We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time, ride through the trails”
Review of Flying U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in 70 Mile House
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flying U Ranch
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Travel back in time, ride through the trails”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This guest ranch is full of people who return year after year for the opportunity to ride good horses on the trails, at there on pace, without the constraints of a wrangler leading a group. The cabins are real old log with only electricity and new mattresses added in the past eight or nine decades. The washrooms are shared and a short walk from the cabins. The hosts and staff couldn't be more welcoming. The entertainments were definitely venue appropriate. I would have liked more veggies and protein and a lot less carb in the all included, plated meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameraBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A group of 9 of us headed up to the Flying U Ranch, my friend and I had never been there before and didn't have a ton of experience. We were lucky to be going with a few people that had been going for years.

You really can't beat the value. For $180 a night that includes 3 meals, full day of horse back riding, entertainment in the evenings (Square dancing, bonfires, movie nights, drinks at the saloon...) incredible!

The other guests you meet staying there will often tell you they've been coming here since the mid 80's, 90's - i think that's the true testament of how great this place is.

Guest cabins are rustic. Bed, wood stove, bed side table, light, window, door. Basic but everything you could need. Meals are served in the main lodge, there is a great room where you can play cards/games.

Things to bring: Jeans (not so old that they rip when getting on your horse... how embarrassing!) Leather boots, Carrots (treats for the horse), bug spray, camera, Pillow/extra blanket - I like my fluffy pillow from home and found i was a bit cold at night (too tire to light a fire) so i was pleased to have brought a wool blanket. Other than that they have everything else you could need!

I hope more people visit this beautiful part of the province, this was my first time to the Caribou and certainly not the last. The family running the ranch does a great job, I hope it continues to thrive for many years!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Four of us spent a wonderful weekend at the Flying U. Dedicated hosts, attentive ranch hands, lovely animals. You can find high end food and accommodation anywhere in the world - this is not that - but a true and authentic western experience. And a truly unique experience is rarer than hens teeth! We spent a night in the saloon playing cards and listening to the player piano. Saturday night we learned to square dance with a diverse group of guests including a terrific group of young men celebrating a 19th birthday. We rode the range, ate steak and stayed in a pleasant little rustic cottage that reminded me of little house on the Prarie. We can't wait to go back! This place is magical.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been going to the Flying U Ranch for a number of years. It is my husbands favorite getaway. I believe its one of the very few places where you can ride unsupervised. It is a real rustic experience. I have rated the rooms and service a 4 just because I do not want to misled readers, it is no Four Seasons, but it is wonderful for what it is.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WVantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We often visit the rustic Flying U Ranch southeast of 70 Mile House, and always enjoy our holidays there. It’s Canada’s oldest guest ranch and attracts interesting visitors from throughout the world. The rustic log cabins, barn and lodge were built in the 1880’s, and many of those buildings are still in use. Their creaky floors, wood stoves and lack of plumbing exemplify B.C.’s early ranching history. (A modern bathhouse and laundry is just a short walk from the cabins.) Unfortunately, the original lodge burned to the ground a few years ago. No one was injured, but it was a devastating loss. The previous owners are back and a new log lodge is up and running, with modern amenities and an awesome stone fireplace. We’ve owned many horses over the years, and can guarantee that our Flying U visits have been the most authentic western horse holidays we’ve experienced. WARNING: Do not, under any circumstances, visit the Flying U if you have issues regarding fun, country music, dogs, trustworthy horses, making new friends, home cooking, wildlife, beer, fishing, trail riding, or magnificent sunsets.

Room Tip: Chose a cabin half-way from the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vlfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near 70 Mile House
7.6 mi away
Attwood Creek Ranch
Attwood Creek Ranch
#1 of 6 in Lone Butte
5 reviews
11.7 mi away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#14 of 47 in Cariboo
43 reviews
18.1 mi away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Super 8 100 Mile House
Super 8 100 Mile House
#2 of 7 in 100 Mile House
216 reviews
22.2 mi away
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa
Spruce Hill Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in 108 Mile Ranch
256 reviews
15.6 mi away
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
Westwood Motel 100 Mile House
#1 of 7 in 100 Mile House
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying U Ranch

Property: Flying U Ranch
Address: 5947 Green Lake North Rd, 70 Mile House, British Columbia V0K 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > 70 Mile House
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in 70 Mile House
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing