We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideously overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Errigal Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hideously overpriced.”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

€150 for one person bed and breakfast - for that price I'd expect far far more that this hotel has to foofer. The room was fine, staff helpful, food lovely but the experience was overshadowed by the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spiceloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you Choosing to stay with us at Errigal Country House Hotel And taking the time to write your review
I sincerely apologise if you have been overcharged, We have looked back on our records and could not find any single room charged at €150 , our single room B&B midweek rate is €65 we do not have single room available at weekend, Double room rate at weekend is €67.50pps
You can call me at Errigal Country House Hotel and i will discuss the matter further with you.
I am sorry to hear that the price overshadowed your stay, we alway aim to offer the best experience / value to all our guests
I would be delighted to welome you back to the Errigal Country House Hotel, Hopefully in the near future.
kind Regards

Pat Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    120
    44
    23
    10
See reviews for
104
198
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leitrim
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

we attended a friends wedding and stayed the night.lovely room,great food ,friendly staff.love the bar in the front as you come in.only down fall for me was how cold the function room was at the wedding.far to many open doors .went out to resident bar after and only stayed few minutes sooooooo cold no heating, went to bed before we got frost bite,but bedroom lovely and warm.alot of other guests at the wedding felt the same ,loved the hotel but very cold ,turn on heating and close some doors and you have a great hotel.will defiantly come back.

Room Tip: our room was looking down on front lovely view,nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lululeitrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Errigal Country House Hotel . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Your comments regarding how cold the funtion room was at the wedding we have taken your comments on board and will try to keep doors closed
We look forward to welcoming you back to a warmer hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I am not the sort to usually leave reviews but we had our wedding reception at the Errigal Country House Hotel in May 2011... and I figured when i was booking my wedding i trawled through sites like tripadvisor so i owe one back.

From day one when we came to view the hotel Bernie had all the facts and figures ready and pretty much everything went smoothly from booking onwards. I really cant fault the venue or the staff of the hotel. We even rang one night with a question about something trival like a cake stand and although it was after 9.30 at night Bernie was returning the call within a few minutes. Although my family was local the groom's family came from Dublin so we booked the hotel out. Everyone had positive comments about their stay.

On the day itself Bernie had to calm down a very nervous groom on the morning and send him off to the church. When we returned everything was ready and every little detail was taken care of. We had mentioned it was one of our friends birthday and could she have a candle on her dessert, and handed bernie a joke to be placed in front of the chief bridesmaid and even those little details were not forgotten. We had to move a table around at the last minute to facilitate a sign language interpreter and even with a few minutes to go that was no problem.

One thing we got the most comments about was the food...It was excellent, more than plentiful and piping hot. I think my father managed to get about three servings!!! Another comment was that there was no hanging around waiting for anything. When we told the band (The Goodfella's,,,, also excellent by the way) we were going to the errigal they said Bernie would have the day down like military precision.... and they werent wrong. Everyone was seated by 5.15 and dinner started by 5.30. This meant that the band was well started by 9.30 and it made the most of the night. I did wonder would the day be rushed but it wasnt at all.

We stayed in the hotel for a second night and had a lovely day relaxing in the lobby. Some had food in the bar, others in the restaurant and positive comments from all.

My experience with this hotel and staff has been excellent and i will be back for my first anniversary dinner :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TORDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review
I am delighted that you had a fantastic wedding day with us.
Bernie and her team with there Great eye for every detail, will always ensure that you and all of your guests have a fantastic day.I'm thrilled that this was the case on your wedding day
Also thank you for your lovely comments on food & staff i will pass them onto the team here.
Bernie said it was a pleasure to look after you and your Guests
We hope you Enjoyed the Honeymoon and look forward to seeing you for your anniversary
Regards
Pat Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in the Errigal after a family wedding. We decided to pay the few euro extra for a Deluxe room and it was so worth it. Fabulous Queen size bed, flat screen TV, lovely bathroom,the room was situated at the end of a hall so no noise from the function room or from other guests.Breakfast was Huge and really tasty! Also all the staff were very friendly and accomodating. All in all a most enjoyable experience i was only sorry that i did not avail of it fully as we were attending the wedding..next time i will go back for a relaxing weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you kindly for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to make this posting
Delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes we feel our deluxe room are well worth the €10euro extra
Look forward to welcoming you back again in near future
(Our mildweek breaks 2 nights B& B+1D from €99pps. Weekend Breaks From €150pps)

Kind Regards
Pat Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2011

i enjoyed my over night stay .staff friendly and rooms were lovely and very spacious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettem277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do always aim to offer the best experience for our guests .
I do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Pat kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I have never stayed at The Errigal (yet) but have eaten Sunday lunch there every Sunday except for about 10 Sunday's over the past 2 years... I am a very fussy person , and with years of experience in 5* hotels in London , i can never help but put my inspectors hat on when i go in ... In my opinion there is no where better to stay and also to eat a meal . The hotel is a friendly welcoming and beautifully furnished hotel in Cootehill. The quality of the food on offer in the restaurant is better than that in many 5*star hotels that i have eaten in. On a Sunday there is also a fantastic buffet on offer for €12. where you can choose from Roast Beef , Ham, Lamb, Turkey , Salmon, Breast of Chicken Kiev, as well as the traditional childrens fayre. Children under 12 eat for free... the food on offer is top quality and i have NEVER had cause to complain in 2 years ... But better than the buffet is the range of desserts on offer all made by the "Platinum award winning Patry chef "Catriona" ( award given by me ) she makes the best banoffi pie and a scrumptious Strawberry Gateaux" that dosent appear often enough.. As well as the traditional desserts like Apple Pie, Pavlova, Award winning rice pudding ... a visit is a must you will not be disappointed...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summersunireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Manager at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear summersun
Thank you for your kind comments we are delighted you and your family enjoyed the food at Errigal Country House Hotel .We pride ourselves in providing good quality food and customer service and always look forward to seeing our customer returning week after week .I have passed your kind words on to Catriona in the kitchen she was delighted to hear them( Perhaps she will have strawberry gateaux on the menu more often)
I hope to see you again soon at Errigal Country House Hotel

Best Wishes
Pat Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed midweek as it was excellent value for three nights. All food al a carte and bar food very reasonable and cooked to perfection. Our compliments to the chefs. Tranquility and charm all round. Beautiful walks and very peaceful surroundings. All rooms beautifully decorated with air-con. and balcony which was most enjoyable. We will definitely return as we enjoyed our stay immensely. We could not fault anything. Excellent all round.
Regards
Ann and John.

Room Tip: deluxe room or junior suite but all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfarrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taxes, Owner at Errigal Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Errigal Country House Hotel
We appreciate very much you taking time to write on trip advisor,
The Staff will be delighted with your feedback and it gives me great delight in passing it on to them.

Look forward to welcoming you back in near furure
Kind regards
pat kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cootehill
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
13.9 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
11.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Country House Hotel

Property: Errigal Country House Hotel
Address: Cavan Rd, Cootehill, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cootehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Errigal Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Errigal Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errigal Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing