We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, but Rila could be better..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rila
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dupnitsa
Castle Donington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice location, but Rila could be better..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Located in the main square, the location really could not be better. Hotel Rila is a long-standing establishment in Dupnitsa - the old Stanke Dimitrov - and a place I always knew I would visit one day, in connection with a spare-time interest. Enjoyed it too, the staff on Reception could not have been more helpful and the room I had was pleasant, clean and just what was needed. Food was average, service adequate, but nothing really jumped off the wall to grab me. Svoboda - Freedom - Square is fantastic, with coffee bars, watering holes and restaurants aplenty; Dupnitsa is a super place too. The tariff at Hotel Rila was a little steep for what was on offer, but I still enjoyed myself.

Room Tip: Try to make sure what you're getting before you arrive. But actually, Hotel Rila isn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

i stayed only for one night in this hotel which will be and the last one.The room was not bad but the bet sheets was dirty and there were a lot of broken things in the bathroom also i did not have heating and hot water up to the midnight.About the breakfast i have to say that it was very very poor.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pconfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I had not read up on this hotel before going. It was late and passing through Dupnitsa we needed a room for the night and we saw this hotel. It looked fine for a nights sleep and a swift exit in the morning......big mistake!

For starters this hotel is very big but only has one very small lift so it is impossible to take the lift without a half an hour wait.....The room was horrible, bedding stained and no hot water in the bathroom except at certain times. But that wasn't all! Just as we had settled down to sleep I woke up to hear loud voices in my room! I jumped up startled, only to realise that they weren't actually in my room but in the room next door, which was separated from us by a wardrobe that didnt even fit the hole in the wall that it was placed into! There were inch wide gaps all around the wardrobe and I could see right into the other room's bathroom!!! They had been out at a party and were very loud when they came back and I couldnt sleep a wink.

Breakfast was included which is why we decided to take the room in the first place, it didnt seem like such a bad deal with breakfast included......needless to say....it was HORRIBLE. My husband and I are by no means fussy eaters, quite the opposite - but we took one look at the empty breakfast room with stale bread and food curling at the edges and went out onto the street to find a cafe!

Terrible stay - would not let my dog stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hotel Rila in Dupnitsa is overpriced and underserved facility. Not at all worht using. There are much better options both in dupnitsa and in Blagoevgrad onæy 25 minutes away. However Dupnitsa is well worth visiting as it still preserves many of the good traditions and qualities of Bulgaria that might not be as easy to find in Sofia. Dupnitsa is onæy 65 km from Sofia and the road is getting bette and better. But when you go there stay away from Hotel Rila.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rila

Property: Hotel Rila
Address: Svoboda Sq. 1, Dupnitsa 2600, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Kyustendil Province > Dupnitsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dupnitsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rila 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rila is located at the foot of Rila Mountain, in the town center of Dupnitsa. The location offers guests the opportunity to visit some of the most popular natural and spiritual landmarks in Bulgaria: Rila Monastery, Resilovski and Ruenski Monastery, the great rock phenomenon named Stobski Pyramids, the Seven Rila Lakes, Skakavishki waterfall, Musala peak (2925m), resort Panichishte and Sapareva Banq town build over the remains of an ancient Thracian village, Eneolithic settlement Slatino and many other locations. Locations worth visiting in Dupnica are the town history museum, the arts gallery, the clock tower built in 1782, the churches "St. Nicola", "St. Konstantin and St. Elena", "St Mary", as well as one of the most modern parks in Bulgaria: "Park Rila", opened in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing