We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have stayed here now a couple of times, once in the winter sport season (2013) and once in the closed season. Hospitality and facilities are wonderful. We have already booked for a family trip in 2014. We liked the 3/4 board (breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner) during the skiing season. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, the food and wine delicious. The wellness facilities are most relaxing. The hotel is also dog-friendly.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank chrisjlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed a week at Castle Sonnenberg in september of 2012. It was fabulous, a dream really. We generally love the region surrounding the dolomite mountains, but had often stayed on the austrian side of the border. This was our first time in Sud Tirol and we absolutely loved it. The rooms were very comfortable and the food was excellent. Wide ranging breakfasts, cakes in the afternoon, and several choices for dinner, with salad and cheeses.

The grounds of the hotel were lovely. The sun could get quite hot in the afternoon, but ample trees made for lovely shaded area. Plus the pool was always clean and refreshing. This place was a real treat and I would love to return.

Room Tip: We found the family room to be very comfortable. More romantic rooms are available, but we needed s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night in this incredibly beautiful hotel situated on the top of a hill in the Sud-Tirol. It is a medieval convent which has been turned into a hotel. I requested a smaller room simply because I was staying one night with my seven-year-old son. Even if it was 'small' it was very cosy, clean and very comfortable with a charming relaxation area. The bathroom was a good size and spotless and the windows looked out over the mountains and the nearby village.
The reception staff and hotel manager were extremely friendly and helpful. The open-air swimming pool located 100 m outside the hotel in the beautiful garden overlooks the mountains and the view from inside the pool is just breathtaking. The indoor spa area has been cut out of the mountain and is very atmospheric. The dinner and staff's readiness to let my son try some of the dishes before bringing his portion was extremely positive.
As far as breakfast is concerned, what can I say? An incredible breakfast buffet with everything one could possibly imagine, with the possibility to sit in the stone courtyard and simply enjoy the air, quality of food and atmosphere.
There is also a very beautiful herb garden, similar to how it was once kept when the structure was a convent. There are lots of romantic and charming nooks to read a book and enjoy it all. It is also a great place to go alone and relax.
I very much hope to be able to spend several days at the hotel in the near future. Worth every cent - especially if one takes advantage of all the services on offer. I have travelled extensively both for work and pleasure and have to say that the Schloss Sonnenburg is definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, on every level.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gastrobologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel, for the structure, location and views is amazing. One just needs to look at the pictures to understand why. The small rooms are nothing fancy, but this can be forgiven in such a particular building. Food is plenty and superb. Service is TOP, always. The spa is marvellous. Very comfortable the shuttle to the ski pists of Plan de Corones (it takes 15 mins and run every 30 mins).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The place is absolutely stunning with very friendly staff. The new outside pool is located at a different level and is incredible. Lots of places to see and go for hiking in the summer. The spa is located at the lower level and a relaxing massage is recommended after hiking. We would come back also in winter.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed in many great hotels around the world but this was memorable for all the right reasons. Excellent stay in every respect. Marcus, hotel manager was an excellent host. Superb hotel facilities, including brand new and very modern outdoor infinite pool. Very, very modern rooms - contemporary within a very real historic setting. Proved to be an excellent base from which to access all of northern Dolomites, far better environment than Cortina. Brunico is worth exploring with some very good eating options.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We would like to begin by recommending Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg to anyone who would enjoy exceptional hospitality, great food and wine, a delightful and relaxing spa, and easy access to the Dolmites (whether for ski or summer hiking), not to mention great value for money. The staff were amongst the most delightful and helpful of any place we have stayed, and clearly all loved what they were doing. We enjoyed incredible food every morning and evening, and in between took full advantage of the skiing nearby and wellness centre on site. After dinner we would sit by the fireplace, able to chat with the guests, enjoy a drink or just meditate. The ancient convent still carries its full share of charm and history, which has been carefully maintained. We booked a classic room, but since we lacked a view and the hotel wasn't full, we were upgraded quickly and without cost to a room with stunning views of the mountains. The newly renovated rooms are absolutely wonderful, well equipped, with bathrooms and tubs to luxuriate in, and all in undisturbed peace and quiet. Clearly the other guests we met felt the same way, as many of them were returning guests. An enthusiastic thumbs up for the hotel and staff! We will return at the earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb_mb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo di Sebato
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lanerhof
Hotel Lanerhof
#2 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
1,272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
#1 of 12 in Riscone
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Langgenhof
Hotel Langgenhof
#6 of 34 in Brunico
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Winklerhotel Winkler
Winklerhotel Winkler
#1 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
575 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hoerschwang
Hoerschwang
#10 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Martinerhof Hotel
Martinerhof Hotel
#3 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg

Address: Sonnenburg 38 | 39030 St. Lorenzen/San Lorenzo di Sebato, 39030 San Lorenzo di Sebato, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Lorenzo di Sebato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Lorenzo di Sebato
Price Range: $328 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnenburg castle stand high upon a hill near the confluence of the rivers Rienz and Gader. Each of the 38 rooms and suites tells a different story and offers a different view of the castle and landscape. For a relaxing vacations cares among other things the traditional and vital- Mediterranean cuisine, the well-kept gardens with various sun terraces as well as the heated 28° outdoor swimming pool. In addition to that in the Spa area, which is affectionately integrated in the old masonry of the castle and distributed on three floors, the guests will find a steam bath, a bio sauna, a Finnish sauna and an outdoor sauna. Our 30° indoor pool invites the guests to a relaxing swim. During the winter the own hotel shuttle takes the guests directly to the ski area Kronplatz every half an hour. In Addition the guests can rent rucksacks, hiking poles, maps and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing