We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really good spa”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Don't be put off by the way the hotel looks from the outside! Once inside it is a totally different experience. We stayed for a spa break last weekend and were really impressed. The spa, reception area and bar/restaurants have all been updated and are very nice. The bedrooms are fine - not the greatest although the wifi is probably amongst the fastest we've had in a hotel room. Bathrooms a bit dated... The spa itself is excellent - we both had treatments and, again, these were great. The only wrinkle with the spa is that even if you are staying in the hotel you have to pay to use it. We thought the hotel website was a little misleading on this as it says all leisure facilities are included. Clearly, the spa is not a leisure facility! We ate in the restaurant in the evening and thought the food to be really good quality and value. The staff were also all very helpful and positive. All in all, a really good value spa break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    832
    288
    100
    51
See reviews for
359
968
75
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed over here for a stay spa, the spa was lovely but the room vey disappointing. The supposed double bed was actually two single beds which were very uncomfortable. When we were checking out, We told the receptionist how uncomfortable the beds were but she couldn't be bothered. Very bad customer service and won't be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time in our new Spa facility, which we are all very proud of.

It is disappointing that you felt that your comments regarding your bed were not taken seriously, we can assure you that this would never be the intention of any of our staff and we would not want any of our guests to leave us having that impression. We will be revisiting training for our reception team specifically in the area of proactive handling of customer comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked a chillax break at Wyboston. When we arrive we were impressed that our room was ready as it was only 11.30 and check in was 3pm...so good start. Room was on the small side but clean. We settled in and decided to go use the spa facilities as I had a facial booked for 1.45 and I wanted to use the facilities before my treatment. I checked with the lady at the Y spa reception that my treatment was all booked and she confirmed and then said we could go over to Harpers (which is the swimming pool, sauna and steam, that is not the Y spa) Not knowing any different we went over and ask for our robes that we're supposed to be provided. The young girl looked puzzled and said they didn't supply robes, so my partner walked back over to the hotel reception who gave him towels. Once in Harpers, I thought this isn't what is advertised and what I have booked. The steam room was small, dingy and had a horrible smell. it wasn't until I started talking to a couple of ladies in there that I realised this wasnt the Y spa. So wet and unhappy we got dressed and went back over to the main reception.The young girl who had checked us in said "oh you are meant to be in the Y Spa!" Because of the time now, I only had 15 mins until my treatment. The lady on Y Spa reception said that it would fine to go into the steam, sauna etc after my treatment but I wasnt convinced as I was having a acid peel facial. The therapist confirmed that you shouldn't go into steam etc after this treatment, so they put the treatment back to the next day at 2.15. We went into the Y spa and used the facilities which were fabulous, the outdoor infinity pool was amazing!! We asked for a late check out on the Friday as my treatment was put back and they kindly arranged this which was really appreciated. Overall was a nice stay, Y spa was the best bit...pity about the mix up which in fairness to them was sorted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcardiBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. It is clear that there was a mix up in communication on your arrival at the YSpa Reception. Spa Break customers do have access to all the facilities in the YSpa and we apologise for this mix up. We will be communicating to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited here on a business trip and stayed over for a couple of nights. From the outside I was not to sure what to expect, first the long drive way past several other buildings to finally find the hotel, looking slightly dated from the outside.
On walking in it was different, it is clearly well looked after and the staff are top notch., booking in was simple and efficient. The room was ok, not high end but better than many I have been to,, the bed was big and comftable, flat screen telly with all the channels and free wifi made it all the better. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choose of both hot and cold fodder, they even make the toast for you not one of those silly toasters you normally get! We did go to the restaurant and again great staff, food was a little slow in comming but worth the wait and not bad value. If I was to be critical the check out was a bit of a pain, only one receptionist at eight o clock did lead to quite a queue! Overall a good stay, would not complain if I was sent there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding delays at check out have been passed to our Front of House Manager for action. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for over a month on business and its a nice place to come back to after work. Its quiet, the rooms are nice and comfortable. The staff are polite and friendly, breakfast is great. Its right on the road so convenient wherever your going. The Health club over the road is a bit grotty and very busy and not what I was expecting and there's never any lockers available, it seems that regular external members keep the lockers as there own for some reason, getting a hot drink at breakfast is slow and the bar food menu is quite limited. Overall I would return on business

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that is aimed at many markets, mainly business conferences and folders but also provided an excellent two night leisure stay for us. We had a great deal on the price. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food (dinner and breakfast) was first class and the bar area relaxing, with great food and service. The rooms are small but very well equipped, with above average furnishings etc. There were good quality toiletries and big, fluffy towels.

All in all, a great stay and good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights this week on business. I had high hopes based on their web site, as the hotel seemed to have the things I look for: comfortable room, parking, gym.
On the plus side, the standard room is clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, albeit quite small. The gym is a reasonable size, but was extremely busy when I went before 7pm. Also it's across the road, which involved a cold dash.
All the rooms seemed to be in different buildings to the reception, and the Atlantic building I was in didn't seem to have a lift to the first floor, which may be a problem for some.
My biggest issue with the hotel is the room service menu is very limited, sandwiches, wraps and pizzas only. I wasn't allowed to order from the restaurant menu, something to do with the distance from the kitchen and they couldn't guarantee the quality by the time it got to the room. The next night I commented about this to the receptionist, and she told me I could order from the bar menu, but this wasn't provided in the room, so I had to ask when I rang what's available, not ideal.
I'm looking for a hotel to stay on a regular basis for business. But as the room service is not up to much, I won't be using this hotel for this purpose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. With regard to your comments concerning room service this is something that is in the process of being reviewed at the present time. I am sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory and your comments are being taken into account duing our review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
8.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,597 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
338 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
16.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Property: Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Address: Waterfront Centre Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing