We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandra is a star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Ciclope

Il Ciclope
Reserve with
Save up to 25% when you reserve online *
Il Ciclope is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Arpino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the hills of the famous CIOCIARIA, the country guesthouse & restaurant IL CICLOPE of Arpino is one of the most known restaurants in the whole province of Frosinone. The typical homemade food and its personal country style makes this place very successful. The staff will make you feel part of the family and for this reason many of our guests meet every year at the CICLOPE. It's a place to relax, where you can take it easy, where animals and nature will surround you.A place to spend lovely weekends (even wedding weekends) with your whole family or just with a special person. Many activities are organized- just call or write!
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sandra is a star!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at the Il Ciclope last week as we were attending a fabulous wedding in Arpino. The owner Sandra and her family were very welcoming from the start. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and had air conditioning. The food was fantastic. No menu, just whatever fresh local produce was available. A true taste of the real Italy. As we didn't have a car Sandra chauffered us all around Arpino. To the pool and the piazza at night. The hotel is surrounded by farmland and has superb views of the mountains valleys and beyond. I would definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racheybaby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    20
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While visiting Arpino with friends we stopped in for dinner at Ciclope. The atmosphere was quaint and cozy. The owners were gracious and the food was a true Italian experience. We started with antipasti and ended with delicious desserts! We thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful restaurant and it will definitely be on our list to re-visit on a return trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited whilst staying a friends family who live nearby . It was a strange but enjoyable experience . My travelling companions spoke Italian so after some discussion with the owner our food appeared and it was a joy . We had antipasti to start and a deep fried bread followed by homemade pasta with beans . We could have gone on but were very full after the pasta . Wine was served in carafes and was very drinkable and so cheap. The family and staff sat down to a meal at the same time we did which added to the atmosphere. I only say it was strange because I did not have a menu to look at so don't really know what else was on offer . I guess my friends knew what to choose. It was dark and cold when we went but I imagine in the summer it will be glorious to eat outside. As I didn't pay or see the menu I can't comment on prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an amazing Place”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been going to Il Ciclope over the past 20 years and have some of the best eating experiences of my life there.
the food is simple ,unpretentious and always delicious.
There is never a menu....just plate after plate of delicious traditional local cuisine.
The family who own and run it are always warm and welcoming
The produce is always local and gives you a real taste of traditional Ciociaria hospitality.
the countryside around is beautiful and the panoramas to be seen from the terraces are just stunning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harveyg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great undiscovered hotel and location highly recommended”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the Ciclope Hotel in Arpino Frosinone on 16th October for one week. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Sandra the hotel owner and her family, gave us a very warm welcome. Sandra had spent 12 years of her childhood in Toronto Canada and speaks perfect English. Her family help run the hotel and made us feel very comfortable.

The restaurant is very good and is frequented by local Italians and is renowned for first class fresh dishes and local wines.

We found the hotel was spotlessly clean and outside a traditional wood oven provided fresh pizza and bread that was a real treat. The hotel is a short walk from the historic mountain village of Arpino and, the fresh mountain air and olives groves along the roadside made us relax. As always the sun was shining and the whole experience made us feel revatalised.

The historic acropolis of Civittavecia was a short walk from the hotel and has 3000 years of history including information on the famous orator and poet cicerone.

The hotel accommodation was very reasonably priced , also the food and wine was modestly priced and high in quality. At times the table service was sometimes delayed but what came out of the kitchen was worth waiting for.

The fabulous dishes with local produce, the family atmosphere superb wines provided one of the best holidays we have experienced and we are seasoned world travellers and have been guests in some of the best hotels in the mediterean . This hotel is a fraction of the price compared to Rome and other resorts and cities elsewhere in Europe.

The hotel is an undisclosed Gem located in the Italian mountains in the real Italy, and we cannot wait to revisit the Hotel Ciclope next October to see Sandra and the family, and sit in the 23 degrees of sunshine to sample the local hospitality and wines.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ciclope also viewed

Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
 
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Sora, Province of Frosinone
 

Been to Il Ciclope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing