We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce location but not very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arpino
Certificate of Excellence
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NIce location but not very quiet”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel is located in a nice little village (with only one tratoria) and is run by a sympatic women who speek english and some french.
The room are large but accomodation is average.
The only problem is that the acoustic isolation is not good and there is a lot of noise.
The cleaning team start very early (arounf 07.30) and wake up everybody.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fixer912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    108
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
185
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
420 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I visited the hotel on a business trip trough Italy, I choose the hotel absed on tripadvisor. The only downside was that it was located a bit of the road, but that fact is totally cancelled out by the good points.
The staff was extremely friendly, they booked me a restaurant which was nice, and ok, and also very cheap.
Breakfast was excellent, a cappuchino of good quality was offered, there was also plenty to choose out.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed here for a week in May 2009, and I was so sad to leave at the end. The hotel is run by a small staff, each of whom is extremely friendly and welcoming. I was very friendly with the entire staff by the time I left (even though several spoke only Italian!). The room was the largest I had while in Italy, and it was available at an incredibly affordable price. The hotel is situated just a few minutes walk away from the center of town. Arpino is a wonderful place. It is large enough to offer everything you might need, several family-run grocery stores, multiple excellent pizzerias, even an electronics shop, but it is also small enough that you feel immersed in the true Italy.

The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful, and I had the best pizza I experienced anywhere in Italy in a small pizzeria on a side street in Arpino. I had such a wonderful time that I'm planning to go back to Italy soon to be there again. It's an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPrevi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My son and I wanted to visit the mountain top towns surrounding the Comino Valley and the Hotel Cavalier d'Arpino proved to be the perfect place to stay. The owner's attention to detail is incredible. The grounds are beautiful. The small staff was fantastic and the breakfast was the perfect start of our day. Our room was comfortable and always clean.
Arpino is a wonderful village. The residents are very friendly and we found a great selection of places to eat. Lots of history and every turn of a corner provided us with a photo-op.
Be prepared to walk up lots of steps and hills but the spectacular scenery (especially in the Old City) is worth the effort!.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineseller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

The hotel itself was located in a small village with a breathtaking view to the village and the surrounding mountains. The room and bathroom was clean, though a bit old fashioned.
It was clearly off-season at the time of our stay (February) which could explain the low room temperatures and the somewhat slow service (it could take up to 5 minutes before anyone would answer your call in the reception). The breakfast was not flashy (same standard you would expect at a German Gas Station on the highway), and was not ready in time, but again, this was of season and we were only few guests at the hotel.

Conclusion: I am sure the hotel has been classy some years ago, but the quality has faded. Stay at the hotel if you seek the quiet local atmosphere.

Notes: Expect that the shops close from 12:30 to 16:30 and that you will have a hard time meeting anybody that speaking English. The locals are friendly, and we were able to go shopping in a grocery shop and bought bags full of cheese without speaking any word English, only relying on smiles and gestures (and yes, the cheese was cheap and very good)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My wife and I spent a week at the Cavalier in October.The room was great ,the breakfast great,the service was great,the most disappointing thing was the fact that despite being listed as Hotel Ristorante II Cavalier, and pictures on the web site showing a restaurant, there is'nt a restaurant! Well there is a restaraunt but it is only used for weddings. Arpino is a very nice town and we found several places to eat in the evenings,it is not a tourist trap and therefore you really feel that this is the real Italy.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FenmanCambridge_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset, England
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2008

What an absolute treat! Fantastic room, service and cleanliness for the price. Staff attentive but not interfering. Excellent breakfast and breathtaking views. The hotel and grounds are superb - can't recommend it enough. The only drawback is that they do not serve evening meals. Will certainly book again for next year.

  • Liked — Clean with wonderful atmosphere and breathtaking views of old town.
  • Disliked — Do not serve evening meals.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanLizTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpino
9.0 mi away
Villa Euchelia Resort
Villa Euchelia Resort
#1 of 2 in Castrocielo
521 reviews
5.2 mi away
B&B Portella Delle Fate
4.8 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#3 of 3 in Sora
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ida
Hotel Villa Ida
#1 of 2 in Ceprano
185 reviews
10.8 mi away
Liola Hotel
Liola Hotel
#2 of 2 in Castrocielo
247 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#2 of 3 in Sora
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino

Property: Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino
Address: Via Vittoria Colonna 21, 03033 Arpino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Arpino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arpino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly renovated 16th century wool mill, the Hotel Il Cavalier D'Arpino is located in the historic centre of Arpino, birthplace of Cicero. Set in a strategic location between Rome and Naples, the city of Arpino, Orange Flag of Touring Club Italy, is surrounded by rolling hills and lush countryside. Dating back to the 7th century, the city is rich in history and offers you a trip back in time. The hotel offers elegantly appointed rooms with all the modern amenities, yet in the "arte povera" style recreating the welcoming atmosphere and grandure of a recidence of its original epoch. The tastefully decorated halls and its adjacent park are the perfect setting for wedding receptions, special ceremonies and gala events of all types. At the same time the Cavalier D'Arpino offers a restful and relaxing holiday in a setting of ancient and modern art and culture further enhanced by its secular park which provides its patrons hours of pleasant walks or quiet time sitting on one of its quaint benches to meditate and reflect on the myriad beauties of nature... A memorable experience in a unique setting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Il Cavalier D'Arpino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing