We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
197
18
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
197
18
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle track roadhomemade shortbreadscallopscrab cakeslocally sourced foodhost davidthe sticky toffee puddinglovely drivethe perfect hostworth the effortwine listfabulous foodlocal knowledgeoff the beaten trackmain coursefeel very welcomean overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 220 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Ok let's start with the location ,taking into account its a 20 mile single track road to get there !!!!! How come it makes money . If you come from the Lochgilphead side stop at the beach just passend the primary school get yer z wellies on and walk the beach (we're 50 plus) and just idiscovering layer back things) get this location at LOW tide and on a SUNNY day yer laffin just check out my photos .Ok onwards we go another 8 miles left to go remember the bar don't open (properly) till 6.30pm so take a wee swally with you a bottle of vino will set u back £28 bucks .John our front desk host was charming ,sophisticated,knowledgable ,inform formative,and did not know a low tide from a low tide LMAO but that's ok he's still learning we wanted to collect shell fish good job I knew the low tide times (get that in yer repotoir John) as for the Kilberry coves which seems a Must see we took Johns directions he must have been there a hundred years ago take my directions when you leave the inn set your trip meter to zero turn out the Kilberry left Left and stop around 1.6 miles in the passing point then walk 100 yards to the brown gate on your right if its heavy rain wells boots required walk down the path pass by the waterfall and down to the beach aye it's a beach with coves but if your there go see it we did but boy are we glad we caught the PRIMARY SCHOOL beach 1st it's an experience we won't forget and a lot of work has gone into making this enterprise a success bottom line is I loved it food par excellence,location whoa,and Basil Fawltey will charm the birds oot the trees ,we loved the remoteness the location the food and the wee cheeky kick gaurd dug

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the Kilberry Inn year after year on our August pilgrimage to Argyll - since 1983 for my husband and 1999 for me. We've seen this little Inn, 16 miles down a single track road, change hands and evolve into the gem it is today. It's not cheap ... Average £150 for 3 courses + drink (friendly measures) for two but David makes you feel like you've just been welcomed into the family home. Encourages chit chat, while you savour a menu that features regularly in the good food guide & Sunday paper supliments - ie telegraph and Sunday times. Your not going to pass it accidentally but if it pops up on your itinerary while you explore western Scotland don't miss out on an excellent meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AJR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Third visit to the Kilberry Inn and same fabulous experience. Stayed in the Islay room. Consists of a seating area, bedroom and large shower room. Dinner was the usual high standard as was breakfast. Relaxed atmosphere however the staff are always on hand to assist when required. Can't wait to go back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LainyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Kilberry Inn is in a lovely remote location facing the Isle of Islay and Jura. The bedrooms are comfortable and well furnished. I particularly appreciated the quality of the bed linen, the complimentary home made shortbread and bottled water. The food is excellent and the dining area charming. Dave is a perfect host, friendly, informative and a good sport. I won't forget the Full Kilberry cooked breakfast followed by a taste of Springbank from Dave's selection of Single Malts !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franceasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Absolutely fabulous in every way, shape and form, including the lovely owners who cook and serve every day. This is what the best of Scotland is all about. Worth seeking-out for a romantic break and a superb area of Scotland to explore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Team3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews