We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$164
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great National Hotel Ballina(Ballina)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breaffy Woods Hotel(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$140
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
75
40
13
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
40
13
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily partysat nightthe hotel stafflovely foodwould stay againa wonderful staycouldn't do enoughfrom start to finishirelandwestknockballina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 148 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was here last weekend at a family birthday bash! We all had a fantastic night thanks to Cathal who accommodated all of us so well. The food was great and the bar staff were excellent, always served with a smile no matter how busy the bar was throughout the night! I would recommend having any sort of a celebration here with such excellent service! Have been here many times over the years but this time will be the most memorable thanks to the wonderful hospitality put up by all members of staff! Thank you for a wonderful night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koh2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the Kelly's Gateway Hotel on our recent trip around the West of Ireland in late August. We fuond the place clean and presentable. We stayed in a twin room which had everything you would expect from a hotel of this type. I would recommend the bar in the evening's where it appears that it seems to be a local "hotspot". We had great fun with people from the locale and found the staff of the hotel nothing short of excellent, friendly and really made us feel at home. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip around the West of Ireland, we found this hotel to have teh "family" touch and felt welcome there from the minute we arrived. A really warm, welcoming experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large room on the first floor at the end of the corridor. Very spacious and large bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Myself and my wife were lucky enough that our stay in the Gateway Hotel coincided with the opening weekend after a recent change of management (14th/15th August). The hotel itself is in a great location right in the middle of town. Rooms are adequate and clean. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, which was served by friendly and attentive staff. The hotel bar customers were a mixture of locals and hotel customers which made for a good, lively atmosphere. There was also a live band playing until late, which was great craic! The hotel is family run, and certainly has a family feel to it. We had no problems organising a late check out and a taxi to the airport when we were leaving. All told, a very pleasant experience and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingmatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I travel around the country and have the opportunity to stay in hotels from county to county. I have stayed in the Gateway a number of times and was very interested to see the place under new management. I was lucky to get a room on Friday the 14th - the opening night!! Fabulous atmosphere, great food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

There isn't really much choice when it comes to booking hotels in Swinford, but the Gateway was pleasant enough for our two night stay. The room was comfortable and the breakfast (included in the price) was very good. The bar staff were very accommodating, happy to serve us when we got back to the hotel at around 1am. Some areas were a little scruffy and it took a while for us to find someone to process our check-out. The toiletries provided in the bathroom were also very basic, but adequate enough. If travelling to Swinford again I would be happy enough to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews