We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sosian Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$292
$207
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
$175
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$41
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$21
Jumia Travel
View Deal
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Joskaki Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
$27
Jumia Travel
View Deal
$106
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)(Great Value!)
$327
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
153
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild dogsthe rivergame drivesfillet of beefthe main housebush dinnerlovely lodgeexciting activitieslaikipia plateauland roveron the rockswonderful experiencecamel trekkingloved every minuteroaring log firefabulous placedelicious food
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 153 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have stayed at Sosian a few times now because once you have been there, you cant not go back! It is the most fantastic place I have ever stayed providing experiences and memories never to be forgotten. Simon and Rosy were the perfect hosts, always making sure we were happy and had everything we needed in order to have an unforgettable experience! The rooms were clean and luxurious, the food was delicious and the drinks at sunset picturesque. The horses we rode were fantastic, riding in some of the most beautiful and exciting surroundings, we also enjoyed camping under the stars listening to the distant animal calls and jumping off the waterfall. There are so many activities to suit everyone whether your looking for action, or some calm relaxation, Sosian has it all. This is the place to go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosian, Manager at Sosian Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Your company is always our pleasure and we are very pleased that each visit continues to be as exciting and memorable as the previous. Thankyou very much for your kind and excellent review regarding the luxury rooms, delicious food and picturesque sundowners. As you say, the horses are one of the many great ways to experience the beautiful and exciting surroundings and wildlife, as well as the many other activities to ensure everyone has enjoyable time. We look forward to seeing you on your next adventure!
Best of wishes,
Simon, Rosie and the team at Sosian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were very impressed with Sosian Ranch and it's wonderful managers Simon and Rosie. They went out of their way to ensure our family had every comfort and were very thoughtful with the creative activities they offered our children. One day it was dam building by the river, fishing the next, followed by pony rides and special game drives looking for warthog, The setting is just gorgeous, food delightful and the game drives eventful. If you're a rider, this is THE place to go. We thoroughly recommend it for a great weekend break. It's a bit of a drive from Nairobi, but there is a flying option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosian, Owner at Sosian Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review regarding the creative activities your children where able to enjoy and the endless comforts your family had during your stay. The numerous activities that you have mentioned make Sosian perfect for a family getaway as you say. We look forward to seeing you again for another delicious meal in another gorgeous setting.
Best of wishes,
Simon, Rosie and the team at Sosian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We and our three girls are fairly seasoned travelers and have been to many beautiful and fascinating places in the world. For us, Sosian was an experience out of this world. From the moment our little airplane from Wilson Airport in Nairobi dropped us off in what seemed to be the middle of nowhere, to the moment of saying our sad goodbyes to the members of the Sosian team with their friendly sunny smiles, the three days we spent at Sosian were nothing short of being magical. We saw all kinds of animals at close range, including the very rare wild dog (A whole family of them, playing in the early morning sun on the rocks!)...But seeing animals and staying at the beautiful grounds of Sosian were only part of it ... for us, the Sosian experience was about doing things, about the exciting activities, the ride into bushland on horse back, the tenseness one feels when sneaking past a large herd of potentially bad tempered elephants, the coffee and tea and chocolate biscuits at dawn on top of the "Baboon Rock", watching the sun rising on an African horizon; it was about bathing in the rapid rivers under a roaring waterfall, about returning to camp on horseback towards the setting sun, and it was about the hearty meal by the bonfire, listening to hyaenas howling in the surrounding darkness, under a sky studded with blue stars so low you feel you could reach up and pick one... those and many other things were the Sosian experience for us ... made possible only by the spontaneity, enthusiasm, warmth and the seamless competence of Simon, Rosie and the rest of the Sosian team. We miss Sosian, and we hope that one day we will go and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosian, Manager at Sosian Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thankyou for your amazing review, it truly is exciting to read and as you say, out of this world to experience. The pure tranquillity of witnessing the African sunrise, and sunset over the beautiful landscape of the wild laikipia is an experience in itself. Not to mention the amazing wildlife and vast range of options in which the wilderness can be explored. We hope to see you again soon and that the adventures may continue.
Best of wishes,
Simon, Rosie and team at Sosian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had only two nights in January and wish we had at least another two. Activities for every taste - horse riding, game spotting, walking, leaping off waterfalls, swimming in the river, lounging by the lovely pool. Picnic lunches in beautiful places all really well run by Simon and Rosie who wee Greta fun as well as great hosts. We will be bak

Room Tip: All rooms equally good
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timberdudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosian, Manager at Sosian Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

It is lovely to leave a place wanting more! As you say there are so many activities to entertain and wildlife spotting options to suit everyone. The fun has only just begun! We look forward to furthering your adventures at Sosian in the future.
Best of wishes,
Simon, Rosie and the Team at Sosian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We only spent a couple nights at sosian but could have easily spent the week there. There is so much to do - it was the riding that made it though with some fantastic hacks amongst the copious quantities of elephant and giraffes. Simon and Rosie were outstanding hosts and the joint dinners made it a much more social affair than you get in most lodges. Thanks, Mark & Jennifer

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 22markd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosian, Manager at Sosian Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Thankyou very much for your kind review on Sosian, it seems to be a common occurrence that people regret not extending their stay. As you so, there is so many activities to do around the lodge which is what also makes it suitable for everyone to enjoy. The horse riding is a highlight for many people as you have said, experiencing the wilderness and wildlife on the back of a well bred and cared for horse is very special. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best of wishes,
Simon, Rosie and the Team at Sosian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews