We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint but throughly enjoyable”
other travelers have booked this property
The Station Master House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Station Master House
Bathroom with over bath shower Bathroom with period and modern wash basin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The Station Master House
Bathroom with over bath shower
Bathroom with period and modern wash basin
Double room named Kathleen after one of the locomotives that ran on the GNR line
Double room Kathleen
Double room Kathleen
Twin room named Lady Edith after one of the locomotives that ran on the GNR line
Twin room Lady Edith
Twin room Lady Edith
Kitchen with period decoration
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Sitting room
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Belturbet, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elaine M
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quaint but throughly enjoyable”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

You can just imagine the station master & his family living here (but we had modern ameanatives ). The town has lovely shops & bars & you are near local attractions & fishing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnF5586
2 reviews
“Fine house in great location”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

House was spacious and clean. We even got a personal tour of the Railway museum next door.
Quiet location but convenient for shop and pub. Lots of takeaway options also available.

WIFI was hit and miss, never great and sometimes absent altogether.

Characterful older property with good room sizes. Could be more generous with towels

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moocinda
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanderful spacious house in a great location.”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Location is perfect, only a few minutes walk away from the seven horseshoes where you can enjoy a Guinness or two and a top quality meal. Everyone in Belturbet is friendly and welcoming.
Plenty of walks around the village. Guides and leaflets left for you to browse through.
Station house is well kept, warm and tidy good wifi. Kevin and sharmain are lovely people who care very much for the history and preservation of that stationmasters house.
We have been before and will continue to book in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thank you so much for the very supportive review. The committee, Charmain & I are very glad too hear you got to enjoy our well preserved little bit of history. It makes us know that we have done and continue to do the right thing by keeping alive the much loved Belturbet Railway history. Many thanks, Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M
Midland, Canada
1 review
“Visit in april”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived yesterday & are so pleased. Charmaine had a lovely fire going for us, very warm & welcoming. I would highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Hi Donna, thank you so much for the fabulous review. As a community project we do hope that all our guests can enjoy their stay as you and your family did. The Belturbet Station Masters House is unique in that it can give you a small glimpse of what it may have been like living in the house in the heyday of the GNR & Cavan Leitrim Railway. Many thanks, from all of the BCDA committee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin547
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible property cold damp and infested with mice”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Totally unsuitable as a holiday property. Cold damp poor décor and furnishings.
Infested with mice. Local youths gather nightly outside the property to drink.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
We only ever ask that reports be truthful and honest. Unfortunately it would appear this reporter has a grudge to bear against the Community of Belturbet and feels it necessary to post blatant lies and slanderous remarks. This property is a community project and is a shining light of what can be achieved when communities work together. Shame on you Colin for making such unjustified comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gdsdolan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here, this is now a no-go problem area”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the station masters house from August 20th until August 26th, looking forward to a relaxing break. We met the property management representative at 2pm to get the keys and he gave us a quick tour. All we noticed was the noise from some kids who were blasting music in the train shed connected to the house. We were told that he would get rid of them for us and if they come back to call the guards. They never left, the music got louder and louder, the guards couldn't do anything, as the kids weren't breaking the law. The house was freezing, it has electric baseboard heaters, but most of them don't work.the next morning, after my 6yr old daughter had no sleep due to the noise and cold, we went outside to explore the train etc, only to find that the kids had being drinking and had left broken glass and puke everywhere. We left the next day, after trying to contact the management rep, Kevin, all day Sunday, aug 21st, but he didn't return my calls until later that night, after I checked out and checked in at the Slieve Russell hotel nearby. He apologized and said he would give me a full refund, which he has now reneged on and is charging me cleanup fee's. I have contacted a number of agency's about this rental and the management company and am awaiting there investigation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Dear Gareth,
The Belturbet Station Masters’ House is a community- based project which has gone from strength to strength since it opened and has received much accreditation as is testament by previous reviews from guests. All reviews by the guests who have stayed in the house are always welcomed, be they beefs or bouquets, we only ask that they be ACCURATE and TRUTHFUL.
The house is stone-built, nineteenth century design and is, due to this, equipped with four variants of heating: storage heaters in every room, all working, an electric oil heater, a working fireplace with a complimentary starter kit, electric blankets on all the beds and thick, warm duvets. The house is based in town and is on a public road so people are lawfully allowed to pass by.
Having spent one night in the house before claiming dissatisfaction in the late afternoon of Sunday, the house had to be thoroughly cleaned on your departure - all the beds stripped, linen changed and washed. The rubbish you left in the bins had to be disposed of, the dirty dishes you left in the sink had to be washed and the trail of breakfast cereal left on every step had to be vacuumed. The cleaner had to be paid and nobody in the community was responsible for making the mess except for yourself. A cleaning fee was subtracted from your payment and the balance was refunded in full.
I fully believe that I have been more than fair and accommodating in this matter. Lastly, I wish to add that a full committee remain on hand to assist all guests if so needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing