We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buonissimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Ciclope

Il Ciclope
Reserve with
Save up to 25% when you reserve online *
Il Ciclope is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Arpino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the hills of the famous CIOCIARIA, the country guesthouse & restaurant IL CICLOPE of Arpino is one of the most known restaurants in the whole province of Frosinone. The typical homemade food and its personal country style makes this place very successful. The staff will make you feel part of the family and for this reason many of our guests meet every year at the CICLOPE. It's a place to relax, where you can take it easy, where animals and nature will surround you.A place to spend lovely weekends (even wedding weekends) with your whole family or just with a special person. Many activities are organized- just call or write!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Buonissimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is a gastronomical treat!
My family originates from this very special little area of Italy, Arpino, and my parents returned to their 'roots' there 6 years ago (aged 85 and 84!!). Every year we return to visit and always go to this fabulous restaurant for their local, seasonal and wonderfully cooked food. Sandra and Rocco are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The only problem after eating at Il Ciclope.....you're hungry 3 days later!!!
See you soon Sandra, will be back to pick the olives!
Lucia xx

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    68
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Food in Arpino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at Il Ciclope last week whilst visiting Arpino and can't say enough positive things about the service we received. Sandra met us on arrival and gave us 3 excellent rooms, complete with a terrace so we could sit out together and enjoy the sunshine. The food was some of the best Italian cooking I have ever tasted (and we come from an Italian family), Sandra's pomodoro sauce reminded us of our grandmothers cooking. The hotel is family run and all members pitch in to look after you, nothing is too much trouble. I would not hesitate to return as its the perfect, quiet location to chill out, surrounded by beautiful rural Italy.
Benson-Wells Family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sandra is a star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at the Il Ciclope last week as we were attending a fabulous wedding in Arpino. The owner Sandra and her family were very welcoming from the start. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and had air conditioning. The food was fantastic. No menu, just whatever fresh local produce was available. A true taste of the real Italy. As we didn't have a car Sandra chauffered us all around Arpino. To the pool and the piazza at night. The hotel is surrounded by farmland and has superb views of the mountains valleys and beyond. I would definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racheybaby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

While visiting Arpino with friends we stopped in for dinner at Ciclope. The atmosphere was quaint and cozy. The owners were gracious and the food was a true Italian experience. We started with antipasti and ended with delicious desserts! We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful restaurant and it will definitely be on our list to re-visit on a return trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited whilst staying a friends family who live nearby . It was a strange but enjoyable experience . My travelling companions spoke Italian so after some discussion with the owner our food appeared and it was a joy . We had antipasti to start and a deep fried bread followed by homemade pasta with beans . We could have gone on but were very full after the pasta . Wine was served in carafes and was very drinkable and so cheap. The family and staff sat down to a meal at the same time we did which added to the atmosphere. I only say it was strange because I did not have a menu to look at so don't really know what else was on offer . I guess my friends knew what to choose. It was dark and cold when we went but I imagine in the summer it will be glorious to eat outside. As I didn't pay or see the menu I can't comment on prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ciclope also viewed

Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
 
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Monte San Giovanni Campano, Province of Frosinone
 
Sora, Province of Frosinone
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
 

Been to Il Ciclope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing