We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“best get-away ever!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Irota, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County, Northern Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melania K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“best get-away ever!”
Reviewed May 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

If you like luxury at the end of the world - this is a place for you! Very beautiful 3 houses with a garden pool in the middle of green hills, with no sight of human being! The house is spacious, comfortable, very modern and very clean. Very friendly hosts. You can also order real Hungarian food from the lady in the village. We recommend donuts - they were amazing! The hosts are very nice and welcoming and they have lots of recommendations of things to see and visit. Highly recommended!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René E
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“50th Birthday Celebration with friends”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Irota Ecolodge was everything we expected and more. The houses are well designed, completely eco-friendly; yet offer all the modern conveniences and comforts. They’re also much larger than one would gather from the online photos. We really appreciated the good internet connection, stunning interior; showers with good water pressure; veranda with comfortable furniture; BBQ facilities; natural pool; grocery basket on order with real Hungarian sausage and wines, the lovely village food from Mrs. Miklos with 4 menu’s to choose from; mountain bikes; all the modern conveniences one would expect from modern upmarket urban accommodation, yet nestled in the quiet tranquility of the Hungarian countryside. Jeroen and Lennard made every effort to make us comfortable and provide for our needs. Although guests usually travel to the lodge by car, we took the train from Budapest under the good guidance of our hosts and it turned out to be problem free and a fascinating adventure. Irota Ecolodge is the perfect tranquil getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life with all the serenity and tranquility one would expect from the Hungarian countryside, yet with all the amenities of modern accommodation, which makes it all the more amazing when one realizes that the accommodation is completely eco-friendly. What Jeroen and Lennard have achieved offers a new vision for what can be accomplished for country living. Using the latest eco-friendly building techniques and innovations, a tranquil and sustainable yet modern green countryside lifestyle is now possible, the perfect getaway.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen S
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect house, perfect hosts”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Jeroen en Lennard have built a small paradise in Irota. We stayed at the upper house for a few days. The house was light and spacious and has more than enough room for six people. The owners have thought of everything, from kitchen appliances to comfy chairs to relax outside, to screened doors and windows to keep any bugs out. The beds and - very important to me - shower are great.
The outside space is fantastic. There's a barbecue and a traditional Hungarian cooking stove outside, which more than makes up for the lack of restaurants nearby. You can just take your time preparing a home-cooked meal. There is enough space around the house and at any time of the day you can find either a spot in the sun or in the shade. The pool is nice and clean and again the owners have made sure you're comfortable with good pool-side chairs and a shower.
Jeroen and Lennard made us feel very welcome, they even invited us to the local village fest and we had a great evening there. They gave us plenty of tips to explore the surroundings and helped us make reservations when needed. What Jeroen and Lennard built here is very impressive. We highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkE106
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the Hungarian Countryside”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a very relaxing and calming stay here.

We stayed in the Upper House – which was absolutely lovely. There is lots of space inside, with a large living area, dining table and kitchen. Everything we needed was there.

The patio area is larger for this house, and the garden slightly smaller (but still a good size). To be honest, all the houses looked lovely, and you have privacy between all the houses – all the patios are hidden from the other houses. The pool is shared between the three houses, is a good size and naturally maintained, and was a lovely way to cool down.

From our patio you couldn't see another building - just the hills and countryside!

The village itself, is small and is in a very quiet location, the only noises you hear are the birds and assorted wildlife. There are several towns nearby (driving distance), and the main option for food is about 20 kms away. You will need a car to get around, and to explore the surrounding area.

We arranged to have a food hamper available for when we arrived, which covered breakfast and lunches for our stay. We also had a couple of meals provided by one the ladies from the village, which were lovely and plentiful!

Jeroen and Lennard were excellent hosts – always happy to help with anything and keen to make sure our stay was the best it could be.

We stayed for 6 nights, went on a Tokaj wine tour, had a trip into Slovakia, did one of the walks around the local area and relaxed at the lodge for a couple of days. By the end of our stay, we ended up feeling that there still several places we wanted to visit – another time no doubt.

We had a great time, and will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing