We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chraming”
Review of Bandarawela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandarawela Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A bit of refurb required. However, the od world charm makes up for the rough edges.
Breakfast is decent with a fair bit of western choices. The rooms are clean, and keeping in line with the colonial 'bunglow' style- mine had its washbasin outside the bathroom area. The bathroom itself was neat, though a bit of new fixtures wouldn't be welcome.

The receptionist was quick with the check in as well as check out. A pleasant stay all in all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Bandarawela Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 408 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed one night here. The hotel has bags of character and my husband really loved the old colonial style. The bar and billiards room was closed when we were there but there is a lovely old bar at the front of the hotel, perfect for a few atmospheric tipples.

We found the service from all staff to be very helpful and polite and the front desk always remembered our room number when I asked for anything.

Dinner was fine, a western menu, but nothing great. They served us tea in the front garden early in the morning which was very nice. Breakfast had a lot of choice and I think may be worth stopping in for if you're in the area although I don't know how much it would cost to have breakfast as a non-guest.

The bedrooms have lots of original fittings which, again, is very atmospheric and feels like stepping back in time. But I found our room to be really uncomfortable. There's a massive bed which is great but it makes the room feel small, and the bathroom feels really cramped. We had a room with an adjoining door and I could hear the people next door up and about having tea and chatting from early in the morning. There was also a lot of traffic noise. My husband would have been happy to stay another night because (quite rightly) he thought our room was really characterful and steeped in history (e.g. there's an outside door in each bathroom through which hot water used to be brought in in buckets for guests before the advent of electricity), but I wasn't and I always win so we left.

So, this hotel is difficult to rate. Overall I think this is a fantastic hotel to visit for a drink and a wander round. It feels like stepping back to the 1960s. But I would not recommend it as a comfortable place to stay the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

It was a surprise to find the hotel at the back of the town,
and we enjoyed the colonial style very much. However, the
rooms were a little 'worn' and we could clearly hear the
"noise" from the next door room through the walls -
changed rooms for this reason. The initial staff were
friendly, but then a change of staff at reception left us
feeling that we were not that welcome. We felt that we were
troubling the reception staff when we asked question. We
didn't feel this anywhere else in Sri Lanka, so we noticed
the "atmosphere" at this hotel. The restaurant staff were
just great.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slsasi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our tour around Sri Lanka and, to be honest, I wouldn't stay any longer. The hotel was clean and the staff welcoming but the original fixtures and fittings in the rooms drove me nuts. I admire the hotel wanting to stick to its colonial roots and remain original but I do like a few home comforts and the bathroom was old and draughty, although the shower was one of the best we experienced in two weeks. The food was good but breakfast could have been expanded a little more with a grilled tomato or two with 'bacon and eggs'.

The hotel was a very short walk to the town centre but this also means it is close to the mosque and railway station, both of which start EARLY!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is good for honeymooners. Lonly place some times. . The service staff is good & friendly. Food is nice and testy. Rooms are clean and basic. Wifi do not work and if you are lucky it might work at the reception but verry slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manoj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of everything in small Bandarawela Town. Size of the room and bathroom is acceptable. Room was clean. Wifi is only available at the reception and signal level is very low.
Staff can be more friendly. Breakfast was the weakest we had in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keremakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night on a tour of the area. One of the best traditional meals my wife (Sri Lankan) has ever had and was definitely needed after our train journey lasted 3 hours longer than expected after breaking down!!

Hotel itself is old with old furniture but all in working order and clean

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
4.8 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
#3 of 5 in Bandarawela
215 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandarawela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandarawela Hotel

Address: No. 14 Welimada Road, Bandarawela, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Price Range: $48 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bandarawela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey to the top of the world across a limitless mountain vista adorned by a green carpet of tea plants. Enter a long lost era through a portal of clouds and feel the kiss of mountain mist on your skin. Breathe the pristine mountain air and let your soul be rejuvenated. Gaze upon the dream scape of Bandarawela. Reside at the Bandarawela Hotel, and live for a while in a land of strawberries, pears and tea.The hotel has 33 colonial rooms with great views of tea plantations. All the bathrooms come with bathtubs and hot water. Each bathroom is supplied with all requirements. The rooms provide TVs with local channels and telephone with international direct dialing. Our rooms are wheel chair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bandarawela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing