We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loisaba Star Beds
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joskaki Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
116
6
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
6
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesunique experienceentire placethe main attractionsamburu warriorsonce in a lifetimetented camphot waternight stayfalling asleepthe kitchen staffdriver guidewild animalsincredible stayoff roada real treatgrevy's zebra
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 126 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Loisaba for our 1st ever safari to Kenya. We wanted somewhere remote, off the beaten track, but luxurious. Loisaba wilderness offered all of this and more! From the moment we arrived until the moment we had to leave (very much wanted to stay!) Kirsty and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome and couldn't do more for us. Nothing was a bother, every second wonderful. Our only problem is that if we ever get to return to Kenya, anyplace we stay will be unfairly compared to the wonderful time we had at Loisaba.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank real_jarhead_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My family and I (husband + two adult children) had four days at Loisaba last October and oh, what a place to be. Within two hours of arriving in Kenya we were out on our first drive! Magical is the only word to describe it. We were treated so well, with laughter and kindness the whole time. Nothing was too much trouble. We did so much and saw a lot and could have stayed there forever.
The Star beds in the hills is a must. We had such a laugh there ending up doing the Masai dance and the sky at night is beyond belief. The animal noises were interesting too!
Yosef, our guide, was brilliant and really went the extra mile. He made up a game of spear the lion and we all played it even the chef and other staff – such a laugh.
We learnt to light a bush fire, rode camels, rode horses, full breakfast by the river, went tracking, went river rafting, so much.
The rooms were clean and lovely with the most magnificent view (Mount Kenya in the distance) and a lovely verandah to sit on.
The food is fairly simple but very good. My son is a vegetarian and they catered very well for him.
The bar staff were excellent and Brown came with us on our night drive which was fascinating ending with hot chocolate down by the waterfall – lovely.
The swimming pool was very refreshing and relaxing.
We didn’t have any mosquitoes or insects. The animals were amazing, in fact there is nothing bad I can say about it. Everything was more than we had dreamed of.
Kirsty runs a tight ship but all the staff were happy and interested in what you had seen even although they must have heard it a 100 times! Tea at 4pm was so quaint and appreciated before one’s evening outing. I would highly recommend anyone going on safari to go to Loisaba. I cannot praise it enough. It stole a piece of our hearts and gave us the most amazing memories to keep.

Definitely, definitely a 5 star place. Don’t go to Kenya without going there!

Room Tip: Not too many rooms and all have verandahs and magnificent views. Just to be there is enough, no need to worry about which room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This review is embarassingly a year and a half overdue, but it is worthy of a 5 star reveiw. Three weeks in Kenya and Tanzania were a treat in December 2010 for my husband and me, but Losiaba was the place where Africa became a part of our heart and soul. Losiaba's greatest asset is that it is intimate in experience, but an expansive playground to play. From the moment we landed Allastair and company made sure that we felt like family.

The rooms are well apointed wtih rustic elegance instead of opulent luxury. I can't imagine anything else would be appropriate in this idyllic location. THe views are spectacular and beds were comfy. Food was simple and delicious served family style. This offered many opportunities to meet the expats, travellers and staff and hear their wonderful stories. Drinks by the fire kept coming and we laughed for hours!

Everything you have heard about the Starbeds is true. We made wonderful friends with other guests, who I am still friends with today, thanks to Facebook. The experience is one of a kind and not to be missed if you visit Loisaba.

We also took a camel ride and it was a unique addition to our trip. We also enjoyed massages at the spa which were reasonable and relaxing.

Daily game drives with Lenny and Simon were a treat. We were able to see the elusive wild dogs and even saw a kill! While the viewing is not as plentiful as the Massai Mara, the feel of true adventure was what made it so special. We often wondered how these guides knew where to go in the absence of true roads, and they were very well informed. Hearing about thier families, the local villages, and even seeing local villagers as you rode around, was our only authentic expreience in Africa. (we loved our Massai village visit in Amboseli, but it felt forced and like a show.. this was very different to just coexist with the local villagers).

It is difficult to describe the magic of Loisaba, but you must trust me and the other reviewers who attest to the beauty of her land and customer service that goes above and beyond your expectations. You should make time to visit. Don't attempt to drive.... it is worht the extra cash for Safarilink.

We would love know where Allistair ended up. We would travel there just to enjoy another adventure in his company:)

Our safari planner gave us a few dozen brochures, and this one stuck out... immediately. Thanks to Trip Avisor, we knew that this place was a must on our trip. We cannot wait to return one day.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

As part of our Kenyan holiday, stayed at the Star Beds (Kiboko) for 2 nights & it was a brilliant experience! Overlooking the water hole, sleeping under the stars on the Cart like bed on the Platform, with the roof as the sky (there was a transparent mosquito net) listening to the Hippos was a one off experience.

Very private, hardly see an other vehilce on your safari.

The staff were great - Lenny was our guide & he's a great guy. Moses helped out in the restaurant. We even danced in the evenings to some Samburu music!

Other than the game drives, the sundowners went on a
- Horse Ride: Really cool.
- Camel Ride: not my cup of tea as too slow.
- Morning Walk - With the guard & his gun. Definitely recommend this.

The highlight was seeing a Cheetah a few metres from our nest !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hegde_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We live in Nairobi and have travelled widely. Loisaba is unique.

We spent 3 nights there in early January, with our children (aged 9 and 12). Highpoints: stunning views from our verandah and the public areas (panoramas of over 100 miles including the peak of Mount Kenya each day but also down to the watering hole beneath our room); varied, great gamespotting with no one else around (leopard from the hide, pride of lions from 10 metres, elephants walking past our star bed, hyena, jackals, klippspringer, etc etc), expert guide who tailored his pitch to what we wanted to know (Lenny); tailormade activities which engaged both the kids and us (horseriding, rafting, camelride); amazing game breakfast by the river; vista of stars from the starbed with noises of lions, hyenas, elephants at different times through night. One of those memories for life.

Great, creative, varied food; privacy squared; easygoing, friendly hosting from Kirsty & Isabella, with a real finger on the pulse of every detail; this is a place where you can really relax as all the details (& troubleshooting) is handled by others.

One small niggle - please improve the driving instructions for self drive clients & a signpost or five on the conservancy would help too.

Highly, highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordPeterWimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews