We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average To Bad Experience Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Archamps
Crescent, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average To Bad Experience Hotel Stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel does look modern and clean throughout. Not all hotel personnel spoke and understood English that well. Late in the evening, most dinner entree related items had run out, so we were advised to order steak since that was all that was left. Quite pricey. The hotel does boast that it has a heated indoor pool which we looked forward to. Unfortunately, the pool water temperature was on the cold side and we chose to not use. On the other hand, there was a sauna not far from the pool that worked fine. Overall, we would not recommend.

Room Tip: Our GPS kept ill-advising us on the correct location, which was frustrating. It was behind the Ibis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BohemianJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    200
    82
    23
    12
See reviews for
54
174
18
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We got some difficulty to find it because it is not directly in the road, but by its side. The rooms are good and clean. Good cost-benefit relation. It is not downtown but it is close and fast to reach Genève centre from it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I've been here in business trip. Comparing the prices of the hotels in Geneva, I definetely suggest to use this hotel.
If you have to drive to Geneva, it's true that you have to plan an half an hour trip, since the traffic in the morning can be quite heavy. But this is the only problem.
The hotel is clean, the room is big enough, .... And the restaurant is good: I arrived late in the evening and I had a very nice dinner.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gianlunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The poorest location and rood staff I've ever met.
Don't expect any advices from hotel staff how to get to Geneve.
If you don't have a car you should be ready to pay around 100 SFr in both ways for taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ievgen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We drove down from Metz, France towards Genève. (Locals don't refer to their city as Geneva even though they speak english) As we were approaching Genève, we thought about finding a hotel in the outskirts rather than the bustling city of Genève. We approached the Best Western Porte du Sud and found a suite with two a queen bed + sofa bed for €150. We booked and stayed for two nights. We think that the room was large, decent and quiet clean. One our first night, someone was smoking next door and we can smell it. We called reception and they acted on it immediately. The hotel is remote and requires having a car. We travelled in our rental car to Genève and parked in a public car park close to the central train station. It cost us SF16 for about 8 hours. We walked around Genève and has breakfast and lunch in authentic swiss restaurants. Genève was breathtaking in winter. It snowed on us the second day. After a long hectic of walking, we came back to our clean hotel to relax. They were kind enough to offer us late check out (7pm) even without us asking. If you don't mind driving, the Best Western is a great option.

Room Tip: Staying here is much cheaper than staying in hotels in Genève.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alshehabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I staid at the Best Western Porte du Sud de Geneve for an event happening on the 03rd and 04th of December. My room was room number 300. The room was large and comfortable, same for the bathroom. Ideally located for conventions and seminars, as the hotel is attached to the Convention Center, I must say that my stay has been very pleasant. The hotel is very clean (if you look at my previous reviews, cleanliness is very important for me), all the personel has been very kind and helpful and the breakfast as well as the lunch I had on the 04th, were excellent. All this for a fair price. I have not had the opportunity to enjoy the indoor swimming pool unfortunately. Next time I will take my bathing suit. Note that there is a big Shopping Center at 5 minutes far (walking distance) from the hotel. You will find cinemas, shops and restaurants there. So, if you are looking for a hotel, not far from Geneva, with clean rooms at a good price, I would recommend the Best Western Porte Sud de Geneve.

Room Tip: The hotel is not far from the Highway, but all the rooms are very quiet thanks to the double glasing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddievpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archamps
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Julien en Genevois Vitam
0.1 mi away
Ibis Archamps Porte de Geneve
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rey
Hotel Rey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Blaise
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Domaine des Avenieres
Domaine des Avenieres
#1 of 2 in Cruseilles
304 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Des Horlogers
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
103 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Geneva
Ramada Encore Geneva
#1 of 2 in Carouge
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve

Property: Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve
Address: | Site D'Archamps, 74160 Archamps, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Archamps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Archamps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Porte Sud De Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Archamps
Best Western Haute-Savoie
Archamps Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing