everything (which we like by the way) good for us..

The owner, David, after welcoming us, gave us some good advice on what to do nearby and made us even discover a small hidden beach, you would never find it by yourself..

The restaurant, reason why we booked this place : we got our first glimpse when checking in, and confirmed it in the evening, really cosy atmosphere, first drinks at the bar and then shown to a nice table. The food we got was excellent, you can chose out of a few starters and mains and honestly all were great, very good service and affordable wines. (We booked a D B&B, which is really good value for money).

This place was exactely what we were looking for ! We will no doubt definitely return to this place in the future... So much more to discover in the region ..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My partner and I ate at the Kilberry Inn on 2 consecutive evenings this week. The menu changed daily, so we appreciated the variety. Agree with an earlier reviewer, the desserts are good but not outstanding. The service was excellent and it was so good not to be rushed through the meal and given a 2-hour eating slot like we are used to when dining in London. We recommend the lobster, scallops and steaks in particular. Small venue giving a lot of intimacy, including with fellow diners, though some may find this a little too cozy for size. All in all a great and memorable dining experience, thanks to David and his team.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Agnlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kilberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilberry Inn

Address: B8024, Kilberry PA29 6YD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilberry
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilberry Inn is a small restaurant with five smart bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms, situated on the glorious West Coast of Scotland. We are on the B8024, the scenic route between Lochgilphead and Tarbert, Loch Fyne. Only a 2 1/2 hour drive from the centre of Glasgow The Kilberry Inn makes a wonderful base for exploring Argyll as well as the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. Good food is served in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, where the emphasis is on using the freshest of local West Coast ingredients. Boasting a 'Bib Gourmand', awarded by the Michelin guide for good food at moderate prices, the Kilberry Inn is a modern Scottish restaurant featuring cosy log fires and stone walls within a traditional whitewashed, red tin roofed cottage. The Inn also holds a Cesar award from the Good Hotel Guide, an entry in the Good Food Guide and was featured on The Hairy Bikers Food Tour of Britain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilberry Hotel Kilberry
The Kilberry Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing