We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice enough but more like a B and B”
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Opera
Ranked #3 of 6 Dossobuono B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“nice enough but more like a B and B”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Owners were helpful about where to visit in Verona.What we didnt like was the breakfast which was poor...little choice and you only got served one cup of tea or coffee..if you wanted another one you needed to pay extra...bit of a rip off really as the hotel was not that cheap in the first place. The bar was very expensive so not worth having a drink there......and the area around the hotel isnt very exciting...just a main road with a few bars/restaurants.The pizzeria next door called Paolos was excellent...definately worth going to if you do stay at this hotel. Getting into Verona was reasonably easy..about 12 minutes drive...however we had road works and got diverted so got lost which was annoying.I think there are better hotels than this to say in despite others reviews about it, we werent impressed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smplayareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Smplayareal,
we would like to thank you for posting your review. We are sorry to read you found our breakfast poor. We serve a continental breakfast which includes: fresch fruit, milk, croissants and sweet cakes, fresh roll bread and toasted bread, jam, chocolate, cereals, yoghurt, butter, ham and cheese as much as requested and a hot drink per person; everithing included in a rate of € 35.00/€ 45,00 p.p. in a double room depending on the season. We would like to draw your attention on the fact that the above mentioned price also includes use of a private parking and free unlimited Wi-Fi.
In the annexe Cafè Operà we serve hot and cold drinks and we can assure you our prices are very honest. Just for giving an idea: Italian espresso € 1, Cappuccino € 1.40, beer 0.3l € 3, Spritz € 3, Prosecco € 3, cocktails € 4.
Verona historical centre is about 6Km far away from us, easily reachable just following one main road, the way back just following for the Airport, which is less than 1Km from the Hotel.
For the same price you can get better or worst Hotels, maybe next time you can choose a different one and then let us know. If you will book again Hotel Operà we will be more than pleased to welcome you back.
Regards
Vania Vallenari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
56
5
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Imola, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Spacious room, clean, complimentary internet breakfast and small gated parking. It's in a suburb of Verona, therefore a car is advisable to get to the city; public transportation is available by bus as well. Breakfast in not buffet style, therefore selection is a little basic and mostly sweet and carbs; nevertheless one hot complimentary beverage is promptly server from the bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear LukeOnTheRoad,
we would like to thank you for your kind review and hope to welcoming you back in a not too far future.
Best Regards
Vania Vallenari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I chose Hotel Opera because it was close to the airport and would be easy to stay my last night before flying home. It was indeed very convenient to the airport. The hotel is owned by a young couple who are both very hands on operators of the hotel. Apparently the building was an old residence that they renovated about 2 years ago and turned into a small hotel. They did a great job with their renovation. The interior spaces are modern and clean and the rooms are very nice. My room was right above the wine bar and was a little noisy with the TV on and people chatting, but I think other rooms would be fine. There isn't a big selection of restaurants in the area and if you're visiting the old town of Verona, I don't know how convenient this location would be as as I didn't try that. But it fit my needs perfectly. I would definitely stay here again if I needed something convenient for an early flight out.

Room Tip: My room was above the wine bar and it was a little bit noisy with the television on and people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagsPacked58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear BagsPacked58,
thank you for posting you review. We are glad you appreciated our Hotel and the services offered.
We are really sorry about the noise heared and, next time you will book, be sure we will assign a room on the higher floor.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We arrived and didn't really know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The staff are brilliant, couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are vert clean and new. The breakfast was good, and the bar was great for drinks and had a great snack selection. It's not the best location if you do not have a car but we did find ways round that. There is a regular bus service which we used with ease and there are a couple of very good eating places around the hotel. The restaurant next door is good and not expensive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vblair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear TrumpetGeek,
thank you for your review, we are really happy you appreciated our efforts for making your stay as pleasant as possible and strongly hope to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you wanna travel to Verona and can stay a little far from centre this is your place. What a surpise to find such a hotel a few klms away from Verona. Everything wa excellent except from the poor breakfast and a little bit noise from th street in front of the hotel but these cons were also fogotten by the kindness and helpfullness of the staff. Great surprise they speak very good english too. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you want to stay near Verona and you are looking for a very good sleep and excellent service this is the hotel you want to stay.
I stay at the Opera Hotel in Dossobuono because i want a very nice accommodation and plus a free safe parking for my car and i am not disappointed for my choice.
Staff was great and every time that we want something is always very happy to help as.
Room was more that we want. Clean, comfy, new with a very nice bathroom.
The breakfast was very nice and if you want you can have your coffee outside on the garden.
The parking place is very safe because after the cafeteria closes you can only enter the hotel with your room card.
The only matter that i might say about the hotel and i must say that i am not very sure, because it is outside Verona near the airport i do not know if there is any transportation from the hotel to Verona centre like bus or other. As i already say i have a car so i am not sure but if you do have a car you’ll be fine.
This hotel is a great find with excellent facilities and even better staff, so if you are planning visiting Verona this is the place you MUST stay.
Great job Gianni!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-TCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

What to say about this lovely and cute hotel... Hotel owners are great, - young, experienced and very helpful couple who always have a smile on their faces.
My husband and I stayed for only two nights and had a nice relaxing time. It was short, but sweet and we will definitely come back.

I strongly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLuterotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operahotel, Proprietario at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear PLuterott,
thank you for your words, we are really happy to read you highly appreciated your stay.
Hope to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Vania Vallenari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dossobuono
0.1 mi away
Postumia Hotel
Postumia Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dossobuono
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Point Hotel
West Point Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dossobuono
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
AirportHotel Verona Congress & Relax
AirportHotel Verona Congress & R...
#2 of 7 in Villafranca di Verona
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
Hotel Veronesi La Torre
#1 of 4 in Dossobuono
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gattopardo
Hotel Gattopardo
#3 of 4 in Dossobuono
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
DB Hotel Verona Airport and Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 5, 37062 Dossobuono, Villafranca di Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Villafranca di Verona > Dossobuono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dossobuono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new three stars Hotel with all the comforts; strategically located only 1Km from the main Airport and 6Km from the center of Verona.The 13 rooms are equipped of minibar, air conditioning, wifi connection, sat TV, hairdryer and well furnished.The Cafè is offering typical regional foods and a nice breakfast served on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Province Of Verona/Dossobuono, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing