We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Treetops

Treetops in Autumn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017). Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017).
Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Spacious studio room with stunning views.
Bathroom with new walk-in shower.
Come on in and welcome :)
Through the stable door. The sink looks out on to the garden and rolling fields.
The kitchen with spiral staircase Firdige freezer, electric cooker and breakfast bar for 2.
The kitchenette has a new quarry tiled floor and new cooker, dishwasher, microwave & lighting.
Looking out of the stable door.
From the top of the stairs.
Sitting area with wonderful views.
Looking out of the main studio windows.
View from the main studio windows (March).
View from Treetops' window in Summer.
Kingsize bed, quality mattress, lovely fresh sheets, USB charger sockets.
View from the bed.
Seating area with flat screen TV.
Comfortable seating leading to dressing area. and French doors to balcony.
Bunks in the eaves.
Single mattresses made up in the eaves - great for kids.
It really is as close to a treehouse as you can get with foundations and plumbing :)
You can light the beech tree and the deck at night.
Outdoor dining area nestled into the beech tree. This was taken before the new balcony was built.
The beech tree in full leaf.
Treetops in the summer.
Enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine.
Winter
A wintery walk down the lane
The swing in our front garden has such a long drop it makes grownups feel like children :)
Sunny Autumn wander down our lane
Local bluebells
Spring primroses
The campfire area, BBQ and swings.
Looking down the garden towards the BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Herstmonceux, Hailsham, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just to be able to get away from it all and retreat a real treat, at amazing place with a great host. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is lovely to be away from it all
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Thank you so much for saying so and for coming back so often! 6 visits in a year! Very much looking forward to reading the book when it's published and to seeing you in August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in the country side”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Arrived at this delightful property and fell in love! The owner Sam and her family are warm,welcoming and friendly. Treetops is a sheer delight. Warm, inviting , wonderful views. Previous reviews have stated shabby chic but could maybe benefit from some TLC?..I don't agree. It is perfectly fine as it is. The kitchen is functional, the upstairs loft warm and cosy. The bathroom functional with a POWERFUL shower. The balcony is lovely. The only criticism I would have, is maybe a sign post outside the property, as we drove past several times, and if it is dark I think people would struggle. How ever, if you are looking for something different, in a beautiful location, check out Treetops, you won't be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2016
Thank you very much for this lovely feedback. Treetops has just been redecorated and re-carpeted so it's even cosier now, and a new sign is being made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet.”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Treetops is perfectly located right in the peace and quiet of the Sussex countryside. The accommodation has amazing views from the Hugh Velux roof windows. We watched the sunset from the balcony and the sunrise from bed in the morning.
The self catering kitchen had everything we needed. The bathroom had a good powerful hot shower and the heating worked well to keep everything warm and cosy.
The accommodation was clean and the bed was clean and cosy. Slept deeply and it was so quiet.Sam the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We got lots of information on where to walk and what were the best places to visit locally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view across the countryside
Liked least: Carrying the mugs of tea up the spiral staircase. I have big feet and the staircase is compact.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt_Henr...
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cosy, stunning views and in the canopy of a beautiful tree”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The photos don't really do it justice. It is smaller than you might think, but it is very cosy for a romantic getaway. The view across the downs is gorgeous through the louvre windows in the slanted ceilings. Plus you are genuinely in the canopy of the tree that emerges through the balcony.

You are next to a farm so there are lots of sheep, cattle and horses about. Not to mention owls and bats. It is very rural indeed.

Even though the weather was appalling during our stay, we still loved snuggling in this country getaway. The owner Sam was also very affable and welcoming without being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The British weather...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenny R
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quiet two day stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The accommodation and location are really wonderful, with gorgeous views in a lovely rural location. Everything was to hand and the hostess Sam was wonderful and really helpful. Lovely soft bed, great shower and comfy sofas.
If you want to get away from it all but be within cracking distance of the coast, lots of sightseeing and walks this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country hideout
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Very glad to hear the bed was comfortable and you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon. Bring your ukes if you want to arrange ukelele lessons while you're here as discussed. Warmest regards to you both x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesG222...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant, quirky stay with a lovely welcome!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights. When we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome and the owner made us feel right at home. Sam was brilliant giving us information on where to visit and the places to eat.
The tree house itself was lovely. Had everything we needed for a week away. Really romantic little place and the balcony was lovely on the sunny days.
The area was beautiful, with a 10 minute walk to Herstmonceux which has pubs, indian and a small village shop. We went into both pubs 'The woolpack inn' and 'The Brewers Arms'. As a visiting tourist we prefered the latter choice.
You definitely need a car visiting here, gives you the chance to go to surrounding areas. We visited Eastbourne, Pevensey Bay and Brighton.
The property is a hidden gem, I just think it needs a bit of TLC to keep that appeal!
Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would recommend it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write this and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree it is more country shabby-chic than posh hotel - I'm planning a revamp as soon as I get a few days when it's not booked! Thanks for being such lovely guests and leaving it so tidy. Best wishes to you both :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcw12kcox
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quiet country location”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This accommodation has been accurately described by previous reviewers.

Advantages

• Country location yet located just over half a mile from village with shops and pubs
• Lovely garden
• Easy booking and owner was very helpful
• Extra long bed - suited tall people like me (though note the sloping roof reduces headroom at the edge of the room)
• Off road parking
• Welcome pack
• Great view
• Great 4G mobile signal!!

Minor downsides

• Effectively no wifi in accommodation (though I understand supplier is about to change so this may no longer be true)
• Main ventilation to bedroom appeared to be the balcony doors

Undoubtedly this is a superb rural getaway/romantic location to which I will happily return when next in the area. As mentioned by another reviewer a sign indicating "Treetops" on the drive would help when first arriving!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Hello,
Thanks for writing such a nice review. The fibreoptic broadband was installed today so I will be putting wifi back on the advert as soon as I've checked it extends reliably to Treetops - like I said, it was so poor I took it off. Very fast so far! The big Velux windows both open - I'll show you next time you're here. Thanks again and hopefully see you soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing