We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Great!”
Review of Casale Osvalda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Osvalda
Reviewed November 5, 2013

From the moment we stepped through the gate and were greeted by Franco's smiling, warm welcome, we knew we had made the right choice for our stay in the Monferrato (if not ALL of Italy) area. We cannot say enough about the beauty of the agriturismo. Perched high on the hilltop above the small village of Alfiano Natta, we had a commanding view of the valley and picturesque villages below. Sunrises bathed the cobbled courtyard and mellow brick walls of the farm with ash new day. What a wonderful way to start the morning.

Then there was breakfast. Not your standard bread & jam often found in Italy, but organic yogurts, a variety of cheeses, specialty meats, fresh bread and their own homemade jellies, not to mention eggs cooked any way you chose. All served at a time that suited our schedule by a broadly grinning Franco or Fiorina.

Both Franco & Fiorina acted as our tour guides as well, suggesting itineraries, making restaurant reservations and even arranging a truffle hunt where we were lucky enough to "find" two rare white truffles (with the help of the dog, of course!).

Our room was lovely, appointed tastefully with a very comfortable bed. The bath as well was the best on our trip. Many touches missing in other Agriturismos & B&Bs had been added: Abundant towels and heater, hair dryer, plenty of shelf space, fantastic artistic mirror with good lighting, hooks for robes, and plenty of hot water and water pressure in the shower. Everything was immaculately clean.

We did not find out until late in our stay that Franco's grandparents were the original owners of Casale Osvalda and the Osvalda was his grandmother's name. On the dining area and office walls are the pictures of his family and the original agriturismo. Franco has painstakingly restored the buildings and courtyard literally brick by brick to the present beautiful place to stay that we had the pleasure to find.

Thank you Franco and Fiorina! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mama-Kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice and detailed feed back. We are happy to had meet you and hope one day to see you again. All the best to you two. Ciao Franco e Fiorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and looking forward to returning. Wonderful position, quirky & engaging adaption of a lovely building. Enthusiastic, committed host who wants you to love the place as much as he does. So much to see, so much to do; can't wait to return to explore and discover more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howiemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice feed back. Hope to see you again in Monferrato. All the best to you, Franco & Fiorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The large cities of Italy are wonderful but if you have a car and are into beautiful countryside, villages and wine, you must visit Piemonte and base yourselves at the wonderful Casale Osvalda in Alfiano Natta. It is 30 -45 minutes drive to Barbaresco and Barolo, two of the most famous wine villages of Italy.

We have travelled France and Italy extensively and nearly always stay in bed and breakfasts. Casale Osvalda was one of the best we have ever stayed in. The rooms are great - a good size with comfortable beds and large bathrooms with showers you just want to stay under.The breakfasts are wonderful and the views are unsurpassed.More than all of these things, however, are the hospitality and friendliness shown by the hosts, Franco and Fiorina. They are two of the nicest people you will ever meet.Stay with them for a few days and we are sure you will agree. For us, Casale Osvalda rates 5 stars.

Thank you Franco and Fiorina for a memorable stay and we hope to meet you again soon.

Jason and Anne

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Anne and Jason thank you so much for your great feed back! We are happy to meet you two and we really hope to see you again in Italy or in Australia :-)
Thanks again for your friendship and your easy style. Oh, just to tell you we just entered in the new house...you were right Jason, Franco was too positive...2 month later...but we are very happy now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from three days at Casale Osvalda. Franco and Fiorina are the perfect hosts! The panoramic views are unimaginably fantastic. The bedrooms charming, rustic yet incredibly comfortable. Franco's fresh bread and homemade marmalade are worth the stay by themselves. Next I hope to visit in fall to see the black truffles dug out of the ground.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you James for your nice feed back.
We look forward to see you again in CasaleOsvalda and hopefully, next time, with your family too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My favorite weekend escape from Milan: amazing hilltop position,this is a charming Casale, with warm Italian hospitality from the owners Franco and Fiorina. They suggested some great walking trails and amazing regional restaurants. Franco grows his own fruits and makes delicious jams and liqueurs.
A great place for relaxing and recharging your batteries, the panorama is breathtaking in summer and winter. I'm looking forward to go back autumn for the truffles.

Room Tip: I have been few times and all bedrooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much! It is always a pleasure have you here and specially this time with Jane too!!!
Grazie ragazzi ciao Franco e Fiorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Casale osvalde during our europe trip in summer of 2012. A lovely, relaxing and beutiful place to stay at, in an amazing old farm house. The service was excellent and we felt like home in our nice room and got our personal wine test from the lovely host couple. Ate som great food at a genuin italian restaurant nearby. Bought some local produced wine that we will try this cold winter. We where the first swedes here and we hope to come back some day, really enjoyed it.. !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice feed back!
We really appreciate!
Hope to see you back one day,
Caio,
Franco e Fiorina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Easily the best B&B/Agritourismo experience my wife and I have ever had! We cannot say enough about how beautiful the setting is, how clean and well appointed the rooms were and how genuinely generous the host Franco was. The farm house is set among the beautiful hills and valleys of the Piemonte region of Italy. The rooms are huge and full of charm. When you walk onto the property your jaw drops at the almost 360 degree views of the entire Italian countryside. Franco gave us some of his delicious house made wine upon arrival, set up a horseback riding tour for us completely on the fly and made us great farm fried eggs in the morning. His recommendations for restaurants were excellent and had some of the best meals ever in Italy. We will definitely be back some day with the whole family, better than any 5 star Hotel in all of Italy. Bravo Franco and Grazie Mille!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EK_CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casaleosvalda, Proprietario at Casale Osvalda, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice feed back I really appreciate your compliments.
It was very nice to meet you and hope to see you again one day.
All the best to you two,
grazie e a presto,
Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfiano Natta
3.4 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
1.1 mi away
Crealto
Crealto
#3 of 4 in Alfiano Natta
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castello di Razzano
Castello di Razzano
#1 of 4 in Alfiano Natta
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Rovelli
Casa Rovelli
#1 of 2 in Alfiano Natta
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cascina Vicentini
Cascina Vicentini
#2 of 2 in Alfiano Natta
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Osvalda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Osvalda

Address: Strada delle Are 1 | Alfiano Natta, 15021 (AL), 15021 Alfiano Natta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Alfiano Natta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alfiano Natta
Price Range: $92 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
-Affittiamo biciclette elettriche con pedalata assistita -Si accettano animali da compagnia -WIFi free -Catering per eventuali cerimonie con banchetti all'aperto -Merende senoire -Passeggiate e corsi di equitazione (anche per bambini) -Trekking e Mountain bike nei colli pietrosi del Monferrato (sentieri tracciati CAI) -Parete artificiale di arrampicata -Massaggi su prenotazione -Corsi di Yoga -Golf club 18 buche a meno di 20Km -Osservatorio astronomico -Corsi di tiro con l'arco -Visita alla cascina didattica -Percorsi sulle prealpi Biellesi con pernottamento compreso nei rifugi in quota -Organizzazione di gruppi per la ricerca del tartufo -Degustazioni in cantine di produttori locali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casale Osvalda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Osvalda Italy/Alfiano Natta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing