We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing staying for families”
Review of Sporthotel Winkler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sporthotel Winkler
Certificate of Excellence
Venice
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing staying for families”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent 6 days in this hotel during summer 2012. The hotel is very clean and our room was big enough for two adults and our two babies. We recommend this hotel especially to families with young children because it is well organized with children menus, play rooms, a big garden and a good entertainment program for babies (> 3 years old). There is even a SPA and a very nice solarium. The location is good because it is possible to reach the main touristic locations around easily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    114
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
206
159
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I booked this after looking for somewhere for us to enjoy the mountains and check out the skiing for Christmas.

The hotel is nothing to look at from the front, but the back overlooks stunning scenery with lots of sunbeds to choose from. We had standard double rooms which were a bit cramped but ours had a great view. They were very clean with lots of storage space. The whole hotel was very well kept.

The indoor pool was more for playing in than swimming, I always wish I'd found places like this when my teenagers were younger but they enjoyed the pool anyway and we liked the steam and the sauna room (as usual you weren't allowed your swimmies on!). Lots of walking but beware it's 80 euros to travel up the Kronplatz which seems very expensive. (We paid 20 euros for the whole family in Sesto.) Bike hire was good, 7 euros a day for the really good mountain bikes. Gym is OK, does the basics, not huge but the best view from a gym I've seen for a while!

I didn't realise there were teenage activites, which were good, but they are all quite pricey. (The thing the kids liked best was the zipwire in St Viglio which was 45 euro each but really worth doing, although we did this independently.)

Brunico was lovely, lots of shops and cafes and worth a wander.

The food was very good, not overwhelming and not overly fussy like some of the sporthotels we've stayed in in Austria.

The hotel is family run and 'Mrs Winkler' is very helpful and friendly. Some of the staff could do with warming up a bit, but in general the staff are excellent.

A few whinges... every other hotel we stayed in during our 'tour' was more than happy to put tap water in carafes on the table, but we ended up paying nearly 30 euros for three nights of bottled water here, which when you are drinking wine and cokes is annoying. There are cakes in the afternoon left out but you pay for these (3 euro), so why leave them out getting warm when if you wanted one you would order one? My husband and son went on a 1.5 hour guided bike tour on our last morning, and I was asked for 14 euro cash for the use of the bikes (Ie the whole day), when there were a good few left in the basement and we had hired 4 the day before.

Overall a very positive experience. Lots of babies and young kids though so definitely a family hotel.

Room Tip: I would go for something slighlty bigger than standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

it was just perfect.
My wife and I, got to the hotel without knowing where are we coming.was our first time in Italy, and we wanted to have a peaceful place and with good service and commodities.
the people in this hotel are just beautiful and the nicest ever, the saunas and Jacuzzi are amazing.
bottom line we had our honey moon in Heaven!..
We totally are recommending to all our friends this place! :)
thank you Winkler sport hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoevenen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We ( my friends and family ) are guests from this hotel since 2001. We come 2 or 3 times a year, in summer and winter. Always friendly staff, good service, very good rooms, good food, good wellness and pool, very good connections to Austria, rest of Italy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lorenzo di Sebato
3.5 mi away
Wellnesshotel Sonnenhof - Winklerhotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lanerhof
Hotel Lanerhof
#1 of 10 in San Lorenzo di Sebato
1,153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Petrus
Hotel Petrus
#2 of 12 in Riscone
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Excelsior Dolomites Life Resort
1.2 mi away
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
#1 of 12 in Riscone
490 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Monika
Hotel Monika
#1 of 26 in Sesto
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Winkler

Property: Sporthotel Winkler
Address: Localita San Stefano 28a, 39030 San Lorenzo di Sebato, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Lorenzo di Sebato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Lorenzo di Sebato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winkler Sport Hotel is a jewel of hospitality in the heart of South Tyrol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sporthotel Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing