We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Wow" Wonderful four days”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Amanzi Beach House

A little piece of heaven...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A little piece of heaven...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A little piece of heaven...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Umzumbe, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ballard20...
Hillcrest, South Africa
2 reviews
“"Wow" Wonderful four days”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My brother and wife visiting from Wales, a friend and I booked into Amanzi for a few days.
We were warmly welcomed by Carol, Peter and of course "Hugo" .
Being shown through this tastefully decorated guest house was amazing, and then on to the deck overlooking the lagoon out to sea was breath taking.
Memories of early morning walks on the beach accompanied by "Hugo" close to hand and always keen to chase his ball - back to the tranquility of Amanzi with a plunge into the pool on deck followed by breakfast overlooking the ocean will certainly bring us back again. Thanks to Management and staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous facilities
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
With breathtaking 180 degree views from every room, it's easy to understand why guests book with us when they want to show their overseas guest the splendour of the Natal coastline.
When we got Hugo from the SPCA, we just wanted to give a dog a good home. It's amazing the impact he's had on our guests and how many mention the joy he brought to their holiday and ask about his well-being. We even had a guest (or two) ask if they could take him back home overseas! Perhaps we should should open a twitter or facebook account for him :)
Carol and Peter send their regards and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfbear8...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Paradise on the beach”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family and I decided to visit the south coast for a change and booked in at Amanzi beach house and WOW what a gem a stones throw from the beach and a short walk from the swimming area. The views from the rooms were magnificent and we were even lucky to watch some dolphins swimming by as the sun was rising ( seems that even on vacation we still rise early). Hugo the resident pet was an absolutely well mannered and friendly dog and went for lovely walks with us on the beach and was fantastic with our kids. We look forward to visiting again soon and I would highly recommend staying there to all my friends and family. Thank you Carol and staff for a great stay and look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spectacular views from the rooms and friendly staff
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
The dolphins certainly do know how to make an impression! So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hugo would like me to let you know that he's available for a walk at any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmdrtr
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Absolutely wonderful experience! House is beautiful and views are breathtaking! Saw whales frolicking in the ocean. Rode the zipline at Oribi gorge! One of the best vacations we have ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
After suggesting the zip-lining to so many of our guests, I finally mustered the courage to do it myself. WOW, unforgettable! The views were amazing - if your brave enough to open your eyes :)
Love the fact that staying at Amanzi offers you the option of an action packed holiday or a chilled getaway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morris5_f...
Littleport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to unwind with family .”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect place to stay .There is ample space for a larger group .A beautiful setting with a short walk to a lovely quiet beach.The house is very well furnished and has everything that we needed..The house is spacious with good open areas.There is a great deck overlooking the ocean .There is a lot to do around the area from beaches to Oribi Gorge and Durban is only an hour away.Would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Amanzi in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing