We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel, for the structure, location and views is amazing. One just needs to look at the pictures to understand why. The small rooms are nothing fancy, but this can be forgiven in such a particular building. Food is plenty and superb. Service is TOP, always. The spa is marvellous. Very comfortable the shuttle to the ski pists of Plan de Corones (it takes 15 mins and run every 30 mins).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The place is absolutely stunning with very friendly staff. The new outside pool is located at a different level and is incredible. Lots of places to see and go for hiking in the summer. The spa is located at the lower level and a relaxing massage is recommended after hiking. We would come back also in winter.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed in many great hotels around the world but this was memorable for all the right reasons. Excellent stay in every respect. Marcus, hotel manager was an excellent host. Superb hotel facilities, including brand new and very modern outdoor infinite pool. Very, very modern rooms - contemporary within a very real historic setting. Proved to be an excellent base from which to access all of northern Dolomites, far better environment than Cortina. Brunico is worth exploring with some very good eating options.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We would like to begin by recommending Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg to anyone who would enjoy exceptional hospitality, great food and wine, a delightful and relaxing spa, and easy access to the Dolmites (whether for ski or summer hiking), not to mention great value for money. The staff were amongst the most delightful and helpful of any place we have stayed, and clearly all loved what they were doing. We enjoyed incredible food every morning and evening, and in between took full advantage of the skiing nearby and wellness centre on site. After dinner we would sit by the fireplace, able to chat with the guests, enjoy a drink or just meditate. The ancient convent still carries its full share of charm and history, which has been carefully maintained. We booked a classic room, but since we lacked a view and the hotel wasn't full, we were upgraded quickly and without cost to a room with stunning views of the mountains. The newly renovated rooms are absolutely wonderful, well equipped, with bathrooms and tubs to luxuriate in, and all in undisturbed peace and quiet. Clearly the other guests we met felt the same way, as many of them were returning guests. An enthusiastic thumbs up for the hotel and staff! We will return at the earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb_mb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo di Sebato
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lanerhof
Hotel Lanerhof
#1 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
1,139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sporthotel Winkler
Sporthotel Winkler
#2 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
449 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Onach
Hotel Onach
#5 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Petrus
Hotel Petrus
#2 of 12 in Riscone
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Martinerhof Hotel
Martinerhof Hotel
#3 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
#1 of 12 in Riscone
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg

Property: Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg
Address: Sonnenburg 38 | 39030 St. Lorenzen/San Lorenzo di Sebato, 39030 San Lorenzo di Sebato, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Lorenzo di Sebato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Lorenzo di Sebato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonnenburg castle stand high upon a hill near the confluence of the rivers Rienz and Gader. Each of the 38 rooms and suites tells a different story and offers a different view of the castle and landscape. For a relaxing vacations cares among other things the traditional and vital- Mediterranean cuisine, the well-kept gardens with various sun terraces as well as the heated 28° outdoor swimming pool. In addition to that in the Spa area, which is affectionately integrated in the old masonry of the castle and distributed on three floors, the guests will find a steam bath, a bio sauna, a Finnish sauna and an outdoor sauna. Our 30° indoor pool invites the guests to a relaxing swim. During the winter the own hotel shuttle takes the guests directly to the ski area Kronplatz every half an hour. In Addition the guests can rent rucksacks, hiking poles, maps and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schloss Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing