We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kilberry Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kilberry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Jura Hotel(Isle of Jura)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
183
18
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
18
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle track roadscallopshomemade shortbreadcrab cakesthe sticky toffee puddinglocally sourced foodworth the effortan excellent hostwine listlocal knowledgeoff the beaten trackmain coursefeel very welcomeopen firestunning scenerywell worth a visitcomfortable room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 206 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lunch at the Inn today - reviews here and recommendation in Scotland the Best proved to, if anything, to be understated. It is a charming room with great food and consummate host in David. Great attention to both food quality and presentation. Took a look at the accommodation and this would be a super base (as long as you don't mind single track roads) for the Kintyre area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank freestyletoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two day break at the Kilberry Inn. We used this as a base to tour the area. We are not surprised that many of the other guests were regulars as this is a great place to stay. A number of the visitors were en route to Islay and stayed here for the one night to break their journey.
The Inn advertises itself as a restaurant with rooms. There are five such rooms located in outbuildings. I am sure our room was typical of the rest. It was a good size, very clean and comfortable with a very modern en-suite facility and a number of nice thoughtful touches. The restaurant occupied the main building that features in the website. This had an intimate, cosy and welcoming ambience enhanced by the friendly hospitality afforded to every guest by David and his front of house team. We noted that the restaurant had a well deserved entry in the 2013 Michelin Guide. Great breakfasts! A definite for another visit. Don't by put off by the fact that the hotel is 16 miles along a single track road. The road has an abundance of passing places and the views across to Jura and Islay are stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo007Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well, what can i say?, we returned to the Kilberry Inn for the 3rd time in 2 years and each time seems to be better than the last.
Firstly, the food, its simply stunning, good local produce, perfectly cooked, interesting combinations,imaginatively prepared, i could go on, but i would run out of compliments. Just do yourself a favour and eat there.
Leaving the kitchen, we must speak of David, the undoubted star of the front of the house, your genial host if you will, funny, chatty, attentive and up for a good time, he has a style of his own and i like it, along with his "friendly" measures. If you dare, let David choose your wines for dinner, you wont be disappointed.
The 2nd night we were their dinner turned into what was almost a private dinner party with friends, friends we had never met before!, but the craic was excellent.
Our room was called "Islay", we had stayed there last year but it has since been refurbished to a very high standard indeed, with a fabulous walk in shower.
Kilberry is a very different kind of place to go for a break, its not a resort hotel, there isnt a leisure centre, but what it has is a relaxed atmosphere and a slow pace, and that is hard to beat.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and myself had 3 wonderful days in this stunningly beautiful location and area. But the time was made even more wonderful by the hospitality of David and Clare. David's front of house friendliness, knowledge and helpfulness and Clare's superb cooking making the most of the magnificent local produce makes your visit truly memorable. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and ideal for a country inn.
On top of that when I had a puncture in run flat tyres with a long journey to be made, David took it upon himself to source a replacement which really saved the day.

David and Clare many thanks for a great 3 days. You do Argyllshire and Scotland proud.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A small intimate inn which serves imaginative and delicious local food in a beautiful location. The service is exceptional but at the same time warm and welcoming and the owners limit the booking to ensure you never feel rushed. Idyllic.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews