We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in this ancient building up the hills near Barano.”
Review of Il Borghetto

Il Borghetto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Borgetto. The ideal place to taste the best of the Island. All the best kitchen Ischia, accompanied by dishes of Italian cuisine served in a unique and original.Thanks to the Family Arcamone, more than two decades synonymous with excellence in the restaurant, The Boghetto delight your palate, filling of specialties and inimatibili. Visit us at Barano of Ischia.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We visited Il Borghetto with friends for dinner. The ante paste were superb and lots of it. We all had fillet steak for the main course which was cooked to perfection. This family owned restaurant may be difficult to get to as you have to drive up a narrow winding road to get there, but it is well worth it. There is a small chapel attached - most fascinating place. The staff are all family and they really spoiled us. Wonderful dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Porschethebulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Can't stay away from Borghetto once in ischia it's the place that I can't stay away from it's like sitting at your family table don't miss the outdoor sitting one of the best filet mignon ever also Mimo best maître d' / waiter

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank AndreaDiMeglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

A wonderful setting- the views , the staff , the food , the service - excellent 3 rd visit here and it never disappointments

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank egt1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Il Borchetta is truly a unique find. Fresh, delicious food made to order. this charming remote restaurant and worth the trip if it's a bit far for you. The owner frank and his family go above and beyond to make your dining experience the best. The Lemon pasta is the best!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank swissgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

I've long had a rule of thumb that the closer a restaurant is to a tourist destination or transit hub, the worse the food. The opposite (the further the better) is not always true, but in the case of this gem of a restaurant in the middle of nowhere Ischia, the opposite of my rule of thumb holds true. Up a winding road past the grocery store in the unremarkable village of Fiaiano (reachable by the #6 bus), Il Borghetto is a charming restaurant located on the side of an old winery with a stunning view of the Ischia Porto.

There were seven of us and we sampled almost everything on the menu, including the rabbit, and each dish was better than the last. The salads were fresh, the pastas incredibly savory and the meat dishes were outstanding. As was the house wine, made by the restaurant.

This was one of the best meals we had in 2.5 weeks in Europe, and while it was a large group and we ordered a lot, it was by no means the most expensive. The hospitality was exceptional, the service kind and efficient, really nothing (other than my in-laws showing up an hour late... but that's another story) could have been better.

On the one hand, I wish we had eaten here every night we were in Ischia; on the other hand, I will always savor what was one of the best meals of my life at Il Borghetto.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PandBLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorghettoIschia, Proprietario at Il Borghetto, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Dear Sirs, we would like thanks for the many compliments, received. Last week was a pleasure receive you to our restaurant. We look forward to Borghetto.
Mimmo Arcamone & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Borghetto also viewed

Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia
Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 
Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 
Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Il Borghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing