We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal”
Review of Ristorante Galli

Ristorante Galli
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Roncade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bala, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ristorante Galli is an incredible find; a very homely family-run restaurant in a beautiful building serving exquisite food. The talent of the chef was revealed by the thoughtful and creative use of ingredients, perfectly matching and complimenting each other, resulting in us being served dishes of an outstanding quality. We sampled a superb local cheese ( the maker happened to be passing through the restaurant while we were dining) and we were recommended a beautifully smooth merlot from a local vinery ( Castello di Roncade) to match the meal. Monique (the chef) and her brother Carlo (front-of-house) and their parents were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. This was by far and away the best meal we have had in Italy and we are looking forward to returning during our next visit to the area for another wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    58
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just an excellent experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just back from a remarkable evening at Restaurante Galli in Roncade. Family restaurant, friendly service, extremely excellent homemade food, 25 minutes from Venice. Highly recommended. We are going again tomorrow!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Gluten Free options available”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the first restaurant in my life that has on hand gluten free pasta. They have dedicated GF food preparation for the kitchen. Stove, pots, ladles etc are all separated. The chef made a sage and zucchini tempura, chocolate lava cake, salmon with 3 spreads, and pasta bolognesse. Cheese shavers produced a carnation shaped amuse bouge. All were tasty. Skip the package of stale rice crackers. Your fellow wheat eating diners will enjoy the 3-4 breads they serve. Small garden safe for children abuts the outdoor dining area and they use mosquito coils. Expect on slow nights that the chefs visit your table and share a lovely chat. Opens at 8 pm and has been known to have guests until midnight. Call ahead for reservations if you can, but not required.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Modern Veneto Gem!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had the pleasure to dine at this wonderful restaurant last May. Their takes on Veneto classics such as Sarde e Soar and Tuna Carpaccio are amazing. The chef is very talented, the food preparation is wonderful, the restaurant is beautiful and the wine selection is excellent! We loved our dining experience and conversation with the local village guests! What a wonderful village Roncade is and the people are amazing.

Cheers,

Rob and Teri

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 nights in-a-row.”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I ate dinner at Ristorante Galli in October 2011. After our 1st night we came back the next night to savor more of the 'Best of Italy' before our month in Italy came to an-all-too-soon end. We were there on a Monday & Tuesday evening. The restaurant was not full, thus the personal service we experienced might not be typical on busy nights. However, from the first buonasera to the last ciao, our experience was delightful; from Carlo's enthusiastic, detailed descriptions of the dishes to Monica's deliscious, artful presentaions (although I think Carlo prepared a dish or two on our 2nd evening); from the cheese fan and prosecco to the dolci. When I was tasting one particular dish (was it the rabbit or duck ragu?) in which the flavors were so balanced that I could not identify any one spice/herb, Monica graciously came to our table and described what the flavors were and how she had acheived the perfect balance of flavors. We had a delightful conversation and then Monica went into the kitchen and came back with a mortar and pestle and ground all the spices at our table so that we could experience the aroma of fresh-ground spices. We had some local mushrooms that were probably the best mushrooms we've ever tasted (and we live in a mushroom-lover's paradise). All in all, from our experience you can't help but enjoy the people and food at Ristorante Galli. Grazie mille Carlo & Monica & Family!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellamangiaitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Galli also viewed

Roncade, Province of Treviso
Roncade, Province of Treviso
 
Roncade, Province of Treviso
Roncade, Province of Treviso
 
Roncade, Province of Treviso
Treviso, Province of Treviso
 

Been to Ristorante Galli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing