We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umzumbe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I visited Mantis and Moon again after a year and it delivered as always. It really is a hidden gem that I think a lot of people miss! The place is in a little jungle. I love all the chill out areas, hammocks, sun loungers etc and as usual we had a great night in the bar. My only suggestion would be fans in the rooms, it was incredibly hot when we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

we arrived at Mantis&Moon full of great expectations, but once there we were pretty disappointed. The place is very nice, inside a banana trees jungle. Could be very charming, but it's tremendously dirty. there are 5 big and stinky dogs (but peaceful). the lounge area smells at dirty dogs anche the kitchen is always a mess. The young staff seems to be there to do for its own holidays. the beach isn't so special. no powerpoint in the rooms. the water in the pool was green-brown. definitey overvalued.

Room Tip: try the tree houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gasp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We loved this place. First we stayed in a double, which was quite small and dark. We changed to the treehouse which was GREAT! Very cool! Very nicely made and spacious, nice bath, bed with mozzie net..(see photo's)..definately the coolest room I've ever seen in a hostel! The staff is very friendly. The hostel is spead out in the jungle. Everything is made of wood and there a some nice details, especially in the bar! Which is very cool. Nice places all around to chill out, like on the sundeck, next to the pool or in the jacuzzi (is turned on when a minimum of 4 people want to use it). Kitchen is ok. They have 5 big dogs hanging out (there is even a doggie treehouse), so I you are a dog-phobic, better stay away. You can park your car behind a gate and they said there is also a night guard. Very helpfull staff. Only a short walk to a (guarded) beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Amazing location in a rainforest, with lots of 'chill out' spaces amongst the trees. Nice bar area, swimming pool and hot tub (although I doubt this ever gets used as there has to be a min of 4 people wanting to use it, and you have to sign up by 1pm). Room was ok - we had to be moved as there was no power to where we were meant to be staying (they knew this, but we still were checked into the room with no power, and then had to ask to be moved). Bit of a glorified garden shed with a corrugated tin roof that was SO noisy during the night. Felt like the forest was falling down around us. And there was bird poo on our sheets :(

Massively let down by lack of services... they say that they offer food, and there are menus up on the walls, yet they don't seem to make any of there things. No food offered first night, and on our second night the surf instructor was cooking the dinner - beef curry, no veggie option. The other issue was with the staff. They were friendly enough, however they were much more friendly with each other, and as the staff outnumbered the guests by about 10 to 1, we were left feeling like we were intruding a lot of the time. They seemed more concerned chatting and socialising with one another and ignored the guests more often than not. However there was an English girl (Becky?!?) who was very helpful.

All in all, I would say that the coast to coast guide builds up your expectations a little bit too much for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank februaryhove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. The first was okay, but on the second we signed up for their dinner which was supposed to be lasagne and home made bread - when we returned from a day of sightseeing we were informed it would be KFC and we were not pleased. To make matters worse, when we went to have it it was not even KFC - it was a grocery store chicken (which we said no to as it was disgusting, fatty, and grey). No apologies were given and we were left without a choice for food as there is very little else in the area and next to nothing on a Sunday night - instead we had cereal.
The rooms were cute, but very mildewy - and the bathrooms were just okay in the double rooms. They were outside - nice - but no private as neighbors across from the backpackers could have seen in from their windows.
I'd look for somewhere else on this strip to stay - not a great experience and if you do stay you definitely need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here, and found it to be one of the most amazing and hospitable places we have stayed. The staff are excellent, the food is delicious, and Andy, the owner, really looked after us. I highly recommend it to everyone. Its more than a backpackers, everyone should visit - backpacker or family with kids, these guys can accommodate you in a tree house cottage, awesome double rooms, or even a Tee Pee. And they accommodate surfers with rental boards and the surf is out of this world. Its an experience you don't want to miss.

Room Tip: Go for the tree house cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amapondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

mantis and moon is one of kind backpackers. everything is made out of wood giving a really rusticy loved feel, it's just so awesome! the rooms are decorated with shells, so unqiue! and the bed are super comfy! they have 6 dogs who are all really friendly so you feel welcome as soon as you walk through the gates. the bar is so cool and the staff are super friendly and make you feel at home. i travelled to several different backpackers but mantis and moon remined my favorite! they are right near the beach which is a nice quiet spot with good waves, meaning you can surf/ sunbathe in peace! another thing i loved was all the chill out spots, my favorite being the rock pool which was a perfect spot to chill with friends and have a swim. i loved the jaccuiz and the bar tender even offers to bring you drinks! i recommend this backpackers to all travellers who want something that is chilled but a party at the same time!

Room Tip: if staying with a group of friends make sure to get the treehouse dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umzumbe hotels
0.4 mi away
Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp
1.0 mi away
Pumula Surf Camp
Pumula Surf Camp
#2 of 5 in Umzumbe
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bembridge Farm Inn
Bembridge Farm Inn
#4 of 5 in Umzumbe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantis & Moon Backpackers Lodge

Address: 7/178 Station Road, Umzumbe 4225, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umzumbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Umzumbe
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantis & Moon BackPacker's The ORIGINAL Surf & Yoga Lodge that has been growing from strength to strength since 1999. The German owner has travelled all over the world, gathering inspiration, to create something unique & spactacular! This is something that you have never experienced before & probably never will! A jungle oasis that feels as if you have fallen into a dream world. A hidden island of bungalows lead by wooden walkways, you would want to get lost here for days. From glass tree houses that allow you to see the monkeys play in the tree tops, to the incredible yoga studio, this establishment has it all. Swim in the rock pool, play a game of pool in the jungle bar or chill in one of our many chill areas, there is something for everone. MAny activities & adventure await just around the corner from the beach... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mantis & Moon Backpackers Hotel Umzumbe
Mantis And Moon Backpackers Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing