We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Accomodation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigdene

Craigdene
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colinsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigdene
Ranked #2 of 2 Colinsburgh B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing Accomodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were disappointed with this B & B , Fiona was friendly and welcoming however the room was tired looking and did not match the pictures I had viewed on the website. Breakfast was ok but I would not recommend. Also, nowhere close to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at Craigdene. I cannot praise Fiona, the owner, highly enough.
The whole house is beautiful. It has a warm, welcoming atmosphere which captivates you as you walk through the front door. Our room, to the front of the house, was huge and filled with lots of little touches that you would not normally expect from a B+B. We even had a couch and table in our en suite room. We also had the use of a beautiful, large sitting room. Breakfast in the morning was delightful. Fiona will supply you with whatever you want. The full Scottish breakfast was a treat. The presentation of breakfast was above and beyond expectation. If you are in the area I would highly recommend that you stay at Craigdene. You will not be disappointed. Colinsburgh is the perfect base to explore all the coastal villages and St Andrews beyond, all within a ten to thirty minute drive. Fiona has a wealth of local knowledge and is very happy to point you in the direction of wonderful coffee shops and places to eat. I'm sure you will not find better accommodation in the area. If there was an award for Scottish Hospitality Fiona has our vote.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bilizheggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Five of us stayed here for two nights. It was a great place to stay for our friend's wedding in nearby Kilconqhuar Castle Estate. We were looked after excellently by Fiona, who made us some of the best scrambled and poached eggs for breakfast. The cottage was clean and spacious for our young son to crawl about and everything you could need for a weekend away was close at hand. Would recommend stay here if your ever travelling too this beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Saturday night and loved it! The room we stayed in was lovely, as was the sitting room that we had the option to use. Everything was very clean and there was nothing lacking. Breakfast was perfect as was the breakfast room. Fiona was super friendly and very attentive. The weekend left us with a lovely warm glow and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: One small point to note was the room that we took had a bed with a footboard which unfortunately mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorsyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is my second stay at Fiona's B &B. The atmosphere was lovely as we sat by the log fire having a seasonal glass of wine. The house is lovely and warm and it is beautifully furnished and creates a lovely atmosphere. It is especially nice at this time of year.

The surrounding area is great for walking and exploring the fabulous villages that surround. It is a perfect house and location for a long weekend away from the City.

Room Tip: The two rooms I have seen are both very comfortable. Fiona is very approachable so if you have any c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccccc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the first trip to Scotland with two other couples. We all stayed with Fiona for two. Not only were the rooms comfortable but the sitting room was a perfect place for all of us to gather and spend time together. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Fiona also pointed us in the right direction for a great fish & chips dinner!

We're looking forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a very relaxing evening at the Craigdene after a wedding at Kilconquhar Castle. The owner Fiona is a wonderful host. She made us very welcome and even baked a lovely lemon and poppy seed cake for us to have with our cup of tea.
The bedroom was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable.We never had an en-suite, just a whole bathroom to ourselves. We also had our own private lounge.
The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit and a full English.
We had left our car at Kilconquhar the night of the wedding but Fiona gave us a lift down the next day to pick it up.We would not hesitate to stay here again if we are in the area. Thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colinsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Craigdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigdene

Property: Craigdene
Address: 20 Main Street, Colinsburgh KY9 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Colinsburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Colinsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast at Craigdene offers luxury double rooms with private facilities in a recently renovated Georgian town house. Close to blue flag beaches at Elie and St Andrews golf courses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing