We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've been using this hotel on a regular basis for more than ten years now. It had a dip a few years ago when the management changed temporarily but now its back in Charlie's hands all is well.

Rooms, staff, food, management... spot on. You will not get better value and you will enjoy your stay.

Can't praise The Gateway highly enough.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre - a walk to the bar does the same job. ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
30
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked last minute as it is near knock airport and what a pleasant surprise!
The staff couldn't be more welcoming and helpful, I fancied a biscuit with my coffee (free in the room) and expected to pay for a pack of 3, but no, the receptionist got a whole plate of a mix of biscuits.
The room is big and spotless and the bed was big and very comfy (5 star standard).
Another reviewer mentioned the hall carpet, yes there were a couple of small marks, but I'm not sleeping in the hall!
Every time I fly out of knock I will definitely stay here. (We were in room 102). I am very surprised it only has a 3star rating, as I have stayed in far worse 4 star hotels.
Arrived late, so didn't see the pool or fitness centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamweaver98890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway great little market town with some cracking bars.Food and drink in the hotel was excellent, staff in the bar and restaurant were 100% . We will return to this hotel next time we visit Mayo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cozzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed as a family of five and even though we booked short notice they went out of their way to accommodate us. We stayed on a Wednesday night B&B, disappointed now that I hadn't booked two nights at least. Unreal value not only in price terms but in terms of the breakfast and the hospitality that we received. Had dinner on the Wednesday night also, the place was busy with diners, locals (always a good sign) and guests alike and the food was fantastic and well priced. will definitely be back before too long. If you are ever in the West this is the best. friendly and relaxed, I just want to go back.

Room Tip: Eat at the hotel as the food is second to none. good portions and great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had our family reunion here in July and had the hotel booked out with family from all over the world. have to say everyone had a brilliant weekend. Cathal was so helpful with all the arrangements up to and during the weekend.The staff were so helpful and friendly. Dinner was exceptional and got a very good price for the weekend. Already thinking about another family occassion and will not have it anywhere else. Thanks again for a great weekend Cathal and staff.
Regards Thomas and family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here for a night. It is so nice to stay in a family run hotel. They cannot do enough for you.
Rooms clean, great breakfast. You have the added bonus of a pub so you don't have to far to go to bed.
Very good value, we stopped on for a rest and were not disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2freedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed there recently, wasn't expecting much as people said it was just ok and even suggested that we stay in one of the bigger towns, am I glad we didn't listen to them - we had a great stay, the room was big with a great bathroom, lots of space and wifi access everywhere. We ate in the evening and the food was amazing - they need to advertise just how good the food is! I had the chicken in white wine and mushroom sauce and my husband had the crab starter - both were fab! Breakfast was excellent, with the best coffee I have had in a while! The Staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble (even down to giving us a booster for the internet signal as it was a bit slow!) We will be back when we are down the West of Ireland again! It was lovely to see the same faces whether in reception or in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Property: The Gateway Hotel
Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing