We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Glimpse to the Colonial Era”
Review of Bandarawela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandarawela Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Memorable Glimpse to the Colonial Era”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It was our first visit to the legendary Bandarawela Hotel and it was a lovely experience. My wife and I tremendously enjoyed the surroundings, the afternoon cup of tea at the front lawn and the excellent hospitality.

The food was quite good and the dining hall and the lounge area are full of history depicting the colonial heritage of Sri Lanka.

The service by the entre team was very good and courteous. It was also very interesting to meet Piyadasa, who had served at the Hotel for 46 years. He was a walking museum. :-)

The room quality was very colonial, but clean. The linen was clean and we liked the location of the room on the 2nd floor. (Room No 204)

All in all, the experience at the property was quite good.

Room Tip: A room on the 2nd floor would be better than the 1st floor. And if you don't appreciate colonial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakshina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel !

We acknowledge with many thanks your valuable and descriptive comments and sharing your experience of your stay at Bandarawela Hotel.

We were indeed inspired with it.

Whilst we take pride of ourselves in taking care of our valued guests, we are trully happy to learn that you have enjoyed our food and hospitality.

You also may like to know that this region - 'Uva' has so much to offer where one could explore a range of diversified attractions while staying with us and we will be happy to extend our services to take you around during your next visit to Bandarawela Hotel.

We will convey your sentiments to all our staff members including your personal Butler - Piyadasa who lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you to Bandarawela Hotel soon again. We will keep note to reserve Room 204 for you.

We were delighted have you stay with us.

Regards,
Senani Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    172
    92
    35
    12
See reviews for
103
156
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of the Bandarawela town, and is popular among locals and tourists. The colonial atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the food is extremely good. The staff is also very friendly and helpful, and the hotel and gardens are well maintained and clean. The only downside is that the beds and bathrooms are quite dated and not very comfortable. Staying at this hotel was overall a very happy experience. I will definitely visit again when I am in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: A room overlooking the central courtyard provides a lovely view of local fauna and flora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooKitP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel!

We acknowledge with many thanks your valuable time spared to share your experience subsequent to your stay at Bandarawela Hotel and are glad to learn that you have enjoyed our food and hospitality.

Your comments have inspired us.

We also have taken serious note on your observations of our washrooms and are glad to inform that initiative has already been taken for face-lift of same.

We will convey your sentiments to all our staff members who lived up to your expectations and it has been a pleasure have you stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Regards,
Senani Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Bandarawella Hotel is a trip back to Sri Lanka's Colonial past with facilities and rooms that are out of the early to mid 1900's.

The positives are that you do feel like you are living in that era in Sri Lanka while you are staying and find yourself thinking about all that this would have entailed. The building is amazing and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't be faulted, the breakfast and buffet lunch were also nice.

Where the hotel falls down is that while they have kept the original bedding and furniture for effect, it is in need of a facelift or restoration as it is worn and damaged. If they addressed this issue it would push the hotel up a few notches in our ratings.

We would stay here again however hopefully they complete some upgrades in the near future.

Also, the location is very central however you cannot here the traffic which is a plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel !

Many thanks for sharing your experience following your visit to Bandarawela Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our food and hospitality. We also take note with gratitude of your interest in acknowledging the unique ambiance of this colonial edifice that has been preserved since the early years of 1900's.

Thankyou for your concerns over the original bedding and some of the furniture. Initiative has already been taken to address same.

Look forward to welcoming you again at Bandarawela Hotel.

Regards,
Senani Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Very good service and colonial experience. Built in 1899 by british in the city of Bandarawela. Very old heritage and nice place to rest and enjoy. One of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka. Very happy stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danushka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for your review following your stay at Bandarawela Hotel. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we take note with great gratitude your acknowledgment of our good service and the colonial heritage that has been preserved since the early years of 1900's.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good colonial type hotel. Location is a little crowded being in the center of the city, Lots of places to see around, Don't miss the Dowe rock temple and Bogoda bridge. Demodara railway station has an interesting story. Cool refreshing climate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your review of Bandarawela Hotel and your brief description of the locations in the vicinity which one could explore while staying at our hotel.

Whilst we acknowledge with great gratitude your repeated patronage of Bandarawela Hotel we look forward to seeing you soon again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Claiming to have an ideal climate Bandarawela is high in the mountains and surrounded by tea estates. The hotel has previously been a hospital and a planters' club and seems to have been unchanged since it was built in 1893. The legacy of its past is still evident in its low wooden colonial style of building and the high iron-framed hospital type beds. This was my third visit to this hotel and nothing has ever changed, nor should it because the history in itself makes a stay here restful. The furnishings, plumbing, restaurant service, garden vegetation all give a feel of history and even the tortoises in the garden seem to have been here for ever! It is an ideal base for discovering the hill stations of Sri Lanka with stunning scenery all around. The only apparent concession to modernity is an advertised wi-fi service but it is appallingly slow and often unavailable. Within the restaurant, which, predominantly, serves a set-menu, the vegetables and beer are all grown and made nearby on the surrounding estate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and your time spared to share your experience of Bandarawela Hotel.

We greatly appreciate your concern to acknowledge the historical value of this Colonial edifice and its picturesque surroundings and for inspiring the trip advisor readers to select Bandarawela Hotel for a restful visit.

Whilst we were honoured with your continuous visits to our hotel, we were indeed pleased to have you stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you soon again.

Best Regards,

Senani Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuradhapura Town, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My second visit to Hotel Bandarawela with family. the service of staff is outstanding as usual. All are very helpful and willing to serve all the time. My kids loved the accommodation and we were very comfortable. No complains but feel that the quality of bathrooms needs improvements.
food was tasty and good quality. we were served a very special snack made out of baby jack fruit, cut in to thin slices and crumbed fried. could not even recognize that it was a vege. item. good work by the chef.

Overall, the hotel is home and home concept even though it is very old. i think it is the the staff who makes this place so attractive. Compliments to the GM, Senani.

we would definitely visit and we love this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Susantha,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel !

We acknowledge with many thanks your valuable time spared to post your appreciative comments of Bandarawela Hotel and are glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed our food and hospitality.

We also have take serious note on your observations of our washroom which will be addressed very soon. Many thanks.

We will convey your sentiments to every staff member of ours who lived up to your expectations

Whilst we thank you for your 'once again visit' to Bandarawel Hotel, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Senani Perera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
4.8 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
#3 of 5 in Bandarawela
200 reviews
5.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
7.0 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
500 reviews
5.2 mi away
Olympus Plaza Hotel
Olympus Plaza Hotel
#1 of 2 in Haputale
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandarawela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandarawela Hotel

Property: Bandarawela Hotel
Address: No. 14 Welimada Road, Bandarawela, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bandarawela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey to the top of the world across a limitless mountain vista adorned by a green carpet of tea plants. Enter a long lost era through a portal of clouds and feel the kiss of mountain mist on your skin. Breathe the pristine mountain air and let your soul be rejuvenated. Gaze upon the dream scape of Bandarawela. Reside at the Bandarawela Hotel, and live for a while in a land of strawberries, pears and tea.The hotel has 33 colonial rooms with great views of tea plantations. All the bathrooms come with bathtubs and hot water. Each bathroom is supplied with all requirements. The rooms provide TVs with local channels and telephone with international direct dialing. Our rooms are wheel chair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandarawela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing