We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
197
18
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
18
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle track roadhomemade shortbreadscallopscrab cakeslocally sourced foodhost davidthe sticky toffee puddinglovely drivethe perfect hostworth the effortwine listfabulous foodlocal knowledgeoff the beaten trackmain coursefeel very welcomean overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 220 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well, what can i say?, we returned to the Kilberry Inn for the 3rd time in 2 years and each time seems to be better than the last.
Firstly, the food, its simply stunning, good local produce, perfectly cooked, interesting combinations,imaginatively prepared, i could go on, but i would run out of compliments. Just do yourself a favour and eat there.
Leaving the kitchen, we must speak of David, the undoubted star of the front of the house, your genial host if you will, funny, chatty, attentive and up for a good time, he has a style of his own and i like it, along with his "friendly" measures. If you dare, let David choose your wines for dinner, you wont be disappointed.
The 2nd night we were their dinner turned into what was almost a private dinner party with friends, friends we had never met before!, but the craic was excellent.
Our room was called "Islay", we had stayed there last year but it has since been refurbished to a very high standard indeed, with a fabulous walk in shower.
Kilberry is a very different kind of place to go for a break, its not a resort hotel, there isnt a leisure centre, but what it has is a relaxed atmosphere and a slow pace, and that is hard to beat.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and myself had 3 wonderful days in this stunningly beautiful location and area. But the time was made even more wonderful by the hospitality of David and Clare. David's front of house friendliness, knowledge and helpfulness and Clare's superb cooking making the most of the magnificent local produce makes your visit truly memorable. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and ideal for a country inn.
On top of that when I had a puncture in run flat tyres with a long journey to be made, David took it upon himself to source a replacement which really saved the day.

David and Clare many thanks for a great 3 days. You do Argyllshire and Scotland proud.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A small intimate inn which serves imaginative and delicious local food in a beautiful location. The service is exceptional but at the same time warm and welcoming and the owners limit the booking to ensure you never feel rushed. Idyllic.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having just returned from celebrating our friends 50th birthday here, this was our third visit in 18 months, we weren't disappointed. The food and location were every bit as wonderful as we had remembered, and David a great host.
The bedroom was beautifully decorated and graced with the most comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom.
Dinner was superb, with all the food fresh & locally sourced.
We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank numptieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our 2nd visit in under 12 months and we were once again given a very warm welcome by David. The food was also once again absolutely superb - fresh, local and beautifully cooked - it doesn't get better than that! The rooms are absolutely spotless & very tastefully decorated and an extremely comfortable bed. Normally don't do breakfast but couldn't wait for the fantastic smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Well worth the 4 hour drive for an overnight stay and sharing the experience with friends made it all the more special. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews