We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vogur Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This place was so unexpected! You enter a large creatively decorated dining hall furnished with comfortable leather lounges with just a touch of Viking influence. We were given a warm and friendly welcome by the owner/chef who generously answered our many questions about the area and it's history. His wife's family settled in the area 30 generations ago and run an eider down business.

The hotel and outbuildings are only 18 months old and already expansion is underway. The rooms reflect a Scandinavian design in pale wood and white painted walls and interesting artwork. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen and soft pillows; we would have appreciated extra pillows. Our room faced the Vogur (inlet) and had a panoramic view of snow-capped mountains; the hotel is in a very peaceful setting.

Dinner was a surprise, our host a qualified gifted chef served succulent local organic lamb perfectly cooked. We even splashed out on a bottle of red, very expensive in Iceland.

This is a hidden gem and worth the detour on the unsealed road.

Room Tip: A room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
52
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We went there to photograph the Aurora Borealis. The rooms and restaurant were new, very modern and very comfortable. The owner was great. Food was very good. They were doing some major renovations. We were with 15 other people and everyone was very happy being there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

You have to wonder why someone would build a place like this in the middle of nowhere and even more puzzling is why anyone would really want to stay in such a place where there is absolutely zero to do. Ok, peace and quiet. Yes and they are abundant in Iceland. But Vogur lodge isn't even close to some decent walks (at least in winter). The shore is a short walk down the road and then what? Visit another sheep ranch? The eider down processing place? The nicest alcohol rehabilitation facility in Iceland? That same little church we see all over the country? The much vaunted hot tub is just a standard small commercial one out back. Yes, you can see the Northern Lights, at least when there isn't yet another blizzard. Easier to see them in Reykjavik.

Still, the lodge itself is comfortable and well run. The staff are very friendly, the manager most helpful and the food was quite good. Just don't see why it's worth the long hard drive to get here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here with a fotographic northern lights tour and were all overwelmed finding such a high standard hotel far outside on the countryside. everything was modern and new. the food was fresh and nice and the staff (especially the patron) wer very friendly. we enjoyed our stay here very much.

at night you can just step outside and take fotos of the northernlights.

we would definetly come back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My main complaint is that the location is totally off the beaten path (and no breakfast included). This is a sleek, modern, very cool renovated farmhouse. There isn't much in the area as far as restaurants, gas stations, or even a city, but I think that is the point of this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you enjoy hiking and spending time in the sauna and hot tub. Didn't seem like there was much else to do around here but the setting is gorgeous -- hike to a nearby waterfall, surrounding farms, or the rocky seacoast.

The rooms are white, modern, and new. Nice and warm. But there were some hiccups... our room had a faint sewage smell, perhaps seeping up from the basement, and the bathroom doors bang against the shelves behind when they open; this sound echoed from room to room. The rooms are not soundproof so cross your fingers that you'll be far from guests with crying children or partying ways.

The lodge main room and restaurant area is lovely and gorgeous, a very fun place to hang out, with comfortable couches and cowskin rugs. I could pass a whole day reading a book there. Meals in the restaurant are expensive so that's the only real drawback to staying here for any length of time. There isn't much else nearby, and we were driven here in a bus; I'm not sure I would have wanted to brave the rough roads to get here if I were driving myself. This was very remote and lovely but I am not 100% sure we would have chosen it if it had not been part of our tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here towards the end of our 10 night self drive tour around Iceland, and it was by far the best night we had! We were the only guests staying at the lodge, our room was absolutely lovely. It was so warm and inviting. The beds were very comfy! The en suite bathroom was also a hit - a lovely huge walk in shower! The main dining room is large, but cosy, with huge leather sofas at each end.
As others have mentioned the chef (who was also the manager) is brilliant. The dinner we had was absolutely superb and the best we had on our entire trip! A great 3 course meal with a bottle of red wine was a very relaxing end to our long day.
I would definitely recommend staying here. The view is stunning and the lodge also has a hot tub overlooking the view for guests use.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganlgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budardalur
12.5 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
261 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur
12.7 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 6 in Stykkisholmur
132 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#2 of 5 in Budardalur
7 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Ljosaland
Hotel Ljosaland
#1 of 1 in Budardalur
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogur Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogur Country Lodge

Property: Vogur Country Lodge
Address: Vogur, Budardalur 371, Iceland (Formerly Vogur Farmhouse)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budardalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Budardalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vogur Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Snæfellsnes Glacier and Breidafjördur Bay, this converted farmhouse enjoys a peaceful, remote setting along Iceland’s north-western coast. It offers traditional Icelandic cuisine, free Wi-Fi and a free outdoor hot tub.Vogur Country Lodge’s bright, fresh rooms have simple décor and a private bathroom with shower.The restaurants specialities inclue salmon, lamb ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vogur Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vogur Country Lodge Iceland/Budardalur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing