We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Spot in the Midst of Farmland and Olive Groves”
Review of B&B Poggio Tafuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Poggio Tafuri
Ranked #9 of 27 Andria B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our primary reason for visiting Andria was to try the local foods and learn more about their production. We didn't want to stay in a big, touristy masseria and were hoping for a smaller-scale version with a more authentic experience. Our visit with Giuseppe and Cristina was everything we could possibly have wanted.

We made the initial reservation online, and Giuseppe and Cristina's son, Antonio, emailed me to follow up. (Antonio is fluent in English, which was a great help because our Italian is so limited.) Antonio was very friendly and accomodating. Although they generally require a small deposit to hold the room, after we had a little difficulty with the bank transfer, Antonio kindly offered to hold the room without charge.

Next, the family was extremely thoughtful in planning for our visit and accomodating our particular interests. When I submitted my online reservation request, I had indicated that we were hoping to visit a cheese farm and to see olive oil being made, and I asked if they had recommendations. Because of the masserias and agiturismo in the area, I had assumed that they would be used to this kind of request. I later learned that they were not in the habit of taking guests to see cheese being produced, and yet, on our behalf, they went out of their way and asked farmers in the area and arranged a special visit just for the two of us.

And, despite the very early hour, at 4 in the morning on the second day of our visit, Giuseppe was kind enough to get up and drive us to a small farm, where, at the crack of dawn, we had the pleasure to watch the slow production of ricotta by a father and his sons. It was an unbelievable experience, and we felt so lucky to be there. (We never did see the olive oil being made; Antonio was candid and kind enough to politely educate me on the fact that May is not the season for olive oil production.)

As for the visit to Cristina and Guiseppe's house, the food and the hospitality were outstanding. When we arrived, we were a little later than we had planned. We felt badly to keep Cristina and Giuseppe waiting, but they greeted us warmly. While Cristina prepared a dinner, Giuseppe took us on a short tour of the farm. As we walked, he pointed out the various herbs and fruits that were growing, and encouraged us to try them all. The variety of fruits was delightful and even included one I'd never had before. Giuseppe told us a bit about the history of the farm and then gave us a little time to walk around by ourselves and soak in the air. Because it was springtime, the surrounding fields were filled with red and yellow wildflowers. The farm looked especially beautiful as the sun was setting. I imagine that the area is gorgeous all year, but if you have the chance to visit in springtime, I recommend it.

And then dinner--dinner was wonderful. The ricotta was amazing. The burrata was sublime. The orrechiette con pomodoro was simply perfect. Breakfast the next morning (after our visit to the cheese farm) was also wonderful, though admittedly by that point we were feeling rather stuff. Before we left, Cristina packed us a bag of treats for our ride: fruits from the farm and her homemade ricotta cake.

We could not have asked for a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corona_del_mar2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you really want to see Italian hospitality at its best – you should go to Poggio Tafuri. Cristina and Giuseppe will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as you wish. The combination of the host's couple friendliness, the gastronomic level of the food served, and the peace and beauty of the place is truly unique.

When we travelled to Andria in September 2012, we first had difficulties to find the place as it is situated in the middle of huge olive groves. After a phonecall, Giuseppe picked us up with his car. Travelling with a dog, the owners gave us a modern, functional appartment in a separate structure consisting of two rooms, bathroom, kitchen and a panoramic terrace. Breakfast and Dinner were served in the beautiful old house which used to be a cheese dairy in the 19th Century. And the food Cristina served was just outstanding. If you are interested in authentic local Italian Cuisine, this is a place you definitely should visit. We tried the best Burrata we ever had. Not to speak of the Ricotta, Giuseppe picked up in the morning. It is very important that these Italian cheeses are to be eaten fresh: the sheep's Ricotta we had was still warm. And we have eaten lots of figs in many different places in Italy. The ones we got here were honestly the best we have tried so far. All products Cristina and Giuseppe do not produce themselves are bought from local farmers. Giuseppe does the shopping and Cristina prepares fantastic meals consisting for example of fried Zucchini with fresh mint, selfmade Pasta (with chickpeas!!!), Salsiccia and Potatoes baked in the oven, and homemade Ricotta Cake. Cristina is an expert in food and she takes great pleasure in sharing her knowledge and her recipes. At the end of the dinner you might be lucky and you can try a homemade Nocino.

We had a perfect, unforgettable stay at Poggio Tafuri.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe s, Proprietario at B&B Poggio Tafuri, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Marsha and Mathias,
thank you for your warm and kind words. And thank you for your postcard from berlin we received in october. It was a great surprise!!
You'll be always in our heart, hope to see you another time in Tafuri.

All the Best

Giuseppe e Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

As we arrived at Poggio Tafuri last year in september, we were happily surprised by the beautiful location and the charm of this ancient house. You should see the kitchen for instance! Most of all we liked the warm hospitality by which we were received. Guiseppe and Cristina are warm personalities, they will do everything to make you feel comfortable! They make many local products by themselves, such as white wine, limoncello, cheese, marmelade and much more.
It is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are furnished with great taste and the dinners Cristina cooks are splendid! We very much enjoyed it. If you are searching for rest and you can appreciate a good meal, than this is a great place to stay! Please note that the owners do not speak English, but for us, who do not speak Italian at all, it was no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I visited B&B Poggio Tafuri in July 2011, at the end of a two-week trip through Croatia and back into Apulia for a friend's wedding. We drove from Andria at lunchtime, and as we were winding our way through the olive groves and up the cedar-lined driveway (a car is necessary for exploring the area), I couldn't help but feel as though I had been transported into the Italy I had imagined when I was younger. B&B Poggio Tafuri is located in a picturesque farmhouse/villa, whose spare but beautiful decor - tiled floors, whitewashed walls, pretty pictures propped on wooden dressers - makes you feel comfortable but well cared-for. It is carefully tended-to by the Selvarolo family, who exemplify Italian kindness and hospitality. I cannot imagine a more peaceful and rejuvenating vacation than sitting out on Poggio Tafuri's shady patio, looking into the lush garden, smelling the warm cedar, and letting the time pass.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ANON187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andria hotels
7.5 mi away
Cristal Palace Hotel
Cristal Palace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Andria
131 reviews
7.2 mi away
B&B Palazzo Ducale
B&B Palazzo Ducale
#13 of 27 in Andria
45 reviews
7.4 mi away
B&B Foresteria Pellegrino Andria,Bari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Ottagono
Hotel Ottagono
#3 of 4 in Andria
88 reviews
7.1 mi away
B&B delle Imperatrici
B&B delle Imperatrici
#6 of 27 in Andria
56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lama di Luna - Biomasseria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Poggio Tafuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Poggio Tafuri

Address: Contrada Monte dei Tremiti, Andria, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Andria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Andria
Price Range: $67 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Tafuri is more than a bed & breakfast. It is a resort.A manor house dating back to nineteenth century, included into a fascinating masseria - the typical manor farm architecture in these lands - at the limits of the Alta Murgia Park, just a few kilometres from Del Monte Castle.Since ever, Tafuri is a place where people abandon their troubles and come to a compromise with a slower time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing