We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third safari, first-rate experience”

Review of Kiota Safari House

Kiota Safari House nestled into the wild heart of an African Eden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kiota Safari House nestled into the wild heart of an African Eden.
Our lounge. The perfect place to reconnect with nature and reconnect with your inner self and family Kiota Safari House Bedroom. All bedrooms have gorgeous views and charming antiques and art.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Kiota Safari House nestled into the wild heart of an African Eden.
Our lounge. The perfect place to reconnect with nature and reconnect with your inner self and family
Kiota Safari House Bedroom. All bedrooms have gorgeous views and charming antiques and art.
Our house overlooks the El Karama Wildlife Sanctuary, home of incredible wildlife including leopards
Kiota Safari House Lounge in morning light.
This is our Garden Room with gorgeous views of the garden, Koi Pond and beautiful flowers.
View of Foyer and Lounge.
Elephant Family near Kiota Safari House. We often have elephants right below the house.
Bedroom with twin beds and expansive patio with stunning 180 degree views.
Cheetah are some of the many wild creatures who thrive on El Karama Wildlife Sanctuary.
The Foyer showing the architect's bold use of giant cedar trees (forest die-off) in his design.
John Mutungi, our Manager and Head Chef leads a hardworking and friendly team to serve you.
Morning sun. Another day in Paradise begins.
Kiota Safari House view from the Southeast.
Zanzibar-style doors, Moroccan rugs and Zanzibar Chest in the entrance.
One of our double bedrooms with great views from the bed!
Our lovely garden.
Lions on El Karama are not always easy to see in the rugged landscape, but we are often lucky!
Happy Guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Laikipia County, Rift Valley Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Schoolmar...
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third safari, first-rate experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The gate to Kiota House opened to an entire staff welcoming our group of eight, and we knew we were destined for a fabulous stay! Exotic gardens surround the beautifully designed and uniquely furnished home , all enfolded like a hug by the huge wrap-around verandah. This provides the perfect gathering place to view the abundant and ever-changing cast of wildlife as far as the eye (or a good pair of binoculars) can see. Game drives in the El Karama Wildlife Conservancy were especially enjoyable, as we rarely saw other vehicles, providing uninterrupted observation and photographic opportunities. Hospitality throughout the property was top-shelf; gathering for sundowners served in front of a crackling fire, and food that rivals fine dining in a restaurant anywhere – unique menus, prepared with the freshest locally sourced ingredients, and beautifully presented. Mutungi and his kitchen staff delighted us at every meal! Don Young delivers the complete safari package: finding and narrating the best wildlife drama (along with his knowledgeable and engaging game drivers), creating a luxurious and peaceful environment to return to at the end of the day, and personalizing the entire experience for his guests by sharing his knowledge of the history and culture of East Africa. Our stay at Kiota House was an unforgettable part of our time in Kenya!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you Mary and Jerry for taking the time to write this wonderful review. As you know our Kiota Safari House team puts its Heart & Soul into providing our guests with a peerless experience and it is so nice when our guests share their comments with others. We are honored to have hosted your family and we hope the next generation of Seilers will also call Kiota Safari House their home in Africa. Much love from us all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick W
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing House. Wonderful stay.”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was not my first stay in Kiota House. I've been before. It's now a habit. Set at the top of a cliff with one of the most spectacular views in Kenya, it's an incredible first stop for the uninitiated. Elephants, giraffe, buffalos, zebra and other plains game can be seen from the veranda. There isn't a finer place to unwind from an international flight. The view across to Mount Kenya is uninterrupted and, at dawn, awe-inspiring. The bird life is amazing too. This time it was a peaceful point to relax mid-safari between the Rift Valley and Samburu. Some of us went on game drives, others didn't. Everybody loved it. The staff are great. 'Mutungi', the chef, is a legend. I can’t recommend it more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
We always love it when you stay with us Nick. You always bring wonderful guests who understand just how special Kiota Safari House is. You reallly bring out the best in our team. Thank you for being such a loyal customer! See you soon. Don Young
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candjpers...
Hastings, ne, usa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect IntroductionTo Africa!”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were especially impressed with the kindness and the enthusiam of the Kiota Safari House staff. The food was gourmet and served in the beautiful dining room. The setting of Kiota Safari House is specular with gardens to roam and relax in and verandas with spectacular views with so many animals down toward the river. At sunrise we could see Mt. Kenya. All the rooms in Kiota Safari House are different. We had Room #4 with its double bed built up on steps like a tree house so it was very comfortable, exotic and romantic. Our safari program included Kiota Safari House, Don Young's camp in Masai Mara and trekking to see the Mountain gorillas. Our first three nights at Kiota Safari House were almost magical and a wonderful way to be introduced to Africa, its wonderful people, and beautiful and amazing animals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and kind words! We are so pleased you enjoyed your safari and stay with us! Happy you had a wonderful introduction to Africa and we hope you will come back to Kenya again one day!
Best wishes from the Kiota Safari House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn G
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Home, Stunning Views, Incredible Staff”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We couldn't have felt more pampered by the incredible staff at Kiota House. Every meal was a work of art, the furnishings were comfortable and gorgeous, and the views were stunning. It was a thrill to watch elephants, hyrax, giraffes and other wildlife right from the terrace. We thoroughly enjoyed our game drive topped off with a "sundowner" afternoon tea and a view of Mt. Kenya. We were sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Dear Evelyn, it was such a pleasure hosting you and your husband! Thank you very much for the lovely review and visit!
Warm regards,
Kiota Safari House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing