We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a great meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Errigal Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

ordered the steak was not a very good idea at all that says it all maybe the chef was having a bad day was a romantic meal what a big mistake not worth the money what a very big let down will not be going back there in a hurry

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
10  Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementErrigal, Owner at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you For Your Comments I am Disappointed to see you did not enjoy your Meal. And that you felt you had to go to a public forum to air your views, As you have not really given any information , it is difficult for me to respond I have spoken to all our restaurant waiters and barmen to check if any complaints regarding steak and they insure me there were no complaints, this is not surprising as we only use the very best of irish beef and all our steaks are cooked to order. If you were unhappy with your steak there would have been no problem in changing it and getting it cooked to your liking.
I hope that if you return sometime in the future we will exceed all your expectations.
Regards.
Pat Kelly.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 492 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there on Valentines weekend What can I say? Quite a lot really! Food was stunning, Bar was lovely and we were made most welcome, Staff were lovely and nothing was too much bother! Room heating took a little time to master as it is an Air conditioning unit but once that was done no problems. Showers were cool! nice and powerful and no problem with hot water or lack of, Rooms were spotless and Beds very comfy. Loved every moment we were there and will be back soon.All in all 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnahaehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

booking this for myself and hubby with lidl breaks, Dinner, night stay and breakfast for two for €98. Excellent value and excellent service. Food was gorgeous, recommend the thai batter chicken for starters. They really look after you in the resturant and the rooms a great. We were given a delux room with no extra charge. Rooms very comfy, modern and spotless. Highly recommend it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I loved the hotel, the staff were brilliant and the meals were excellent.
We enjoyed our stay but no bedroom heating left us cold.
We mentioned this to reception who apologised but that was all.
just read previous reviews and the heating issue was there before, hence the bad marks.

Room Tip: Enquire about bedroom heating before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John_DMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our one night stay at this lovely hotel - would certainly recommend.
Room was spacious and immaculate.. Huge bathroom.
Excellent chef - meal in the restaurant was gorgeous. Would be lovely venue for a wedding-large function room and comfortable seated area where guests could chat and relax

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here two or three times before, several years ago, but on this occasion noticed a signficant improvement to the standards and attention to detail.

I arrived after 11pm to a lovely friendly welcomefrom reception and bar staff, the housekeeping was impeccable and my room was fabulous - the room rate was excellent value and I was delighted to enjoy a hearty Irish breakfast in the morning.

This makes an excellent base for enjoying the beautiful surroundings and neighbouring countryside and is a few minutes drive from Cootehill. I was attending a family funeral so my stay was quite functional but I did manage to take an early morning walk down beside the Annalee River, which was stunning as ever.

My only criticism was that the room felt a little cold, (it was February) although reception did try to rectify this.

A friendly and professional team of staff, smart and tidy hotel - well done!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a very relaxing time at the Errigal. The hotel is 1mile approx from Cootehill town. We were warmly received at reception by Tanya and the rooms were massive. They were very clean and the front rooms had a view of the countryside.
On Saturday night we had bar foor which was delicious. The fish with sidesalad and chips was very tasty and 2 pork chops were well cooked. The bar food is reasonably priced for a hotel of this calibre. Breakfast was ordered and you could choose from a varitey of cooked options and selft service cereals.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful and would good back to the Errigal sometime again to wind down.
Only thing was there was no shower gel, but we had our own.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cootehill
11.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
844 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,412 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Country House Hotel

Address: Cavan Rd, Cootehill, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cootehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Price Range: $113 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Errigal Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Errigal Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errigal Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing