We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Furious Boar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkmichael Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkmichael
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkmichael Hotel
Save
You added Kirkmichael Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Furious Boar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We popped in as a change from Pitlochry for dinner, it is not far out, a short drive. Welcoming staff and the wonderfully named Furious Boar rose wine was on offer, with real ales to quench us initially. The evening was starting well.

The mussels arrives - huge portion with skinny chips and mayo (splendid starter). The mussels are from Shetland and were excellent. I can wholeheartedly recommend them.

Good choice on the menu and friendly unhurried service, would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
55
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I walked the Cateran Trail and this was our first overnight stop, after walking 16 tough miles from Blairgowrie. We had booked dinner at the hotel but unfortunately got delayed on the way, as the soles of my partner's walking boots fell off en route (saved temporarily by superglue bought in the tiny shop in the Bridge of Cally!) so we were an hour behind schedule. The lovely owners were a bit worried and phoned us a few times to check we were ok, and on hearing our plight, kept the kitchens open so we could eat dinner. I've never experienced such genuinely warm and caring service before at a hotel! Upon arrival, we were shown to lovely modern room, spotlessly clean with all mod cons and Arran Aromatics toiletries in the bathroom. The dinner was divine - a very talented chef who presented the food beautifully. Nice atmosphere, with a mix of locals and tourists. Fantastic belgium beer on tap, can't remember the name of it as it was a new one, but a pint of that after a long day of walking tasted amazing!

The next day, breakfast was ample - you helped yourself to cereals and then a very tasty and generously portioned full Scottish breakfast (or the veggie option) was served.

It became clear my partners's walking boots weren't going to last another leg of the Trail, so the owner very kindly dropped him back to Blairgowrie, where he was able to buy a new pair.

The couple who run this are genuinely lovely people and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonjour_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

we booked in to the kirky for 3 nights the rooms were great and very comfy the food is out of this world fantastic I asked the owner if they had Gordon ramsey working in the kitchen nice people looked after us well recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 607mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Kirkmichael Hotel it was peaceful and relaxing just what we needed. Rooms were big and clean, bed was really comfy and the food was lovely and tasty, Christine was a lovely lady who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I made the booking direct with the hotel to extend our Scottish trip! Being Friday and Saturday nights, Christine suggested we have a quiet room at the rear ......job done....off we went from the East Neuk Fife to Pitlochry!
Our check in went smoothly with offers to assist with luggage...useful information about the area ...info regarding dining.... which we booked for a bar meal....all whilst being accompanied to room 4.....lovely.....clean and crisp and spacious....looking out onto the rear garden area....and with a large bathroom!
The surrounding village area was quaint and with a river walk under the belt we tidied ourselves up and headed for our evening meal! Having had sufficient fish and chips on the Fife Coast, we both opted for the gammon......could not fault it one bit! Consequently, we ate in the bar the following night and both chose the burger .....again....wonderful!
The bar is patronised by the local community as is to be expected and the atmosphere was pleasant with many diners and several drinkers....this did not encroach on our dining experience either night !
An adequate cereal choice with Juice and toasting facility was provided and the cooked breakfast was done to order....and everything on the plate was tasty!
Danny and Christine were constantly on hand throughout our short stay if needed and were pleasant and helpful and sociable and we will happily stay again when in the area!

Room Tip: We had no disturbance either weekend night and slept very well and can only suggest room 4 for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The proprietors were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was of a high standard - not your average pub grub. The atmosphere with the locals in the pub was also very pleasant. Breakfast was fine as well. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After reading reasonable reviews we decided to stay here and were truly disappointed. The surrounding area is beautiful but the hotel itself is in need of updating and general repair. The breakfast was mainly a "do it yourself " with minimal effort made in dark unfriendly surroundings. The family room although large had the safety catch missing on the window. For a family room on the second floor you would expect this as standard. We therefore could not relax in the room at all.
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sinead c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkmichael
0.7 mi away
Pinetree Lodge
Pinetree Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kirkmichael
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#3 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
12.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkmichael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkmichael Hotel

Property: Kirkmichael Hotel
Address: Main Street, Kirkmichael PH10 7NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kirkmichael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kirkmichael Hotel. The Kirkmichael Hotel is a charming former roadside coaching inn set in the village of Kirkmichael, nestled in the Strathardle Glen in Highland Perthshire, overlooking the River Ardle. The comfortable and tastefully decorated interior offers a warm welcome all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkmichael Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing