We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked 2 nights: stayed 9!”
Review of Manoir La Betoulle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir La Betoulle
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint-Claud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Booked 2 nights: stayed 9!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

It felt as if we were arriving for a stay in a lovely country manor house as we drove in to La Betoulle with its mature trees and the fabulous smell of lavender. The interior continued the impression with its marble floor, sweeping staircase and comfortably furnished hall, filled with antiques and objets d'arte. Everywhere you look there is something interesting to see. Penny and John are the perfect hosts and it really seemed like we were welcome guests in their beautiful home. Nothing was too much trouble. We had only booked for two nights but felt so much at home and so pampered that we asked if there was a possibility for us to stay longer. Although it meant a room change we were delighted that arrangements could be made. Both rooms, though highly individual, were equally comfortable and well equipped with spacious en suite bathrooms and it was all the little extras and attention to details that made them so luxurious.
The breakfast each day was delicious with a range of home-made delicacies which made each meal a little voyage of discovery. Penny was gracious enough to share some of her recipes with us and we carefully carried jars of her home-made preserves back to England with us. Other treats arrived each day in the form of home-made brownies and other confectionary at afternoon tea time. Coffee and tea making facilities are available round the clock as well as a fridge and microwave for guests' use. There are picnic areas around the house and also tables and chairs on the covered balcony accessed from each room by french windows for those evenings when you do not wish to dine out at one of the splendid restaurants in the area. When you do there is information collated by your hosts in your room with other guests opinions included. When we wished for advice it was always readily forthcoming and Penny even rang and made reservations for us at some wonderful eateries that we would never have found by ourselves - and spared my halting French! It has been a super experience and we look forward to returning, possibly in September.

Room Tip: Tell Penny your individual needs and she will do what she can to give you the room best suited to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suenos-del-sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We drove for over 12 hours to get here from the UK and it was worth every mile. We run a b and b in the UK and hadn't had much time off for quite a while and when we found La Betoulle we thought it sounded like home from home, and we were right. Lots of space, quiet, top quality service and food, large rooms and hosts that were always there at the when needed but not in the least intrusive. The only thing that wasn't like home was the temperature as this area of France was very warm at the time.
Great swimming pool, spotlessly clean, secure pool area, lots of seating (in sun and shade if needed) and table tennis, huge chess game and coffee and Tea making facilities just a few lazy steps away.
Kitchenette available along the huge landing where the rooms were in the Manoir which was extremely handy to keep your wine and cheese chilled before you partook of them sitting on your covered veranda which is in sun but it wouldn't have made any difference if it had been raining as you wouldn't have got wet.
The breakfasts were amazing. We have a food award but we don't offer the choice of fruit that Penny and John offer. It was just ''pudding after pudding''...yes, for breakfast! Most days there was a choice of hot or cold fruit dishes, beautiful bread and pastries, home made jams (you have to try them all, it would be rude not to), home grown honey, and we had the first of the fresh figs picked straight off the tree outside the dining room window. Fantastic!
Our hosts could not have been more helpful. If you asked a question on a probable place to go for the day, there were lots of suggestions given immediately with print outs of how to get there. Reservations were made in advance for us at several great restaurants, and being a chef I would recommend the La Grange Aux Oies which would be about 5-6 minutes away by car. The food was extremely good, the service was faultless and the location (on a sunny evening, sitting outside with the G and T's) was perfect with the fantastic view of the nearby chateaux. The prices are nowhere near what they should be to reflect on the amount of work that went into preparing and cooking their wonderful menus. Eat there soon before the word gets out. And they are great with children too. We met some friends there who have a 3 year old and he was well looked after.
Sorry I digress...Penny and John don't seem to ever stop and put their feet up as they are always doing something when not waiting on their guests hand and foot. Penny should be in the GB walking team in the 2012 Olympics as she doesn't half shift and has the stamina of a marathon runner.
All in all a great weeks break which made the return to a full B and B in England all the more hard as we were so relaxed. Thanks to you both!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-atAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A perfect place to chill out after a hectic visit to Europe. Peaceful, plenty of space, huge beautifully decorated rooms. We felt free to 'do own thing' without intrusion from our hosts (who were always helpful if we needed them). The breakfasts were excellent - always a bit different - with lots of home-made jams, honey, cake etc.
We stayed in a range of B&B's throughout France and this was undoubtedly the most reasonably priced with the best value.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eensgevonden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The Manoir La Betoulle is wonderful. The rooms were beautifully furnished and comfortable and the hospitality was amazing. We were so well looked after and nothing was too much trouble for Penny. Breakfasts were delicious and Penny provides a lot of home baked food and home made jams. The terrace was wonderful and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Small kitchenette available for B&B guests - really useful feature. Excellent directions and guidance and help about the local area. Heartily recommended; will be going back again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Our 3rd visit - and already booked again for next year!!!
The tennis court - the pool - the accomodation just perfect.!! John and Penny true hosts, nothing is too much trouble to make sure a great holiday is had by all! Oops nearly forgot the breakfasts, what can be said about these amazing feasts - a real must (especially if the figs have been harvested!).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed for 2 days at Manoir La Betoulle and wished it were longer, everything was of fpremier quality. The welcome was warm, the rooms beautifully furnished and comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional and the attention to detail throughout the property was a breath of fresh air in a world that has become used to sub standard care. We would definitely like to return and would recommend it highly. Penny and John, the owners, should be proud of what they have achieved.
Definitely need a car and lots of interest in the vicinity. Nice village nearby with good quality eateries.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Shh a secret tranquil relaxing hideaway, a little piece of heaven.

We would never have considered staying in a B&B back in the UK, but my search of hotels in the Charente region of France led me to the magnificent Manoir-La-Betoulle.

We have stayed in the most luxurious hotels in the world never staying at anything less than 5* establishments but none could ever compare to this exquisite chambers d’hotes.

The location is idyllically peaceful yet on the doorstep there are the finest (spoilt for choice) array of magnificent restaurants (Penny & John your host & hostess will give you all the details and make the reservations on your behalf). The surrounding area has some of the most picturesque locations one has ever had the good fortune to see. It is like stepping back in time – never ending villages of natural un-spoilt beauty.

Whether it be architecture, history, fine dinning, picturesque locations, cookery school, Vineyards, Cognac, wine & bubbly, activity, water sports, cycling, kayaking, walking, places of interest, total relaxation, or you are hoping to purchase that dream home in France: Penny & John are a mine of local information and are only to willing to help.

There are many airports servicing the region (year round), most being within a 45 minuet drive.

You also have Limoges, Poitier, Angouleme, on your doorstep, Bordeaux within an hour and a half drive La Rochelle (Ile de Re) two hours and Paris 3 and a half hours ( the TGV is also local to the area , getting you to your chosen destination quicker). The roads in France are less stressful than those in the UK so no matter how long - the journey is always a pleasant one.

We booked a flight on our last visit. The flights were grounded due to the volcano eruption in Iceland , luckily we simply took the ferry from Dover with Norfolkline to Calais/Dunkirk. Ferries sale from port every two hours.

So much to see and do we have been back three times and are planning a fourth trip ( for a couple who never visit the same place twice in fear of spoiling the magical first experience- this speaks volumes)

Manoir-la-Betoulle is understated elegance. The chateaus in the area do not come anywhere near the accommodation you delight in when you stay here.

The rooms are well appointed we always choose Magnolia which has a gilted baroque bed, crisp white bed linen (the best nights sleep ever), elegant furnishings and tasteful decoration, there is a huge bathroom with double sinks a separate wc, your own hallway containing a large expanse of fitted mirrored wardrobes (plenty of hangers), double doors from the bedroom lead you to a spacious veranda which overlooks the magnificent grounds and swimming pool (if you awake early enough you may even see the estate deer roaming the grounds).


We like to dine out but if you prefer to eat in there is a kitchen at the end of the hallway equipped with micro wave, tea & coffee making facilities, fridge, freezer, Iron Ironing board etc.

Penny’s breakfasts are amazing, her homemade fruit compotes are mouthwateringly delicious and the fruit crumble is TDF. Penny’s breakfasts are far from predictable; there is always a huge array of choice.

Lots of personal touches, making you feel at home and special. There is nowhere in the world as unique or as wonderful as Manoir –La Betoulle.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectionist1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Claud
3.7 mi away
Chateau de Nieuil
Chateau de Nieuil
#1 of 1 in Nieuil
166 reviews
22.7 mi away
Domaine du Chatelard
22.8 mi away
Mercure Angouleme Hotel de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hotel Val de Vienne
Hotel Val de Vienne
#1 of 1 in Le Vigeant
52 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Petit Tournesol
Le Petit Tournesol
#1 of 1 in Le Grand-Madieu
38 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 2 in Roumazieres-Loubert
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir La Betoulle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir La Betoulle

Property: Manoir La Betoulle
Address: Rue du Farnaud | Route du Grand Madieu, 16450 Saint-Claud, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Saint-Claud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Claud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of South West France Manoir La Betoulle offers a 4 Star Chambres d’Hôtes service and two luxury Gîtes for Self Catering Holidays. Perfect for short refreshing breaks or summer holiday fun the region abounds with historic towns and villages, tranquil countryside and a wide range of restaurants offering fine food and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manoir La Betoulle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir La Betoulle Saint-Claud, France - Charente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing