We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star luxury”
Review of Manoir La Betoulle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir La Betoulle
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint-Claud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having visited France annually for the past 26 years, my wife & I have experienced a wide selection of hotels, gites and B&B accommodation. En route to Normandy from the Dordogne in May 2013 we were fortunate to have accessed Manoir La Betoulle on line.
Without a doubt, this Gite/B&B complex run by the ultra professional Penny & John Hitchings is a true gem.
Attention to detail is a priority - the hosts are diligent, caring & thoughtful. The sheer quality of the decor & furnishigs are worthy of any 5 star hotel accommodation. Our B&B accommodation was stunning affording us a luxury bathroom with bathrobes supplied - attention to detail - a private balcony overlooking the shimmering waters of the swimming pool, available for our use.
For the more active, tennis courts can be accessed and those who favour a stroll in the country, the Manoir sits in a vast wooded estate.
For those with a hearty appetite, fear not. Penny provides the best breakfast we have ever encountered. many of the ingredients are locally sourced and seasonal. Homebaked pies and handmade jams are the order of the day. The entire breakfast occasion, shared with fellow guests, is uplifting and energises you for the day ahead.
Penny is a fountain of local knowledge and can offer advice on restaurants and places of interest to visit.
We were afforded the opportunity to view the 2 gites on site and can without fear of contradiction report that they are both lavishly equipped.
We will return to La Betoulle without hesitation and will recommend to griends and relatives.
At the same time, we are tempted to keep this a secret destination for fear that it just might become too popular & deny us the opportunity to induge ourselves whenever we feel like being pampered.
For luxury and quality, we recommend La Betoulle.
John & Angela Roberts, St. Asaph. N. Wales

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnRoberts532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your review - we enjoyed welcoming you into our home & were delighted that your initial 1 night stop-over turned into a 2 night stay as it gave us time to get to know you both, & for our other guests to enjoy your company. As we have so many regular guests I often worry that we are in danger of becoming complacent - we try our hardest to offer our guests a memorable stay with breakfast being the highlight of the day, so it is good to know that after 10yrs we are still providing a quality service..... We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay on your next journey through France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The world is such a big place, we have enjoyed many an amazing holiday but never returned to the same place twice, until the magnificent Manoir-La-Betoulle cast it's magical spell over us, the lure is so great we just have to return and have just enjoyed our 4th visit. As soon as you enter the gates it feels like Penny & John sprinkle you with magic dust, you feel the tensions of modern life instantly drift away making you feel instantly relaxed. Every attention to detail has been extremely well thought out, all is at hand for your utmost comfort. Our previous visits have always been " out of season" during Christmas and very early in the year, so we have always had the entire property to ourselves and been totally spoiled with 100% attention, so I was a little concerned about standards slipping as La Manoir Bettoulle was fully booked. We needn't have worried as Penny & John have a wonderful gift in making all their guests - old and new - completely indulged and pampered. Penny and John create such warmth -even breakfasting with strangers was thoroughly enjoyed in a delightful relaxed Atmosphere with the added bonus of making the acquaintance of delightful interesting people. Breakfast was superb, different everyday, Penny's pear crumble, gingerbread, homemade preserves and honey from the resident bees are mouthwateringly delicious, as was the "salad" we reserved for our first evening.

Our usual suite "Magnolia" was fully booked, we had the pleasure of staying in the family suite "Glycines" the suite is well equipped luxurious and spacious complete with family sized fridge stocked with milk and water. We also had our own private tea and coffee making facilities with tea coffee milk and sugar provided, tv, DVD, iron and ironing board etc. The suite also enjoys the added benefit of two private balconies one off the bathroom the other off the main bedroom as well as the large balconie which overlooks the pool. Glycines is more of an upmarket apartment as opposed to a suite with all the additional comforts of an amazing B&B.

Penny & John are discreet in all their hard work -they must remember every guests likes and dislikes which makes it seem like you are going to stay with good friends whom you have known all your life, somewhere you can truly sitbback relax and enjoy.

I dare anyone not to be captivated by the magic.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectionist1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review about your stay with us this weekend - it was a delight for us to welcome you back after such a long absence - we hope you will not leave it too long till your next visit. Very warm regards to you both - Penny & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

An excellent small, quiet hotel in a beautiful country setting. All the rooms face out across lovely French countryside and are very comfortable. Breakfasts are superb and vary every day, with home made and locally sourced fruits, jams, etc. The light supper, thoughtfully provided for our arrival, as many of the local restaurants are closed on Mondays, was just right after a long day's travelling! Penny is a mine of information about local sightseeing, restaurants and wineries to visit! It was only a pity that the weather was too cool to use the pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you both & welcome you to our home earlier this month. Although the weather was not the best we really admired the way you went out & about everyday making the most of your short stay to explore the region - as you discovered, we have some excellent local distilleries & vineyards. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again sometime when the weather should be kinder & you can drive around with the roof off that beautiful car. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second trip and we were a little apprehensive as to whether it really was as good as we remembered. We should not have been worried, the rooms are lovely, beds are so comfortable and there are few bed and breakfasts where the extra blanket needed for unseasonal weather is from Harrods! Penny and John cater for everything and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are such a high standard it ruins you for other B&Bs If you are looking for a restful holiday this is the place. The grounds are worth exploring, swimming pool a good size and table tennis and tennis also available if sporty types.We were unfortunate with the weather but that is everywhere at the moment and it really didn't impact on us as Penny had loads of ideas where to visit and what to see. Just one other tip if you are travelling far and need what she classifies as a light supper in the evening have no fears that it will not be enough. After a 7hour drive we were treated to a feast. It is certainly somewhere where we will return hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: We had Magnolia suite and can highly recommend this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you back with your friends for such a special occasion & we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay despite the weather... we very much hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's a long way from England by car, but so worth the journey. John and Penny make you so welcome and the Manoir is a joy to stay in. Breakfasts are different every day and you will look forward to the home baking and fruit dishes on offer with their own honey and home made jams all eaten in the beautiful setting of the dining room. The verandah outside your room is made for sitting in the evening sun with a glass of wine, overlooking the pool and there is everything you need in the guests kitchen for a welcome cup after a hard day's sight seeing. If you are lucky there will even be a home made cake waiting for you! Penny is a fount of wisdom on local places to eat (and not to eat!) and places to visit both near and far, complete with printed directions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the not so seasonal weather & very much hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Manoir La Betoulle for 4 nights in April 2013, John and Penny said we were the first guests to stay in the new family room which was a very spacious, comfortable and warm room, with great views over the very large gardens and swimming pool area. Both John and Penny made us feel very welcome in their magnificent home, it was pure luxury and look forward to staying at Manoir La Betoulle in the future.
Mike & Trish

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelT186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsy58, Owner at Manoir La Betoulle, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your review & comments about our newly refurbished Glycines suite - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & would love to welcome you back to La Betoulle again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had decided to stay in Mansle on our journey south but saw Manoir La Betoulle on Tripadviser. Since it was only a short distance away and the reports were glowing we decided to give it a try.
Penny sent loads of information, even though we were only staying for two days, including restaurants in the locality and things to do and places to visit. Our room on arrival was stunning, with beautiful furniture, crisp bedlinen and even towels for the swimming pool. The best surprise was the wonderful breakfasts with Penny's 'specials' each day - again served on a beautiful table setting in an elegant dining room.
The swimming pool was much larger than we expected - spotlessly clean and with good furniture in a garden where the only sounds were the songbirds.We were encouraged to 'picnic' in the garden or on the shared veranda outside our room - crockery and cutlery provided. We bought prawns, cheese, bread and wine and had a fabulous meal on the terrace as twilight came on.
Our original two night stay soon changed to three, and finally four. Had there not been a wedding party expected with all rooms booked we would have stayed longer.
Penny and John were excellent hosts, very well informed about the area and made our stay very special. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ime08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir La Betoulle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir La Betoulle

Address: Rue du Farnaud | Route du Grand Madieu, 16450 Saint-Claud, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Saint-Claud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Claud
Price Range: $95 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of South West France Manoir La Betoulle offers a 4 Star Chambres d’Hôtes service and two luxury Gîtes for Self Catering Holidays. Perfect for short refreshing breaks or summer holiday fun the region abounds with historic towns and villages, tranquil countryside and a wide range of restaurants offering fine food and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir La Betoulle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir La Betoulle Saint-Claud, France - Charente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing