We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never stayed there but ate there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“never stayed there but ate there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We never stayed at the gateway but we ate there, in the end several times in our trip. The food was fantastic, absoloutley lovely and the staff were brilliant friendly, helpfull and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Felt comfy and at ease there, considering i have two children under the age of three and the staff were great. Would reccomend there for food. Couldn't comment on the rooms and stay because i never, but if the service i recieved was anything to go by i would deffinately stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank august201027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very mucn for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
48
30
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely Hotel, great price. Rooms were spotless, comfortable & everything was in perfect working order. Bar staff were friendly & efficient & music entertainment was second to none! Lady who served us breakfast the next morning was friendly and welcoming. No compliant, the breakfast was superb.. hands off to the chef and the homemade scones just out of the oven were to die for! Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLou025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I, with two toddlers in tow, stayed at this hotel on a weekend night recently. We needed a hotel that was reasonably priced and comfortable, and this place fitted the bill perfectly. Our room overlooked the Main Street and was comfortable, clean and not too warm/hot (as many Irish hotel rooms tend to be IMO). As there was a wedding in the hotel that night I was concerned that there may be noise, but we never heard a thing as we all slept soundly - kids included. I liked being able to see my car from the bedroom window, parked on the wide Main Street below. The bathroom was clean and surprisingly large. We had a meal in the bar, the menu and the service were both good. Breakfast was also served in the bar area and was fine.

We did have one minor problem which was quickly resolved: the hotel had our booking down for the night before but this proved no obstacle and they quickly organised a room for us at short notice with all our requirements for the kids. The staff and particularly the manager were all very helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixmilebridgeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was here last weekend at a family birthday bash! We all had a fantastic night thanks to Cathal who accommodated all of us so well. The food was great and the bar staff were excellent, always served with a smile no matter how busy the bar was throughout the night! I would recommend having any sort of a celebration here with such excellent service! Have been here many times over the years but this time will be the most memorable thanks to the wonderful hospitality put up by all members of staff! Thank you for a wonderful night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koh2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citta di Castello, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Kelly's Gateway Hotel on our recent trip around the West of Ireland in late August. We fuond the place clean and presentable. We stayed in a twin room which had everything you would expect from a hotel of this type. I would recommend the bar in the evening's where it appears that it seems to be a local "hotspot". We had great fun with people from the locale and found the staff of the hotel nothing short of excellent, friendly and really made us feel at home. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip around the West of Ireland, we found this hotel to have teh "family" touch and felt welcome there from the minute we arrived. A really warm, welcoming experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large room on the first floor at the end of the corridor. Very spacious and large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Myself and my wife were lucky enough that our stay in the Gateway Hotel coincided with the opening weekend after a recent change of management (14th/15th August). The hotel itself is in a great location right in the middle of town. Rooms are adequate and clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, which was served by friendly and attentive staff. The hotel bar customers were a mixture of locals and hotel customers which made for a good, lively atmosphere. There was also a live band playing until late, which was great craic! The hotel is family run, and certainly has a family feel to it. We had no problems organising a late check out and a taxi to the airport when we were leaving. All told, a very pleasant experience and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingmatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I travel around the country and have the opportunity to stay in hotels from county to county. I have stayed in the Gateway a number of times and was very interested to see the place under new management. I was lucky to get a room on Friday the 14th - the opening night!! Fabulous atmosphere, great food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Property: The Gateway Hotel
Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing