We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food..great value”
Review of The Malthouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Malthouse
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good food..great value”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We eat here regularly..and the food is extremely good.
The chef is a real talent.............Value is excellent.

Im suprised its not always packed out............very enjoyable
Service could be swifter at time....but thats just nitpicking

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great local, seasonal food with amazing service.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My partner and I have eaten at The Malthouse a few times and have always been impressed by the ever changing menu and fantastic value for money. When planning our wedding we wanted a local restaurant for both our families to enjoy a meal and get to know each other before the big day.
We could not have been more happy with how the evening went. Luke remained in constant contact in the run up to the meal and accommodated all of the changes to numbers and meal choices we threw their way.
The food was a huge hit with all of our family. Somehow they managed to serve all 35 of us at the same time and were attentive to make sure everyone had drinks.
Thank you so so much to all the team at The Malthouse :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jomo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very nice place to eat”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Matlhouse is very clean and inviting place to have either a lunch or an evening meal. The food is lovely and fresh and well presented. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The only downside is that it has limited opening hours and have been disppointed when we have turned up for lunch and found it closed. Otherwise, would definitley recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent & delicious food”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very impressed with the quality of the food at The Malthouse. It was beautifully cooked, delicious and well presented. The staff were friendly & helpful and it was a lovely evening. We hope to return and would recommend it to everyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The_2Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Restaurant Food at Pub Prices”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Malthouse is a very pleasant bistro in the centre of Herstmonceux. Although the menu is limited the food is always fresh & extremely tasty. The wine list is also limited but great value. Alison oversees the dining room and is always attentive and efficient. Have been to The Malthouse many times and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
5 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malthouse also viewed

Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing