We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“really comfortable and homely”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Doocot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcoming and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcoming and cosy
Light and airy
A place to chill out
Smart TV, Netflix and wi fi
Soak up the stunning views
Quiet comfort will make sleep come easy
With space to relax
Mmmmm the key to relaxation?
Fully equipped kitchen
Time for tea or coffee
Idyllic and tranquil
The original doocot
And babbling brook
The garden pond
And extensive grounds
A place to stroll
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colinsburgh, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fratersme...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“really comfortable and homely”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at the doocot while working in east Fife. It had everything I needed and was really comfortable and homely. It is attached to the owners home - it was good to know there was someone around if I needed anything - but I had complete privacy. There was a welcome basket waiting when I arrived with milk, bread eggs etc - a lovely touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: country living
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect for golf vacation”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This made a perfect central accomodation for our golf vacation to St. Andrews and area. Elaine and Robert made use feel at home on arrival and thriughout our stay. If you are looking for a clean, quiet and roomy place this is it. If we go back to the area it would be our first choice for sure.
Thanks again Elaine and Robert.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and clean
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
505PDB
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place in the sun”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful hospitality, beautiful accommodation & gardens. Everything 5 star & they deserve every success.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan778
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Doocot. The flat has everything you could need and it's perfectly positioned close to Elie and the neighbouring villages along the coast; it's just 20 minutes from St. Andrew's too.

Both Elaine and Robert were very welcoming and kind to us and the flat was a truly relaxing place to spend time. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone planning a visit to this lovely part of Scotland.

Thanks for a perfect stay!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite Lovely!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Doocot was the perfect place to start our honeymoon in Scotland! The property was beautiful: nicely furnished and decorated, well-maintained, clean, and comfortable! The garden and grounds are beautiful, and the surrounding area is peaceful and lovely. It is absolutely as advertised. The coast is easily accessible, and the surrounding towns are welcoming and wonderful.

The owners are very respectful of space and privacy, but they're very responsive to any questions or needs! They had a very nice welcome package and helpful references, as well.

We loved everything about the Doocot, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara L
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“The standard of accomodation at the Doocot was all that we imagined after reading reviews from other guests.”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We felt very fortunate indeed to have come upon the "Doocot" whilst searching for self catering accommodation in the east Neuk of Fife. The setting and accommodation were just perfect. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and once indoors a bottle of chilled wine and food hamper awaited us, and all greatly appreciated. During our stay we were able to explore the area including the lovely fishing villages with quaint harbours, and the very interesting caves in East Weems. Our particular interests being photography, and bird spotting there was never a dull moment. The eateries we found were all of a high standard including, Balgove Larder, near St Andrews, The Crusoe Hotel West Weems and the famous fish and chips to be found in Anstruther..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: nothing to say
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford6...
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, relaxing and home from home”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Doocot provided a perfect place to both relax and explore. Welcome Pack provided on arrival was greatly appreciated and bottle of wine was a nice touch. The accommodation was spotless and really well equipped. Would definitely recommend this cottage to any couple and we will definitely be staying again. A great bonus was being able to use Netflix. You can also walk to the Charleton Golf Club and have a fantastic meal which is reasonably priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing