We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in every way”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Reviewed June 5, 2011

These poor reviews must have been written by people with ulterior motives. Nothing but good reviews could be left for The Gateway Hotel and James, the proprietor. James is the new owner/manager and he is doing an excellent job. He accommodated us in every way, and believe me, we were a very needy and I'm sure annoying group.
We traveled with a group of 24 and took up 14 rooms wherever we went. We stayed in 9 hotels in Ireland in the last 3 weeks. So this is the cumulative experience of everyones experience in 14 rooms.
The staff was great, the food was fantastic and the rooms comfortable and clean. Swinford is a great little town and The Gateway Hotel exceeds all expectations. Stay here with no hesitations.
Thanks again for everything James,

Daniel (and the crew)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyShytBigFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 147 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

Absolutley freezing - no heating on in any of the rooms or anywhere above the ground floor. When asked if heat could be turned on it was but it went off again very shortly thereafter and did not come back. This in the middle of the coldest December in this aprt of the world since records began!! My impression - trying to save money on heating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We recently had a family function in the hotel and the weekend could not have gone better.
Everything from the rooms to the fab service on the night of the function made it a great weekend. The staff were excellent and James the owner could not have been more helpful in the run up to the event and also on the night to ensure everything went smoothly. The 3 course meal was excellent and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a function or party.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

If you're like me you seek irish hotels that are located within the town center. Stash the car and it's off to the nearby pubs, the local bookmaker, and the many good eateries. Kelly's has a perfect location in this nice town. Rooms and rates are fine, the breakfast is as good as any, and the staff makes you feel at home. A great place to base yourself for touring Mayo, Connemara, and Sligo. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorderFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Booked into this hotel as it is in the centre of town, ideal if having a few drinks . The room was a good size and the bed comfortable enough. Decor has now been abused- carpet and chairs stained. Music finished around one o'clock but the noise and banging of doors continued. The noise on the street was unbelievable.It sounded like a full scale party which went on for hours. We were with our son who was returning to Boston the next day so we had an early morning drive back to Dublin. He didn't get to sleep either even though he was in a different room and not so near the front. We had to park our car on the street also as there was no room in their car park where it was subjected to people jumping on it. I would never risk staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MairedubhDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I drove passed this hotel as it wasn't very conspicuous from the road and rang to get directions back. The receptionist was very pleasant, thoughtful and helpful to myself and other guests both on the phone and in person. The sitting area of reception is a bit dingy and the bar and restaurant could do with a bit of updating, and there was some very scruffy looking furniture lurking on the stairs and landing. That said, my bedroom was much better than I expected - very clean and some attractive bed furnishings. The evening service in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Uranus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I recently had a short stay in Swinford and was surprised with the wonderful Gateway Hotel. It may be small but is big on food, friednliness and service.
The rooms are finished to a much higher standard than the 3 star rating the hotel has. We stayed in a family room (Room 200) and there was plenty of space. Facing the front of the hotel I was worried about street nose at night but myself and my family had a great nights sleep. A king bed, a single bed and a cot was supplied too without any problem at all.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
We ate in the bar which has a nice atmosphere and plent of TV's to keep every sports fan happy. As soon as we sat and were brought the menus, the waitress brought over crayons and colouring pages for our 4 year old, of course our 2 year old wanted some too, which was promptly looked after. The food was traditional and tasty, no frills but a great meal.
I have to say it was welcome change to stay in a hotel in Ireland where everyone spoke English and they all seemed to be local staff who knew where to go for day trips and entertaining the kids. Swinford didn't offer much in town but we did travel to the bowling alley 20 mins drive away. It was a great experience, bowling, a cinema, cafe and kids play area gave us a great day out.
Top marks to everyone at the Gateway Hotel, I will certainly recommend it too family and friends and if staying in Mayo again I would opt for here instead of the bigger impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
120 reviews
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
280 reviews
15.3 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
14.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,381 reviews
10.7 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range: $87 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing