We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lavers Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melba Gully Cottage Flower Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Lavers Hill B&B and Inns
Ashland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Got to Cottage Flower Farm, late in the day, based on looking at a list from the information center. PS- the info centers on the great ocean road are a GREAT resource. What a wonderful surprise. Up in the rain forest, just 1 KM from Melba Gully. And the garden areas, just amazing. Virginia and Bob are serious gardeners, both the vege garden, and the flowers and trees. Its an amazing outdoor space to wander around in. If you want TV and wi-fi, this is the wrong place. If you want a true retreat, this is it. It was a cool, rainy evening, so Virginia lit the wood stove to warm the place up. Great room, great bed, great breakfast, reasonable price. The best tea I had in Australia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband and my parents in their late 50's. Virginia was very welcoming and made us tea and coffee when we arrived and was kind enough to let us re-freeze the ice blocks from our chilly bin. The rooms, although basic, were comfortable and perfect for a nights B&B on the road. We had plenty of toast and jam for breakfast and enjoyed having a look around the beautiful gardens and trying to work out what all the fruit and veggies were.
Beautiful, peaceful location and given half a chance my dad would have happily sat on the deck here for a week!!!
Perfectly located to get to the Otway Fly and then back down towards the lighthouse whilst driving the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We paid $150 per room per night and we didn't even get bacon in the breakfast. You should expect cereal and scrambled eggs. Tasty enough, but for that price I really expected a bit more. Otherwise it was all quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our night at this home....The hosts were lovely and attentive, they welcomed our toddler who is quite rambunctious. The bed was comfy and the water in the shower lovely and hot. We lit the wood fire, as we feel the cold although they are used to it. Our daughter was especially happy to see the two friendly dogs and explore the Gardens.
As a previous reviewer mentioned, breakfast was not the high point. The jams were nice to try, however there is only white bread/toast (which I detest) and the scrambled eggs were a serious letdown....although my husband was happy to try both a duck and chicken egg sunny side up. They grow some lovely herbs and veggies so I was surprised dinner was not on offer or in some way used in breakfast. If you are fine with cereal and what was mentioned above you will enjoy this. Luckily we had bought some fruit to eat from home. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would stay again. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy, there were a few cobwebs, but what else do you expect for the location? it kind of added to the charm. Be warned that if you want dinner in town, the roadhouse/pub serves from 6-8, you are kind of out of luck if you miss this, so come prepared with other food.

Room Tip: There are two queen rooms to choose from, they are located on either side of a joint living/breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked Melba Gully B&B because we were planning to see the Melba Gully glow worms. The glow worm not really worth seeing but we were lucky to have stayed at this cottage! One our arrival, Virginia served us tea and coffee, allow us to enjoy the tea at her peaceful and beautiful garden. The breakfast include a variety of homemade jam which were so yummy that we bought 3 different flavours. Virginia also gave us a lot of useful travel info around the area. A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2theMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just happened across Melba cottages on our way to 12 apostles. beautiful home and gardens.Bob and Virginia our hosts booked us in to local hotel for dinner and suggested we see glow worms on our return from dinner, what a sight to see. when we got back had a cuppa in front of open fire in sitting room before going to our room which was very comfy. In morning had fresh eggs and home made jams overlooking pond with ducks and beautiful garden.Could easily have stayed there for day, so relaxing and peaceful. Thanks Virginia and Bob we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blossom324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Our stay at Melba Gully Cottage was memorable, but not in the usual sense of the word. The best way to describe the room was spartan. We had no place to put our clothes, no chest of drawers, no dresser, nothing. There was no TV, no radio, no clock. There was a small wooden chair in the corner, with a lopsided stuffed seat, providing support to one cheek only. It would be more comfortable to have sat on a fire hydrant!

We were advised that the house was solar heated but the room had no heater and it was a chlly night - we were cold. We were told there wasn't enough elactricity to operate a dryer. We were provided a single wafer of soap, and a stiff towel.

Most amusingly, there was a pair of men's underwear by the chair. We debated whether to mention it to our hostess, Virginia, but decided not to embarass her about the poor housekeeping. The next morning, as we were about to drive away, Virginia came running up the walkway waving the underwear. I advised her they belonged to a prior guest. We laughed a long time over that, we had tried to be so discreet.

Breakfast was 2 slices of toast and a variety of tasty homemade jams. We should have passed on the scrambled eggs, slimy and runny.

The grounds were lovely and the jam was good. That's about it for the positives.

Message to Virginia - you are in the wrong business.
Message to travellers - keep driving!

Andy McLean
Nova Scotia, Canada

Room Tip: Don't stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mongogerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavers Hill
2.7 mi away
Fauna Australia Wildlife Retreat
1.5 mi away
Otway Junction Motor Inn
Otway Junction Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Lavers Hill
39 reviews
7.5 mi away
Southern Anchorage Retreat
Southern Anchorage Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wattle Hill
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Glenaire Cottages
Glenaire Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenaire
70 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Boomerangs at Johanna
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melba Gully Cottage Flower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba Gully Cottage Flower Farm

Property: Melba Gully Cottage Flower Farm
Address: 20 Melba Gully Rd, Lavers Hill, Victoria 3238, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Lavers Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lavers Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Melba Gully Cottage Flower Farm Australia/Lavers Hill - Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing