We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay I've had in years!”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #3 of 6 Dossobuono B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on recommendation of one of our clients, as we had been dissappointed with other hotels in Verona. We knew it was a small place, run by a family and I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent service.
Upon arriving we were warmly greeted, shown how to use the room cards as the reception is not always occupied, (although personnel is always available on call).
The place was small and newly renovated in a modern style, spotlessly clean and neatly furnished. Wi-Fi was free as well, which is a great bonus. There was a lovely little lounge/bistro/bar area on the ground floor with a large TV, unfortunately we didn't get around to using it but it seemed well-visited by non-hotel guests as well, am guessing it's a popular place.
Both English and German were spoken, communication was easy and pleasant. Given that we were near the airport, I was surprised at how quiet it was and slept like a rock.
Breakfast was served in a rustic basement: coffee, juice, croissants, joghurts, müslis, cornflakes or whatever one wished for.
I can only repeat that service was excellent on all levels.
The area has enough restaurants within a ridiculously short walking distance, and it seems a rather quiet area as well. We were recommended an excellent restaurant and greatly enjoyed our 4 night stay.

Try as I might, I cannot find a single thing to complain about this little hotel! We were well taken care of, treated cordially, and there was nothing left to be desired.
We will be returning in Spring, and I would like to visit for leisure as well sometime as it seems to be the perfect place to spend a romantic and definitely affordable weekend-getaway in Verona.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear HannaBGood,
we would like to hardly thank you for the wonderful words spent towards our Hotel, we greatly appreciated your review.
We everyday invest lots of energies for giving an excellent experience to our Guests and the best we can have back is to understand we meet and exceed the customer expectations.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent three nights in the Hotel Opera. All positive. Easy access to Verona by bus in 10 minutes, good breakfast, good room with all modern amenities, spacious and most importantly, a welcoming and informative staff. Highly recommend the hotel for value and as a welcome place to stay when visiting or transiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road but not critical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grafton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Skynova,
thank you for your reviews and for the nice words you spent regarding our Hotel.
We really hope to welcoming you back in a not too far future.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Opera hotel has the benefits of: being only one km from Verona airport and at no aircrafts noise at all, being in a good access to Verona city, being a new and modern hotel, being a small and not too crowded hotel and as being run by a young family couple Vania and her husband Gianni- both of them speaking English, supporting and friendly. Additional advantage is as being just next building to the very recommended Paolo restaurant. The Dossobuono village itself is an old neglected place and therefore the new hotels seems to be a juel in this village. Additional advantage is its being close to set of roads leading to Verona, Mantuva and the increasingly famouse charming village of Borghetto announced as the most beautiful village in all over Italy. Borghetto is about 20 minutes drive Westwards from this hotel. The breakfast seems to be a disadvantage as not being a rich buffet kind but you can ask Gianni for additional food and he will gladly fill your request. WiFi is OK. There is a huge supermarket in between this hotel and the airport hotel just 500 meters West to the hotel or a small supermarket just 60 meters from the hotel. More restaurants are available but we prefered twice the Paolo. We enjoyed both-Paolo and Opera hotel and the friendly owners and their son.

Room Tip: We had thePaolo restaurant yard view and we do not know other preferences but it was OK and silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dera mendi62,
thank you for staying with us and for spending part o your time in posting your kind review.
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August for 2 nights and were very impressed by the standard of the accommodation, bedrooms and bathrooms were beautifully appointed. There is a lovely seating area indoors and pretty terrace outside.
The owners are without doubt the nicest Italians we met on our 2 weeks in Italy, nothing seemed to be too much trouble and we took their advice to visit a local park which was very beautiful and definitely worth a visit.
Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Dresm,
thank you for the wonderful words dedicated to us. We are impressed for having been "the nicest Italian people you met" during your stay in Italy :) and would like to thank you indeed for writing it.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our flight was delayed. Hotel called me to arrange late check in and to book taxi to collect from arrivals hall(15 euros). Room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was served on a tea stand which was a lovely touch. Other people had cold meats on a platter but we were not offered this. However we had a good continental breakfast. Good option for verona but about 15 mins drive to the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytime19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear happytime19,
thank you for posting your impression about our Hotel.
We hope to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very convenient hotel for airport, the city of Verona by public transport and also for coast and Lake Garda.
Very modern and architect designed hotel. Very well run by friendly and helpful owners.
Bedroom was clean and well appointed.
Would definitely recommend.

Only downside no english channels on TV ( a small gripe really!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear JonesRon,
thank you for your kind review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will improve the English channels available for the next time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Italy. We had travelled from Ravenna and wanted somewhere near the airport for the night. From the second we arrived we were treated with such courtesy and kindness. There was a real warmth from the husband and wife team who own the hotel.

The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the bathroom spectacular. The hotel has been renovated with tremendous style and good taste. There was also free wi-fi which is always a bonus. The breakfast was continental and beautifully presented. I could not, for the life of me, understand an earlier complaint from a Reviewer about the bar prices. The prices were absolutely normal and less than on might well expect in a hotel.

We had a beautiful meal in the Restaurant next door and finished off with a nightcap in the bar on the corner on the other side of the road - Bar Giardino, which incidentally is open till midnight.

This was a lovely hotel run by a charming couple. I would be happy to return there and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Grechophile,
we would like to thank you for the nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your comment about the prices at the bar as when reported by another Guest it is always much important and true than any word we can spend.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dossobuono
0.6 mi away
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
#1 of 4 in Dossobuono
955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
#1 of 1 in Caselle di Sommacampagna
816 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gattopardo
Hotel Gattopardo
#2 of 4 in Dossobuono
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel West Point
Hotel West Point
#4 of 4 in Dossobuono
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 6 in Dossobuono
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postumia Hotel
Postumia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dossobuono
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 5, 37062 Dossobuono, Villafranca di Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Villafranca di Verona > Dossobuono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dossobuono
Price Range: $74 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new three stars Hotel with all the comforts; strategically located only 1Km from the main Airport and 6Km from the center of Verona.The 13 rooms are equipped of minibar, air conditioning, wifi connection, sat TV, hairdryer and well furnished.The Cafè is offering typical regional foods and a nice breakfast served on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Province Of Verona/Dossobuono, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing