We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was part of A large party (approx 48 people) who stayed in The Gateway Hotel Swinford for one night early June 2012.
We were part of a wedding party which was held in the hotel
I can not praise the management & staff enough, they were all very polite, nothing was a problem for them. The food was 100% delicious, perfectly cooked & generous portions. Every one of us had a very enjoyable stay,
The bed room's were spotless ( full marks to the house keeping staff) and spacious, TV, tea/coffee etc.

Every member of staff were very friendly & polite, all the staff appeared to be very happy at their work which say's a lot in its self.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We WILL be returning again for another stay

Keep up the good work !

Room Tip: All rooms were spotless clean, noise levels extremely low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonalCo_Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We at “Tralee Pipes & Drums” were competing in the All Ireland Pipe Band competitions in Ballina on the 7th July 7, 2012. I booked the band into the Gateway Hotel in Swinford on the Friday night prior to the event.

We were looked after extremely well and all our band members both young and old were really pleased with everything. Dinner on the Friday night was excellent and the rooms were really comfortable. The best feature of the Gateway must be the personable attention given to us by all the staff which can indeed by a rarity in today’s world. We have no hesitation in recommending the Gateway Hotel in Swinford.

Dan O Donoghue, Tralee Pipes & Drums

Room Tip: Very Central and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Impression is of somewhere lacking investment with an owner trying to save money by cutting back on the heating and lighting.. Could not believe that heating went off at 8.30 am on a sunday morning. Room a decent size, breakfast fine but at 90 euros for a double room b&b I consider it overpriced and did not find it a particularly welcoming place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchester65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Gateway is the only hotel in town and as I had to travel to Swinford for a funeral I had no choice but to stay there. I had booked 3 tooms and was the first of out group to arrive. I looked in at the bar and didn't like it at all. Badly furnished and somewhat untidy.

We were given three rooms close to each other. I was pleasently surprised. All our rooms and bathrooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was quite tasty and the portions were big.

If only they would spend a little money on the bar it would be a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shergarontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

In comparison to other family run hotels I have stayed in recently I found this hotel very
disappointing in many ways,
Owner of the hotel very unfriendly at check in and throughout the evening of my one night stay.
Agree totally with Dibbles 77 regarding being taken for granted as a guest,
room was very pleasant which is why I opted for Room Service - Unfortunately the hotel "doesnt do Room Service" even though I had been given a menu earlier on in the bar and told - just ring when you want to order - Food order wrong and very disapppointing when it did come - Person who delieved the food seemed very put out at having to take the tray up to me !! Didnt speak, just dropped the tray and left . Breakfast not much better although the waitress a little more friendly
Heating seemed a problem and noise levels late in the night didnt help
Was meeting someone in the morning for business meeting, nowhere suitable to sit and made to feel unwelcome and in the way,
Had stayed in a similar hotel earlier in the week in the South East of the country, would always aim to support local family run hotels but this one really is letting the side down in a big way -

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gibbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Would like to express our thanks for all the help from James and his staff when we asked for their assistance in doing an outside broadcast from the hotel. This was necessary as the guest on the night, on holidays with family in Swinford, was confined to a wheelchair and not able to travel to one of the Irish Country Music Radio studios. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us so welcome. Lovely dinner beforehand, well cooked and very reasonably priced. Wonderful homely atmosphere and would recommend anyone to stay in this hotel for a true Irish experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galwaygirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The owners of this hotel seem to think that because they are the only hotel in the town, that they can get away with a sub standard level of service. We stayed 2 nights and had to move rooms 3 times. The service from staff was appauling at every interaction - breakfast and check out in particular. Swinford has plenty of good B&B's. Stay in one of them and avoid this dreadful and dreary place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are so loud with heavy lorries and trucks passing by all day and all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dibbles77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
119 reviews
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
277 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
906 reviews
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
0.0 mi away
The Mayfly Hotel
The Mayfly Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foxford
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range: $72 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing