We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for such a small and under-developed town”
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Universal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dupnitsa
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Dupnitsa is one of the Bulgarian towns that was unlucky enough to have stayed for a long time without any serious improvement, failing infrastructure is obvious everywhere. Dirty streets, full of holes roads and if it wasnt near Rila Monastery, the city of Sofia and the town itself attached to the main road coming in from Greece....there would be no reason for someone to stay there even for a night.
I have used Universal Hotel twice....its cheap, clean and deserves every penny from the rooms point of view. There are many Hotels in Bulgaria (even among the most well known and expensive) that are just rennovations of old buildings that were for other uses during Communist period. Unfortunately cheaply made rennovations show their signs everywhere and are far away from any European standard. Universal Hotel as a building is new and looks nice, rooms are quite modern with nice materials. Bathroom is clean and well constructed from fine materials and attention to the details.
Havent used the restaurant but they serve breakfast at the same room....poorly decorated room with cheap and faceless table clothes.
Breakfast level is left over from Communist era, very poor .....and they should better ask for extra money just to give you something descent to drink and eat.
In my previous visit (a year ago) there was a wedding party at the restaurant and I spent a sleepless night with the company of folklor Bulgarian music.....totally unacceptable.
Reception persons are polite and well trained.
Parking in front of the Hotel is good.
Its a pitty that they cannot understand that a few small things spoil the general good impression that the Hotel gives to the visitor. Universal is a pleasant surprise for a town like Dupnitsa. I hope they soon upgrade their services up to european levels so i can revise my review at my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anavrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited Dupnitsa for a wedding and didnt really know what to expect from a small, hidden city in Bulgaria. But everything turned to be perfect and the hotel was wow when we arrived. Only thing i cant understand is the number of stars bur it doesnt really matter! Would definitely recommend the hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of a beautiful area of Bulgaria. The staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating, some of the best of my time in Bulgaria. My room was modern, very comfortable and had a balcony with mountain view. The hotel is easy to find and in an excellent location for exploring the town by foot. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling through the area. They will treat you as a valued guest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night, nice and silent room, great bathroom, free internet in the room, and english speaking reception staff. However breakfast was minimal, made selection on A4 paper, and needed to ask for cup of coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipSchoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel after spending the night at the RILA MONASTERY and before moving on to Sophia to fly home. The hotel was great. The room was the most modern that I experienced in 3 weeks in Bulgaria. The reception staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. The location could not have been better. On the downside, the included breakfast was a joke. You have a choice of 10 items and I had the item listed as an Omlette. This turned out to be an omlette with a little cheese and 2 pieces of bread, no coffee, juice, fruit or anything else. What a disappointment! But this is the only fault in an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fehlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had occasion to stay in Dupnica overnight and this place ticked all the boxes. Nice modern hotel with restaurant. Rooms very big with fast wi-fi connection and bathroom with huge shower! Ate in the restaurant and whilst the food was excellent the courses came out in the wrong order, which spoiled things somewhat. Most of the staff spoke at least some English.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms are great! Very clean and crisp with great bathroom! The location is ideal for seeing all the nearby attractions. Rila Monastary is less than an an hour away as are many other attractions. There are many bars and shopping venues right next door. Several banks within walking distance as well with posted exchange rates that are a bit better than usual. The free breakfast menu was a welcome addition, freshly prepared. Much of the staff speaks English.

We have stayed here on 4 different occasions and there is really no other place in Dupnitsa that compares.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Address: Hristo Grancharov 1, Dupnitsa 2600, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Kyustendil Province > Dupnitsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dupnitsa
Price Range: $41 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing