We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy Backpackers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umzumbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cosy Backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Mantis & Moon Backpackers is a nice place for Surfers, because you are very close to a beautiful Beach with good waves.

The staff ist always friendly and helpful.

The backpackers is build up like a jungle camp. Everything is handmade with love to details. Sadly, Our dobble bed room was very small.

If you like a cosy and crazy Place with a Hippie athmosphere- you will Love it.
If you like very convenient and clean rooms - choose another hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    17
    14
    9
See reviews for
3
37
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jirnsum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had an amazing time at Mantis and Moon! Very open and friendly people. I became one of them during the time i was there. I felt very welcome and because i traveled alone it was extra nice they payed attention to me.
It was if i entered a fairy tail in the jungle in the middle of nowhere. Beautiful cottages everywhere with a swimming pool, bar, chill room, fireplace and the walk to the beach in 2 minutes. While you're laying on your back next to the swimming pool enjoying your cocktail, the monkeys are jumping above you.......
Some evenings they had theme nights. You could enjoy the party or chilling in the jacuzzi. Or just sit around the fire place. Watching the stars.
During the day they bring you to excursions also (if there are enough people).
I did the jump from a waterfall. Very cool!

I really had the time of my life, and because of that i went back to mantis and Moon 6 months later to work there for a month. And i tried to give the guests the same feeling as i had when i was there.

I really would recommend this place!

Greets Kim

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place is set in Umzumbe, but its a little hidden piece of paradise! All the times (and there has been a few- as its a 'go-again' type of place) I have felt nothing but at home, with friendly staff superb accommodation. With the right kind of vibe, and the sea just a 2 min walk away..what could be better? I will sure make my way there again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar area is quieter if you want to rest instead of socialize
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarybliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The backpackers is very homey and was a nice break in our trip from Durban to Coffee Bay. The hostel has a great vibe and the staff are very friendly and great to have a beer or two with. The bed was comfy and everything was clean. They have a kitchen so you can cook your own food, but if you haven't brought your own with you you will have to take their shuttle as the local shop only seems to stock bananas and packet soup.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller41CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rooms were dark and dingy with one tiny mirror in the bathroom. No fan and we had the "best" room. No towels, not even a hand towel! Sheets were old and looked like they hadn't been washed. My pillow STANK. Staff seemed to be there to have a party and when I asked for a cocktail at the bar (they advertised six different kinds on a chalkboard), the barman told me he didn't know how to make them and that cocktails weren't his speciality. I ordered a Savana Dry instead, and when I asked for a slice of lemon with it, he rolled his eyes and said they didn't have any. You'd swear I had asked for caviar and champagne!
The setting and scenery of the place is beautiful and it has so much potential, but it desperately needs to sort out the cleanliness issue.
We paid R540.00 for our room and I don't think we got great value at all. You could pay that to stay at a clean b&b with towels and clean linen. I seriously couldn't wait to leave because I felt so dirty and grubby. Our room was the best on offer and in a treehouse, which sounds great, except we were right next to the bar which pumped loud music until 3am.
The one thing possibly saving this place is the carefree backpacker/traveller vibe, but I fear that if they continue ripping people off, they will lose that clientele too.
The only fond memory we have of The Mantis and Moon was seeing it in our rear view mirror as we drove away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KezleRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is obviously run by, well, nobody!! Staff don't care about anything . The place is dirty beyond belief. You are paying B&B prices R540 per night for a double room. Not worth R100. I would have preferred to sleep in my car. At least the party that lasted till 3am would not have kept me awake!!!

AVOID AVOID AVOID !!!! Seriously AVOID !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abainborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I visited Mantis and Moon again after a year and it delivered as always. It really is a hidden gem that I think a lot of people miss! The place is in a little jungle. I love all the chill out areas, hammocks, sun loungers etc and as usual we had a great night in the bar. My only suggestion would be fans in the rooms, it was incredibly hot when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umzumbe
0.4 mi away
Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp
6.4 mi away
Lombok Lodge
Lombok Lodge
#2 of 18 in Port Shepstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
7.2 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bembridge Farm Inn
Bembridge Farm Inn
#4 of 5 in Umzumbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pumula Surf Camp
Pumula Surf Camp
#2 of 5 in Umzumbe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge

Property: Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge
Address: 7/178 Station Road, Umzumbe 4225, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umzumbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Umzumbe
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantis & Moon BackPacker's The ORIGINAL Surf & Yoga Lodge that has been growing from strength to strength since 1999. The German owner has travelled all over the world, gathering inspiration, to create something unique & spactacular! This is something that you have never experienced before & probably never will! A jungle oasis that feels as if you have fallen into a dream world. A hidden island of bungalows lead by wooden walkways, you would want to get lost here for days. From glass tree houses that allow you to see the monkeys play in the tree tops, to the incredible yoga studio, this establishment has it all. Swim in the rock pool, play a game of pool in the jungle bar or chill in one of our many chill areas, there is something for everone. MAny activities & adventure await just around the corner from the beach... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mantis & Moon Backpackers Hotel Umzumbe
Mantis And Moon Backpackers Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing