We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special beautifully restored very old house. Clearly loved by its owner.”
Review of Craigdene

Craigdene
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colinsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigdene
Ranked #2 of 2 Colinsburgh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special beautifully restored very old house. Clearly loved by its owner.”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I instantly loved the atmosphere in this house. It felt like it has a happy history. Fiona, the owner, has spared nothing in restoring it and generously shares it with her guests. We were visiting Elie, which is not very far away, has a beach and is certainly a more vibrant town than Colinsburgh, but the latter was totally unspoilt and not full of tourists and we were glad we chose this location. Our room was delightful, plus we had a huge and beautiful bathroom all to ourselves, and the use of a marvellous sitting room done in calm pale colours, with enormous comfortable sofas a lovely fireplace (which would have a real fire in cold weather)and even a drinks tray!
I think there are three double rooms - maybe four? and it would be a great place for a few couples to go there together. (There might be traffic noise in front room)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at Craigdene for 3 nights in July 2010. We really enjoyed the place. Room was very large and clean. Breakfast was excellent and the owner made every effort to serve it at a convenient time for us. She offered some good alternatives to the traditional Scottish breakfast (which some people may not like to eat everyday).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I couldn't rate this lovely b and b highly enough- the rooms were beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. There was a lovely atmosphere and it was a brilliant bargain for the quality and standard of the service and surroundings. I would happily go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Have just returned from a delightful 2 night stay at Craigdene and wanted to spread the word on this excellent little B&B. Fiona was very warm, welcoming and friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic. The pristine Georgian bedrooms and lounge were charming and very relaxing and overall, we were very happy with our stay.

We would definitely recommend Craigdene to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

craigdene is a lovely place to stay in with great rooms that are full of character and comfort. The breakfast was very good! I was staying with my son and my parents they enjoyed the well earned rest. I will definitely recomend craigdene to my friends and workmates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We arrived at Fiona's late for a 3 day break due to a breakdown she greeted us like an old friends, our room was beauitfull and clean, the breakfast was very filling as we were up for a wedding it saw us through till the wedding breakfast. Craigdene is situitated in a wonderful spot for travelling around fife only 20mins from St Andrews and 10mins from the coast, you couldn't
ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blodwenwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrumsh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed with Fiona for a couple of days, while I revisited some childhood memories of holidays in Elie. Fiona made us instantly at home, lent us a windbreak and picnic blankets for the beach, and made us feel very comfortable.
Breakfasts were wonderful and on the rainy day, when we weren't quite sure what to do, Fiona directed us to the most wonderful chocolate shop (cocoa tree) in Pittenweem. We later a very enjoyable afternoon playing monopoly in the comfortable and cosy lounge while the rain fell outside.
We will definitely be back and I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrumsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigdene

Property: Craigdene
Address: 20 Main Street, Colinsburgh KY9 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Colinsburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Colinsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast at Craigdene offers luxury double rooms with private facilities in a recently renovated Georgian town house. Close to blue flag beaches at Elie and St Andrews golf courses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing