We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
106
55
17
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
55
17
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young man every meal sandy beach natural sauna the bus carmelo sunbathing cava property sleep luggage balcony sea ischia island
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 187 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

(Let me just state, i never take the time to write a review)

This was one of the most beautiful stays ive had in italy. The hotel is not to be mistaken with for a 5 star. That being said, the views from the room are stunning, the multiple terraces and easy access to the beach made this vacation well worth every penny! The rooms are inviting and confortable, the hospitality couldn't any be better and by far the best part about my stay was the food!! Every meal was delicious, fresh and truly the italian experience! I ate like royalty with some stunning views and let me tell you, a five star hotel can either match this quality of dishes or can probably take several pointers from here! All in all, i will be definitely coming back next summer and will be counting down the days!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Steveromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

I was looking for a place to completely relax and spend a peaceful moment... and I found the perfect one! Right on the beach, far from the city noises, close to the Thermal Baths of Cava Scura and Sant'Angelo. Rooms are clean, comfortable and they all have an exceptional view on the sea and a lovely terrace. The hotel has a thermal swimming pool and a natural sauna. Carmela, her family and their staff are very nice people, friendly and welcoming. We really loved our staying in this hotel and I'm pretty sure we'll go back there sooner or later! I strongly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nannamery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Where shall I start.... We got to the Ischia port and got bus 5 to Barano where a young man from the hotel came to collect our luggage and we walked to the hotel for about 10 mins along the beach.. Very nice stroll!!
We spent 4 nights and really enjoyed the primary beach location I have two young girls of 7 and 5 and they were very happy to spent all day on the sunny beach which was big enough but still managed to keep the girls under our eyesight. La signora Carmela made sure we had a nice stay in every single way... Great hospitality and fantastic home made food. The continental breakfast was served with huge croissants or brioches, fresh made Italian coffee and more...
We had a nice relaxing time there,perfect for family with young children!
I like to thank la signora Carmela for her friendly hospitality and professional assistance.

Grazie

Mariangela

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selvaggiasito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

you know when you *want* to love a place, but things just keep chipping away at that optimism? that was our experience at Regina del Mare. I will do my best to list the good and the frustrating.

first, echoing other reviews, the hotel needs to get better at communicating how to get here as one of its main attributes (how secluded it is) makes it very difficult to find when arriving. they should send an email to guests before arrival to catch a bus from the port to Sant Angelo and then to get a water taxi (3 euro per person per trip) from the harbour of Sant Angelo to the hotel. it seems we are not the first, or fiftieth to have encountered this problem.

secondly, not a single staff member speaks english. this is not a negative (im not that much of an arrogant anglophile) but just something to be aware of - the staff / owners of this family-run property are lovely, kind-hearted people who do everything in their power to make the holiday pleasant, though we relied exclusively on our broken german (they speak that fluently), google translate and sign language. there's no compendiums, information on check-in or anything - they take your passport and take you to the room.

it's worth noting that it doesn't seem worth it to pay extra for the balcony/sea-view option as every room faces the sea and our "private" balcony was 30cm away from the public terrace area, separated only by a 1 metre high wall ensuring zero privacy at all and with no extra added benefit had we just booked a Double Room and walked the ten metres to sunbathe on the large public terrace.

this large public terrace is of course wonderful, as is the views of the ocean and the beach, which is literally on the doorstep of the property. the sunsets and sunrises are as good as you can imagine and the fact that the sunbeds on the beach are courtesy of the property is a nice touch - however i think this is the reason there are so many favourable reviews as of course an amazing beach/views can be quite overwhelming.

our trip though was marred by the basics. our bed was from the 1970s, with my partner sleeping on average 4 hours a night on it. the pillows were lumpy and you could feel the springs of the mattress lightly bruising your back. the IKEA closet was the sole place to store clothes and had no proper shelves, just mismatched clothes hangers from generations gone past. the toilet hardly flushed and sometimes didnt at all, the shower was warm but the water pressure was so low that we resorted to cupping the water in our hands and washing ourselves like that.

the thermal pool is in some sort of construction excavation site a five minute walk from the hotel rooms (unlike what websites would have you believe) and the breakfast was genuinely the worst i have ever experienced in a hotel. They told us breakfast was from 8am - 10am, but if you arrived at 9.15 everything was gone as they didn't refresh the breakfast buffet as it was eaten but brazenly had it on a first come, first serve basis. when we clocked onto this game and arrived early we found one plate of cold scrambled eggs, semi-stale bread from the night before (read above RE: seclusion of hotel) and cold meats and cheese. they did make a good coffee though! see im trying to be balanced!

honestly the only reason this place isn't getting one star is that it was clear that the hotel was run by genuinely lovely people. it is in a magnificent location for swimming and relaxing and sunbathing, but the hotel urgently needs to spend money on its basic accommodation to take the rooms and bathrooms out of the 1970s.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

the title says it all although clean and tidy this was basic situated in the middle of Maronti beach this is a serious 10 minute walk from the bus stop and although our taxi driver arranged for our bags to be picked up there was no offer from the hotel to arrange for our bags to be taken back when we left

other problems with our stay is the lack of understanding with the staff that have little or no comprehension of the English language and what understanding of the Italian language that we had wasn't good enough

Breakfast in this place was enough to put us off eating here again with offerings of over cooked pastries and stone cold scrambled eggs on offer I will leave it at this as our stay in Ischia tainted an otherwise brilliant holiday

Room tip: try elsewhere
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 923nicholash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews