We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Kilberry Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kilberry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilberry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We booked for one night but wished we could have stayed for longer. I can't really add much to the reviews that have gone before as they sum up things pretty accurately. David is a very attentive and personable host. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were excellent. The range and quality of wine was also good. The dining room has a couple of log fires which were very welcoming in the evening. Our room was very comfortable. The area around Kilberry is very scenic. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopefulglaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    17
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
127
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed in the room with the small lounge and I just have to ramble on about how lovely it all was, from Tunnocks tea cakes and caramel waffers, to the bottled water, to the gorgeous smellies in the bathroom, crisp bed linen, spotlessly clean everywhere, but the most amazing thing of all was the walk in shower... OMG I WANT ONE AT HOME! Fabulous service, excellent nights sleep oh and the food is amazing too, that Clare can cook and David can recommend any drink to go with any part of your meal perfectly. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxyhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed for two nights and were really happy. We had the slightly bigger room with the sitting area all simply done and bright and cheerful - just like the owner. Very warmly welcomed - useful advice given, lovely food though we would have liked a very slight change in menu for our second night. Beautiful area and its a long drive on little roads but make the most of it and enjoy the scenery or stop and watch the seals for a while.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I have just returned today after 2 fab nights dinner B&B at the Kilberry Inn. I cannot rave enough about it in this review!
We were with 2 other couples , myself and my husband. all <40yr old..........
The cottage style accomodation is so relaxing, the atmosphere is warm and cosy. The bedrooms are Very Clean and quirky. I did miss having a nice soak in the bath as there were only shower facilites.
DISCO Dave welcomed us and was there for our every need, we had lovely aperitifs, and the menu is mouth watering and we sampled quite alot between both nights, for me the Beef is the best I have tasted and will return for that alone! Scallops really yummy and the makerel was scrumptious. The wine menu is well chosen and affordable from £14 upwards and Dave is a fountain of knowledge and excellent with suggesting different options.
We headed off on Saturday and got a ferry across to GIGHA island. The crossing is 20 mins, cost £6 return and when you disembark the ferry , there is a little cabin to hire brilliant bikes for £10 . The island is 7 miles long , and quite flat with lots of beautiful scenery . We stopped at the Gigha hotel for lunch and met some locals and found out some history of the island which is very interesting.
So if you are looking for a break with EXCELLENT food , warm welcome and cosy relaxed atmosphere, get yourself to Kilberry.
I thoroughly recommend it. Oh and there is NO mobile phone reception !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2ski0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed for a couple of nights in September. Nice rooms, every thing you could need, perfect peace and quiet. We had a very warm welcome and enjoyed some excellent meals and ambience. Went to Gigha, watched seals and were entranced by the views of Gigha, Jura and Islay from the remote road to Kilberry. It is important to note that it is very remote, no moblie, no wireless and a long single track road to reach it, but we took our bikes and really loved how out of the way the whole area is. Only one thing to say - there were four or five couples in residence for the weekend and we had the same a la carte menu both days. Its not a large menu and it would have been nice if there had been at least one different starter and main course on the second night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I read an excellent review on the Kilberry Inn a few years ago and alway meant to try it but never quite got around to it. When thinking about what to do for my 50th birthday the Kilberry Inn immediately came to mind. I stayed there last week for one night with my husband and two friends and we were not dissappointed. The rooms were lovely - nicely decorated, clean and very comfortable and had tea/coffee making facilities and 'melt in the mouth' shortbread. The surrounding area is lovely and we enjoyed a nice walk to the nearby coves. Our evening meal was delicious and the restaurant had a lovely friendly atmosphere. Even though it was a Sunday the restaurant was full with overnight guests and I would guess some of the locals. There were 4 other couples staying over who I believe were English and from the conversation they were having with David (the co-owner) they seemed to be regulars. I note the previous review said that David was 'indifferent' but I can honestly say we did not find this to be the case. Throughout the evening and during breakfast the next morning (which was also delicious, plentiful and had a varied choice) David was attentive and very sociable, joining in with our conversation, without being intrusive. I would agree that there is no children's menu but as the parent myself, any time I dined out with my daughter when she was younger I always checked in advance to see if here was a children's menu available and if not, was there anything on the menu suitable for her.

All in all we had a lovely stay and I will certainly be returning for a repeat visit and I have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Can't really add any more to what everyone else says about this place - it really is perfect; from the location to the rooms, the food and the owners and staff. Cannot fault it and we'll definitely be back. Can't recommend it highly enough to everyone. Definitely worth the trek to get there. Would recommend a trip to the Isle of Gigha too if you have time when you're there - a beautiful, friendly place with lovely gardens and a fab pub to sit and have lunch in the garden.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazjoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilberry
9.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
423 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
15.2 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
8.6 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
253 reviews
20.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kilberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilberry Inn

Property: The Kilberry Inn
Address: B8024, Kilberry PA29 6YD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilberry
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilberry Inn is a small restaurant with five smart bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms, situated on the glorious West Coast of Scotland. We are on the B8024, the scenic route between Lochgilphead and Tarbert, Loch Fyne. Only a 2 1/2 hour drive from the centre of Glasgow The Kilberry Inn makes a wonderful base for exploring Argyll as well as the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. Good food is served in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, where the emphasis is on using the freshest of local West Coast ingredients. Boasting a 'Bib Gourmand', awarded by the Michelin guide for good food at moderate prices, the Kilberry Inn is a modern Scottish restaurant featuring cosy log fires and stone walls within a traditional whitewashed, red tin roofed cottage. The Inn also holds a Cesar award from the Good Hotel Guide, an entry in the Good Food Guide and was featured on The Hairy Bikers Food Tour of Britain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilberry Hotel Kilberry
The Kilberry Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing